We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Guv'nor Pub

$$
Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
389 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 1V1, Canada
1 (709) 726-3053
Today
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 11:00 am
Mon - Wed 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Fri 7:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The food was good but the service was spectacular. We stayed at the hotel and went here for breakfast. The food was fresh and well prepared but as I said, the service was the real story. Awesome!

Helpful?
Thank NewfieTravellers1
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

Hi Newfie Travellers Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I actually can't wait to show this review to our staff this will definitely put a smile on all of their faces, they all work so hard to make sure all of our customers have a great experience. We look forward to your next visit with us. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a pub...and it delivers great pub food with warm and friendly service. If you are worried about your cholesterol, stay home and eat oatmeal... otherwise...the Skillet is a great choice! Love their toutons too! Coffee is always good and strong with plenty of refills. While breakfast is a favourite with us, lunch/dinner are good also...hot turkey sandwich is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sneakycin
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

HI Sneakycin Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Pub, I have to agree we have friendly staff, and they all work very hard to provide for our customers, breakfast is my favorite as well anytime of the day, We look forward to all of your future visits with us here at the Guv'nor Pub. More 

Wolfville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found The Guv'nor Pub online after searching for a place within walking distance of MUN. Glad we did! I ordered the cod au gratin, and my boyfriend ordered the bangers and mash. There were a couple of mix-ups with my order, plus a troublesome keg, so the food was delayed a little bit. We never complained, but the server... More 

Helpful?
Thank f_keys
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

HI f_keys Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and although you did have some hiccups with your service, I am happy to know that the server you had fixed the mistakes in a courteous manner so you and your boyfriend still managed to enjoy your visit with us at the Guv'nor Pub, all of our staff... More 

Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's not downtown, but it's well worth the few extra minutes to get to this English style pub serving great food, even some Newfoundland dishes! I recommend their all day breakfast! I usually get the fish cakes breakfast and a touton. What is a touton you ask? It's usually the little big of bread dough left over from making bread... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

Hi Beverly Thank you for taking the time to write this review, you have truly have said everything that we work so hard to achieve, I will be sure to let the staff know as well, and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All day breakfast, along with many other selections, low prices with great portions, amazing atmosphere and the best red velvet cake I've had in my life.

Helpful?
Thank Holly D
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

Hi Holly Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We look forward to your next visit with us here at the Guv'nor and I agree the red velvet cake is delicious. More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

First visit to the Guv'nor pub while visiting St John's. Our server "David" was great. I had the lasagna with caesar ($17) which was good, and our son ordered a pizza with BBQ chicken ($14) which he enjoyed. My wife had the Quesadillas ($12) which was also good. Nothing outstanding, but good pub food. But the decor and service makes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blair M
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

Good Day Blair We are delighted to know you had a great experience for you first visit with us at the Guv'nor Pub and we definitely look forward to future visits from you and you family. More 

Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

The food and beer were very good; but the super-friendly waitress was the highlight of our visit. Prices were a bit higher than the local average; but we'd probably go back the next time we find ourselves in St. John's.

Helpful?
Thank tv40821
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

First visit to the Guv'nor in a while knowing it was a pub with standard pub fare. To that end it met expectations. We all had varieties of fish and chips with the traditional Newfoundland dressing (stuffing) which was OK. Service was friendly and good atmosphere. With the Guv'nor you know what you are going to get and always good... More 

Helpful?
Thank NLfoodie65
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

Hi NLfoodie65 Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are pleased to know you your enjoyed your visit with us here at The Guv'nor Pub and we look forward to seeing you again. The Staff will be delighted to hear your review, as they work very heard to make sure all of their customers have... More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

Wing Night is a hit. The place looks the same as it was many years ago but the management has changed and so has the service and overall food quality. We used to love going here and now skip it... Even on Wing Night.

Helpful?
Thank MENBBB
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

Good Day MENBBB We are happy to know that you have returned for our Wing Nite and hope that you will continue to dine with us, there has been some changes but our goal is to provide the best service that we can to all of our customers. We look forward to your next visit. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

80-90% of my reviews are customer service based, thus the very poor rating here. We arrived for lunch and was promptly met by wait staff and told we would be looked after in a moment. Scanned the dining area and could see it was about half full. In the meantime the wait staff was chatting it up with customers another... More 

Helpful?
Thank J P
Natasha C, Manager at The Guv'nor Pub, responded to this review

We are quite disappointed that you felt that you did not receive good customer service at The Guv'nor. We strive to give all our customers a superior customer service experience. Unfortunately after the staff had greeted you, and were with other customers, they did not get back to you in what you felt was a timely manner. For that we... More 

Travelers who viewed The Guv'nor Pub also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Guv'nor Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Television
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 am
Monday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 389 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 1V1, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  St. John's
  • Phone Number: 1 (709) 726-3053
Description
Relax in authentic Old-English ambiance and enjoy a marvelous selection from our delightfully diverse menu. Find your preferred pint on tap, enthusiastic service and hearty meals. The Guv'nor Pub is known for moose specialties, hearty weekend brunches, a charming wine list, and Wing Night Monday & Tuesday! Drop by and try our new lamb, bison or turkey burger. So join us anytime for our distinctive brand of light-hearted hospitality and incredible fare!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Guv'nor Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?