We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sweet Belgian Desire

Certificate of Excellence
$
Belgian, French, American, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
23 Ashton Court, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3C 0H8, Canada
+1 506-455-BELG (2354)
Website
Today
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tue - Fri 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 74: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We tries this place for the first time. Absolutely fantastic breakfast. It's nice to have choices outside of the ordinary. Food is amazing, coffee was so so. If they nail the coffee like sunshine, I think we'd never go elsewhere. As it is the food is good enough to come back often regardless. I had the Belgian breakfast sandwich made... More 

Helpful?
Thank jglidden
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We love positive feedback. So pleased that you liked the Waffle Sandwich. We just launched this new menu item and if it goes well, we will keep it permanently on the menu. Did you try any of our specialty coffees? Would love to recommend our top selling coffees, such as the Belgian Coffee... More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've gone here several times with friends. I haven't been overly thrilled with either the menu or the service. Their new location is lovely. Hard to find parking as it does seem to be a busy spot for breakfast lovers.

Helpful?
Thank KarenE3A
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Hi KarenE3A Thank you so much for your review. Every remark helps us to further improve our business , therefore we appreciate your comments. Our team is working very hard to please everybody who comes here and we are 100% dedicated to make this happen. Please inform us on what you'd feel we can further improve? More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I got to a lot of places for breakfast. Coffee mill, cabin, diplomat, red later, just to name a few Even occasionally the market. This is by far my favorite place for breakfast in fredericton. Great new location. I love their grilled cheese with black forest ham. The cook doesn't over cook or under cool your bacon. Staff is great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
19106901, Manager at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Hi Amanda: Thank you so much for your feedback. We love to hear from satisfied customers as you! You made my day! :) More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our visit was pretty good, the food was good, portions were big. Unfortunately one person I went with's order wasn't put through so it took a while for his food to come. Our waiter was very apologetic and accommodated as best as he could. A couple other parts of our order weren't right but not that big of a deal.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
19106901, Manager at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Hi Lindsay: Thank you so much for your review. To improve the function of the restaurant we invested into a new I-pad system to make things go faster and smoother. Please accept my apology, the system is still a bit new and has some bugs... in your case, unfortunately the order didn't get trough (internet problem? ) No idea, guarantee... More 

Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am a server at Sweet Belgian Desire and the other day I woke up on my day off, craving the Belgian Breakfast plate. Who goes to work on their day off? We do. This plate consists of 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon, 2 sausage links, 2 slices of toast and most importantly.. 2 delicious waffles made from scratch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlannaMarieK
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback Alana! :) I'm so happy for your review! Since you are serving so many people that comes here you are our important witness to know on how many happy, satisfied customers we serve here on daily base. Sometimes I wished that every visiter would write their experience...:) More 

Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I had breakfast with my son. It was a good Belgian style breakfast with waffles. It was quiet and the people were very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank James C
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Dear James C, We are so happy to hear about your experience! Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we always love to hear what our guests think about us. Hope to see you and your son again soon. Best regards, Katherine Owner/General Manager More 

Fredericton,New Brunswick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

We all got the same item- the special. Fortunately our guest got the one that was not overcooked. It was still good but apparently overcooked and a bit dry.

Helpful?
Thank MooresMills
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Dear MooresMills, Thank you for making me aware of your experience at our restaurant. I will be sharing your review and following up with our supervisors & staff who were present that day so we can properly address our issues. Our crepe farsi is a well enjoyed special and I am sorry to hear that it was lacking for your... More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

We were visiting quite a few times during the last few month, but never have been very satisfied. Today I had Eggs Benedict, again. A very unfortunate choice. The eggs were hard even though we ordered them medium.(Which actually applied to all our eggs). The came served on English Muffin, which seemed not to be toasted. The so-called "ham" were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hexe111199
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Dear Hexe111199, I was surprised to see a review such as this on our Trip Advisor page. I have addressed this issue with our personnel. Every server we have here is working their ultimate best to please and accommodate every guest that walks through the door. As soon as we were made aware that you were unhappy with your food,... More 

McAdam, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

2nd visit to this delightful restaurant located just off the Hanwell Road on the outskirts of Fredericton. Restaurant specializes in Belgian Waffles served in a variety of ways all of which are appetizing and appear delicious. They also serve some traditional Canadian dishes. I ordered a grilled cheese sandwich on this occasion with fries, not high cuisine but my lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Dear Douglas G, I am very pleased to hear about your wonderful experience at our restaurant! My staff and I are always happy to hear about our guest's experiences during their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with ourselves and others, we hope to see you all again soon! Best regards, Katherine Owner/General Manager More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We visited this restaurant with family (who are from overseas) and the food was - as has always been the case - truly excellent and good value too. Try the Belgian Mocha coffee and any of the crepes but especially the chicken crepe. If you want to economize (and not eat to much) then share the chicken crepe and then... More 

Helpful?
Thank FUNKYBUNCH888
19106901, Owner at Sweet Belgian Desire, responded to this review

Dear FUNKYBUNCH888, Thank you for your kind words and recommendations! We hold a special place in our heart for our regulars, and I am very happy to hear about your experiences. We look forward to your next visit, thank you for taking the time to write this review. Best regards, Katherine Owner/General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Sweet Belgian Desire also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Sweet Belgian Desire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $12
Cuisine
Belgian, French, American, European
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 Ashton Court, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3C 0H8, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  New Brunswick  >  Fredericton
  • Phone Number: +1 506-455-BELG (2354)
Description
Belgian Style restaurant. Specialities are Belgian Waffles, Crepes, Moules Pots, Fresh Belgian Fries, Chicken and Stews. Amazing breakfast and Sundaes!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sweet Belgian Desire staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?