We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Simonholt Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
American, Bar, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6582 Applecross Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 0A4, Canada
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Tue 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wed - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 335: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Don't waste your money ! There was only a handful of people in the restaurant, and the service was very slow. I ordered Mango and Brie stuffed chicken, which tasted of fish. The server had no problem returning my food to the kitchen, and I was told there wouldn't be a charge for the meal. When asked if I would... More 

Thank Andrew & Steph L
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here with a couple of friends for brunch. I have had dinner here before, but not brunch. I was pleasantly surprised. We ordered Longboard Benny, Westcoast Benny and French Toast. We all enjoyed our brunch. Very tasty! Full of flavour and the eggs benny were not loaded with Hollandaise sauce, which is good, you were able to enjoy... More 

Thank Rose S
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my first online review of a restaurant. I normally don't feel it's worth the time, but my wife and I are admittedly disappointed and still a bit frustrated by the experience we had tonight. We were seated behind a birthday gathering, which we did not mind, and understood would be busy. What was unexpected was how seldom we... More 

Thank csbridge
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We discovered this wonderful restaurant in Nanaimo this week and what a great spot. The food was wonderful, nicely presented and fresh. Came quickly and at a temperature that meant that you wouldn't burn your tongue or you didn't have to send it back to be heated up. The servers were pleasant and very polite. We will definitely go back.

Thank PeetRead
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time experience and it was Great! Service was excellent, so was the atmosphere. The food was also first class and well presented, although I had the blackend tuna slider, and a little piece of greenery on the plate would of been nicer. Overall I would recommend this restaurant.

Thank disappointed248
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been there several times, and each time the food just amazed us. Last time we had the blackened tuna and beef, and the tuna was blackened outside and tender inside. The seafood chowder was so creamy, and tasty. Couldn't fail to mention all the good-looking service staff. The atmosphere is very cozy and relaxed. Will definitely be back.

Thank LongLakeWaterfrontBB
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a Tuesday evening and it was pretty quiet. The food was ok. Nothing out of the ordinary, but nice nevertheless. They have an extensive drinks and cocktails menu. Not a bad night out all in all.

1 Thank Carlin D
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The evening started out fine, the waitress made a mistake with the supper order.She quickly reordered the correct meal, and said it would only be a few minutes. By the time it arrived, every one else had finished eating. The waitress knew it was both of the kids, (adults) birthdays and only acknowledged our daughter's birthday. The waitress asked our... More 

Thank debgrears
Marilyn_Holt, Co founder at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review

I can only hope that you accept my sincere apology as there is no excuse for having such a poor experience at Simonholt. I also hope that you can find itin your heart to return to us so we can make up for your evening. More 

Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here was pretty good, the atmosphere was ok but the real let down was our service and lack of response by the manager. My wife and I have birthdays within a few days of each other so we typically celebrate together with family. My mother and father in-law commute from Port Alberni (about an hour) to take us... More 

1 Thank Henrik_Jaq
Marilyn_Holt, Co founder at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review

I was so sorry to hear about your lack of service and attention. My apologies. We are human and do have bad nights from time to time, but we pride our selves on good food and service and it seems we fell short . As you can see by many good reviews the kind of service you received is not... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed in dinner tonite - even though service was great - dinner was a big disappointment- ordered tempura calamari and it was definitely not tempura- very heavy, deep fried and very spicy hot - am thinking it may have been an "off" nite for the chef - as I'm an out of town guest - would seriously think about... More 

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marilyn_Holt, Co founder at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We have addressed the issue with the kitchen and you have helped us to be better. All the best to you and we do hope you return to Simonholt one day. More 

Travelers who viewed Simonholt Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island

Been to Simonholt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
American, Bar, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 12:00 am
11:00 am - 12:00 am
11:00 am - 12:00 am
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6582 Applecross Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 0A4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Nanaimo
  • Phone Number: 12509333338
SIMONHOLT is a family friendly Nanaimo destination that features a diverse menu based on the refined palette of Chef Aaron Mayor priding itself on a 'mainly from scratch' kitchen. We offer an extensive wine selection of both red and white by the glass, a fully stocked bar and first class service. We have 3 patios including a rooftop deck with beautiful ocean and mountain views. We frequently host live music from both travelling and local Vancouver Island artists. Please check our website for upcoming shows. SIMONHOLT is locally operated and has been ranked in the top 3 best overall restaurants for 4 years and best patio restaurant in Nanaimo . We are located in the North Nanaimo commercial core and are neighbors to Woodgrove Center and Costco. SIMONHOLT is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the mild west coast weather.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Simonholt Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Simonholt Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?