We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Firehall

Certificate of Excellence
$
Mediterranean, Canadian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
268 Four Mile Creek Rd., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
905-262-5443
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We phoned to make a reservation because there were 11 of us and the restaurant was recommended by the owners B&B where we were staying in St Davids. Upon arrival we were told, rather rudely, that we hadn't made a reservation and they couldn't accommodate us. In fact, they hadn't checked their voice mail messages, in spite of their voicemail... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bella231
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The food and service was good. Nice little patio for sitting outside. A little on the pricy side but we enjoyed it. Some good wine and some local beers on tap. Worth checking out.

Helpful?
Thank pdq724
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Old Firehall was recommended by Alyssa at the Hilton Garden Inn and she could not have been more spot on! The food was fantastic and the service was great! Chris, the owner and Chef, stopped by to chat and was very nice! He recommended the Creme Brûlée and it was amazing! Great local wines and a very nice Mediterranean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While staying at the South Landing Inn in Queenston Heights, we set out in search of a nearby, not-too-fancy place to eat. We drove around a bit and finally found the Old Firehall on York Road in St. David's. From the minute we walked in the door, the staff was friendly and welcoming, with great suggestions on specialties and quick... More 

Helpful?
Thank TuscanTourers
Pickering, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had absolutely wonderful pasta dishes and the stuffed mushroom appetizer was excellent. The staff rate 10 stars. We are tourists and took a cab to the restaurant. When we tried to get a cab back to our hotel (a 9 minute drive), we couldn't get service without a $30. minimum guarantee due to different towns (townships?). The bartender, Marissa... More 

Helpful?
Thank 384mmarco
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was recommended by the hotel and thankfully its a very small restaurant. The menu seemed nice and it was nice to sit outside on a hot evening. The servers were OK, but we began to hear rumblings form other customers about the wait to get food. We waited some time before the server informed us the chef didn't show... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bwalsh92
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct that your food took an extra long time to get to you, and for this we greatly apologize. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being such a good sport about it that evening. What we had that evening was a confluence of events some beyond... More 

St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

The notion that you are complimented by the comment your dressing is similar to Kraft dressing tells everyone what type of eatery you operate!! Our fault we didn't all complain to waiter.

Helpful?
Thank Dianne C
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Since this is the third review you and your friends have posted and is a response to my response, it is obvious that the lot of you are a little thick headed. Yes it is your fault you didn't complain to the waiter and also your fault you ate the entire meal!!! Other than the individual who did complain, none... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Was a quick stop on a bike ride. Service was efficient and happy to take care of us. The salad was typical but the wrap was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Erin P
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

nice venue but the food was very poor .The fried fish was one step up from fish sticks . ,it was dry and chewy . The salad dressing tasted like Kraft bottled dressing. Our friend had the chicken sandwich with sparse chicken on it. I couldn't even eat my food . We definitely will not be returning and if anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian1955mac
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It is unfortunate that you had the experience that you did, for that I can only apologize. Your fish was overcooked, we readily accept and own up to that fact and this is why we removed the item from your bill with our deepest apologies, but there were two orders of fish on your table... More 

London, Ontario
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We visit a small family owned winery near by and they recommended the Old Firehall. It was not really busy as it was mid afternoon. The service was very friendly and fast. We both had salads with grilled marinated chicken which was very good. This is a small restaurant and us not for dining. It was however, a great spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank AW55
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We always strive to give our guests our best. We do however encourage you to visit us for dinner as well, as we also give great dishes at reasonable prices with the quality one would expect from a fine dining establishment. We have built our business and reputation over the... More 

Travelers who viewed Old Firehall also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Old Firehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Canadian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout
Good for
Families with children, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 268 Four Mile Creek Rd., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Phone Number: 905-262-5443
Description
Casual Dining in the heart of wine country.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Old Firehall and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Ohio City, Ohio
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Firehall staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?