We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Breakwater Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15 Stavebank Rd S | The Waterside Inn, Mississauga, Ontario L5G 2T2, Canada
+1 905-891-6225
Website
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat - Sun 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Breakwater manages to pull off fine dining in picturesque and homely Port Credit in a manner that is warm and welcoming, combining excellent service with delicious food and a wine list that is difficult to find outside the grander hotels in central Toronto having an enviable selection of both New and Old World vintages and a knowledgeable sommelier who... More 

Helpful?
Thank delaGueriniere
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Breakwater Restaurant! We appreciate your positive feedback and pride ourselves on the quality and service we deliver to our customers. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Sincerely, Toni F. General Manager More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2017

reasonably good service, friendly staff and predictable food but a good experience because it is well appointed and professionally run

Helpful?
Thank kr3383
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I personally respond to each review and I am sorry there is not more information on your review. Should you wish to reach out to me personally my email address is tfrankfurter@watersideinn.ca I am always interested to learn how we can better our services. Sincerely, Toni F. General Manager More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
643 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2017

We have been here many, many times over the years and my aged father is well-known to staff ("Your regular table, Mr. L.?"). Given that some of the family are hard of hearing, we tend to aim for quieter times. This plan serves us well and we nearly always have a great time. The washrooms are luxe quality, the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We pride ourselves on providing great service and are always happy to see you. Looking forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Toni F. General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2017

Excellent meal, excellent service, excellent table....center of Port Credit. Near the water. Very nice decor, good wine list.

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! We take pride in providing wonderful service and only the highest quality of food-I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Breakwater Team. Sincerely, Toni F. General Manager More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2017

The Breakwater Restaurant is a real gem in Mississauga. Excellent staff and food in both terms of quality and presentation. The Breakwater is part of the Waterside Inn Hotel. We enjoyed an evening as part of a small group of six who were all guests from the convention/meeting industry, a critical bunch who were all very impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Duffs66
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so kindly for your review. All feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments along to the Breakwater Team! Looking forward to seeing you soon. Sincerely Toni F. General Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

I've dined at the Breakwater restaurant twice now. Once for dinner and another time for brunch. Dinner was excellent. Brunch, however, was only okay. I heard many good things about the brunch and so I was excited. It turned out to be average. Just about everything with the dinner was excellent. The appetizers were very good. The seafood tower for... More 

Helpful?
Thank RealtorJimChu
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback; we always consider that a gift. I am happy you enjoyed your dinner with us and sorry to hear the brunch did not meet your expectations. We typically get great reviews about our brunch so I would appreciate if you could give me some more details as to what your expectations might be. I can... More 

Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2016

We found this quiet 4star restaurant at our hotel, The Waterside Inn. The food was excellent. The view was excellent and will be better in the spring summer months when the boats are in the marina and on the lake. The decor is dated elegance but the food was well worth it

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. We have fashioned ourselves after an English Inn so the décor is in keeping with that style. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Toni F. General Manager More 

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

We had a family Christmas gathering of 14 people at this restaurant has been our third time there because it is central location and it's a good room for larger gatherings as it is not very busy. This year I do not know what went wrong but the service was absolutely horrible I mean we were there for about 40... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank WKRW
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review-I was so sorry to read about your bad experience which is not at all typical of our restaurant. I was made aware of the error made by the server in not charging your group the correct amount as well as her calling you to advise you of the error and neither incident is acceptable. The... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

This place is so bad I had to write a review. We were told we were lucky to get a reservation for our family dinner because they were completely full . . . It was empty. The holiday price fix menu is overpriced for beef tartare and chicken that was mediocre at best. It took over an hour to bring... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review-I was so sorry to read about your bad experience which is not at all typical of our restaurant. I have personally had the Holiday Prix Fixe as have many of our clients-I am sorry you did not find it to your liking. We do not offer beef tartar so I can only assume you meant... More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2016

Always enjoy the food, service and ambiance of the room. The Chicken dish with scallop potatoes and green vegetables was excellent. It is a bright room with floor to ceiling windows. You can enjoy an intimate meal in a quiet setting...far from the maddening crowds of downtown Toronto. A gem. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank PeteMarl
Toni F, General Manager at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back soon! Have you made plans to visit with us over the holidays? We have a variety of events December 24th, 25th, 31st, January 31st and the 1st! Wishing you the best over the coming holidays, Toni F. General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Breakwater Restaurant also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Breakwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, International, Canadian, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Stavebank Rd S | The Waterside Inn, Mississauga, Ontario L5G 2T2, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Mississauga
  • Phone Number: +1 905-891-6225
  • This restaurant is at The Waterside Inn
Description
The elegant Breakwater Dining Room welcomes its guests with tables set with sparkling silver, fine china and crisp linen - a perfect setting for our superb cuisine. Each dish is an inspiration, a skillful blend of the finest ingredients, artistically presented and complemented by an extensive wine cellar. Best Sunday Brunch in Mississauga Enjoy our weekly Chef's Choice Sunday Brunch Buffet highlighted by our Chef-manned Carvery, Omelette, and Waffle Stations. As well as all your favourite breakfast and hot lunch selections, antipasto bar, desserts and sweets.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Breakwater Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Breakwater Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?