We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chop Steakhouse & Bar

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
St. James Industrial
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1750 Sargent Ave | Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0C7, Canada (Century St.)
12047882015
Website
Today
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:00 am - 1:00 am
Sat 4:00 pm - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 291: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Attended Chop for a meeting in their private dining room at the end of October. Being from a service based industry, I can't say enough about the attentive service that we received during our meal. The food was delicious! I would definitely keep this restaurant on my list to go back to again for this type of event.

Helpful?
Thank wkcb
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

great fast service and ambiance. Definitely a happening place. Conveniently attached to the hotel so you don't have to drive anywhere especially in the winter.

Helpful?
Thank Carla M
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Chop. Our goal at Chop is to make every guest feel special and to make sure every guest has an enjoyable meal. I hope to see you dine with us again in the near future. Thank you, Agnes Krahn, General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Came into Chop and was seated by the lovely door staff. the servers are rude and sarcastic I was seated right behind them and they talk poorly about other guests and whine and complain making eating dinner unpleasant - food is VERY overrated. The first couple bites are okay but the mashed potatoes were hard to swallow as they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am so sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant time on your visit to Chop. The experience that you had is not one we want our guests to have. Our goal at Chop is to make every guest feel special. It is unfortunate that we did not meet this goal on your visit. I would... More 

Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went after a meeting with some coworkers. Was a Wednesday night and was pretty busy. Managed finally to get seated in the lounge. We were well taken care of. Food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank KitchenerCouple1986
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I want to thank you for your positive review on your recent visit to Chop. I am always happy to hear that our guests had an enjoyable experience. I am sorry that you had a long wait but am very happy the rest of your evening was nice. I hope to see you dine with us in the... More 

Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Rude indifferent servers... Me thinks the biggest problem is that they hire children? They are spoiled Princesses... Arrogant, and rude... As FCM's, we travel and stay all over the world...and we stay at the Inn quite alot... Nothing has changed since our first visit... We eat, and tip poorly.... Terrible Service....? Terrible Tip......

Helpful?
Thank RollyRules
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had dinner her a couple of times during late November. Found the food excellent beer nice and cold. Atmosphere is what you would expect a bit loud and TV screens with sports etc. both of the entrees I had were very tasty. They had Erdlinger beer ( non alc) that my friend suggested I try, was not disappointed by it... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrobson52
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Morning, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Chop. It is always nice to be given positive reviews, it lets us know that we are succeeding in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring they have an amazing evening with enjoyable food and beverages. We hope to see you dining with us again very... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The menu is varied, all of our party found something great. Steaks were done exactly as requested. The decor is modern and elegant. Servers are well trained and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Frank R
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Morning, I am so happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your experience at Chop. We pride our selves in our staff and our menu. It is always nice to hear positive feed back and to know that we are reaching our goal of making sure each guest has an enjoyable time in our restaurant. I hope... More 

CANADA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant was recommended by our corporate client. From the time that you enter the restaurant, you are greeted by polite and courteous staff. You have two options as to where you would like to eat. We chose the bar area and the atmosphere was great and the service was also exceptional. The steak was cooked to your liking and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MACK14
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Morning, I would like to thank you for the positive review on your dining experience at Chop. I am always happy to hear that our guests have left happy, it is our goal at Chop to make every guest feel special. We hope to see you enjoying more time at Chop soon. Thank you, Agnes Krahn, General Manager More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our prior visit had some issues and I had written an unfavorable review. The general manager wanted an opportunity to show us this was not typical of Chop, so we made a return visit. Thank you to Agnes for making us feel special. Our server, Steven, was outstanding - and our food was terrific. Steaks were cooked to order, all... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJP1964
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am very happy to hear that your return visit to Chop was much better than your original visit. I still do apologize that you did not experience our standard of service the first time around. I hope to see you and your family returning to Chop in the near future. thank you, Agnes Krahn, General Manager More 

western Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a large group. Waiter was sarcastic, happy and lazy. Considering the price they need to train their staff. They did give us a free round of drinks for make no us wait. Steak was great as was the salad but everything else was average to below average. Certainly far below the level compared to south Edmonton location.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel1952
Agnes K, General Manager at Chop Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am very sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant time at Chop. The experience you had at Chop is far from the standard that needs to be achieved for each guests visit. I apologize that your visit was not our best, I would love to continue talking about your experience through email. You can email... More 

Travelers who viewed Chop Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chop Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$12 - $32
Cuisine
American, Steakhouse, Bar, Canadian, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
4:00 pm - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1750 Sargent Ave | Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0C7, Canada
    (Century St.)
  • Location: Canada  >  Manitoba  >  Winnipeg>  > St. James Industrial
  • Neighborhood: St. James Industrial
  • Phone Number: 12047882015
Description
Winnipeg's Chop Steakhouse is located minutes from the Winnipeg International Airport. Visit us for a great steak or seafood dinner and a glass of wine.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chop Steakhouse & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?