We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Neighborhood:
Kitsilano
Bar, Canadian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
2741 4th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia v6p1k9, Canada (MacDonald)
+1 604-558-1965
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 2:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 413: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2016

Love this place! Creative menu, tasty food, funky atmosphere. A definite Kitsilano stop when in Van. Yum!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Signmeupstef
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2016

With out fail it's always a wonderful experience at The Oakwood Canadian Bistro! I have dined here more then a handful of times and have never had anything short of an amazing experience. I would have to say that hands down the Oakwood carries the best Burger in town.. I don't know how it's possible to be so Delicious and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen F
Tristan Y, General Manager at The Oakwood Canadian Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Kristen- thanks so much for your kind feed back! We really appreciate the words of encouragement and look forward to seeing you again. I like the burger too! A lot!! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2016

I have had the pleasure of dining at The Oakwood more times that I can count simply beacuse its always a fantastic experience. The food is beyond delicious, ( I suggest going with a large group of people and ordering eveything off the menu because its basically impossible choose just one thing ) The atmosphere is perfect for everything from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Tristan Y, General Manager at The Oakwood Canadian Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Susan! Thanks so much for your kind words and continual support- we can't wait to see you in again! More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2015

This smallish west side Vancouver restaurant is a great gem. The owners are committed to primarily top end British Columbia wines at great prices and spectacular food prepared by some great young Vancouver chefs. We happened to be there and talked to one of the owners who asked one of the chefs to explain some of the cooking techniques and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank freddiem65
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2015

What a treat! One of the best experiences we've had in a long time! The menu did not have any disappointments and our server helped with the portions. That being said, I don't believe I've had better service anywhere! We were a party of six which is a pretty big group for a tapas/sharing type of meal but, besides the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ch0pkins13
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

We visited as a group of 4. We were not particularly hungry which was a good thing as the portions are really small to share, you end up with a small mouthful of each dish of you share between 4. The food was really really tasty, particularly the warm kale salad, I could have eaten two portions myself!

Helpful?
Thank Anna B
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
336 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2015

The restaurant has a no reservation policy. So after being confronted with long waits on 4 consecutive visits that may have spanned as many years, we finally got a wonderful table by the fire on a rainy night where only the foolish ventured our.. Sitting by a raging candle that was plunked in the fireplace that seemed out of commission,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
Tristan Y, General Manager at The Oakwood Canadian Bistro, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for your kind feed back- we really appreciate it! I must apologize for the confusion or mis information you received as we do actually accept reservations for dinner, however not for brunch. You can reach out to us via phone or through our website whenever you like to make a reservation. Thanks again and we'd... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

Sitting at the bar eating their bacon cheeseburger with smoked meat poutine and home made hot sauce. Drinking a fent mans curiosity cola. Honestly nothing could be better. Too much food Doggy bag please. Wow what a great experience

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2015

Went for Sunday brunch. Arrived at 11 am and it was packed. We had a 45 min wait and placed our name on a wait list. Once we were seated inside, the décor was nice - wood panelling on the walls and ceilings with wooden fans and lampshades. I split the tomato and cheese frittata and the French toast with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RP_traveller_2013
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2015

The Oakwood had been our favourite restaurant in town for while, but the last few times we've gone have not been the same. They've changed executive chefs recently and it isn't quite the must-eat place that it once was, especially the poutine. On top of this, they charged us for a dish that they never brought and then never refunded... More 

Helpful?
Thank pjbiz
Tristan Y, General Manager at The Oakwood Canadian Bistro, responded to this review

Hi there, so sorry about the issue you had regarding an improper bill and a refund. If you reach out to us at info@theoakwood.ca we will make sure you get a refund right away. Thanks very much for your feed back. More 

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$7 - $25
Cuisine
Bar, Canadian
Meals
Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 2:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday
5:00 pm - 2:00 am
10:00 am - 2:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2741 4th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia v6p1k9, Canada
    (MacDonald)
  • Public Transportation: Bus stops within a block
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver>  > Kitsilano
  • Neighborhood: Kitsilano
  • Phone Number: +1 604-558-1965

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Oakwood Canadian Bistro and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Oakwood Canadian Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Kitsilano

Neighborhood Profile
Kitsilano
Kitsilano is one of Vancouver's most transformative neighbourhoods. With a long history of coffee culture and poetry readings, its days of flower children and buskers may be long-gone, but not without leaving their mark on the number of organic restaurants and fair-trade cafes in the area. At the centre of Kitsilano ("Kits" for short) the almost idyllic expanse of Kits Beach offers the opportunity for a relaxed afternoon of beach volleyball or sunbathing. Along with the beachfront, nearby public pools and trendy street-beats have driven up the homeowners prices, making it a haven for stylish home goods stores, from design and furniture, to supplies and appliances. The multitude of both families and public spaces also make it a happening neighbourhood in the summer, when festivals and fairs take to Kits' streets.
Explore this neighborhood