We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop

596 Leon Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6J6, Canada
+1 778-478-0411
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“lunch” (112 reviews)
“soups” (83 reviews)
“borscht” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
596 Leon Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6J6, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Highly recommend the hobo cheese steak! Really delicious with the salad (though next time I'll try the fries- they look great). My partner got the cottage pie and loved it. The staff were great too. Go check this place out 👍🏼More

Thank Alan D
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Allan, thanks so much for coming in and having a bite to eat with us!! It was an absolute pleasure to meet the both of you...so nice to have guests from Ireland! I hope you are gunna have a great time in Ktown... you...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I'm sorry that I can only give this place 5/5. This is rated #1 on TripAdvisor for all of Kelowna and its is well worthy of that rating. Cozy place with massive charm and a line up. The owner, Christal (hope I spelled it right)...More

1  Thank stasho1
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Stacho!!!! Awe thanks so very much.. so glad to meet you and your wif... I also love that your father and law gave you that name!!! Love love love it! The hubby and I appreciate your kind review and that you took your own personal...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is a bit off the beaten path near downtown Kelowna. Once you find it, great food and very good service. The owner is very hands on, going around from table to table to make sure everyone was happy and satisfied with their food....More

Thank Judy D
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Judy, I wanted to personally thank you for taking your personal time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The Little Hobo is mine and my husbands dream... we always wanted a lil mom and pop shop were peeps could come in and have...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All of the staff were very friendly and service was excellent and efficient. The food is fantastic. I had the French onion burger, which was unreal. The beef patty was superbly moist and overall the flavour incredible. Borscht was also fantastic.More

Thank Amy E
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Amy.... thanks so very much for writing your very first Trip Advisor Review about our lil shop. I was so stoked to have you and your boyfriend visit yesterday!! The back lil wall you were sitting against I often tease folks " nobody puts...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Well worth the wait - there's usually a line up - everything is made fresh daily from their favorite family recipes that have been handed down over the years.More

Thank cyndyomand
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hiya Cyndy.... thanks so much for coming in and dropping us a line on Trip Advisor! Best time to avoid the line is before 1130 and after 100... those folks that have the shortest lunch period come in on their half hour break right at...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was second to none; friendly, smiling. The burger was big & delicious. The atmosphere was that of a home more than a restaurant, which I liked best. Not many hot choices for vegetarians.More

Thank Kholoud D
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi ... thanks so very much for coming in it was such a pleasure to meet yeah!!! I am so very glad you enjoyed the burger and fries... ah the hot veggie items.. working on it :). We always have....Vegan soups, and salads of course......More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a place you should not miss! Good food, great service, only for $10-$15/person, tax & gratitude included!More

Thank Moon Z
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Heya Moon Z , thanks for taking the time to drop us a line on Trip Advisor! when the hubby and I opened the shop it was with the idea that... people should eat comfort food, in a comfortable place at a comfortable price. Thanks...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My Boyfriend introduced me to this place. GREAT sandwiches and a breakfast spot GEM. I miss the diner, home cooked food feel in a lot of places, but this place has got it! Its service is great for how busy they are, and the food...More

1  Thank Gabriel O
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Gabriel.... you are just so soupercalafragalisticexpealidocious!!!! Thanks so very much for coming in and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!! It means so very much to a small mom and pop shops like ours! Truely makes a difference in our world every single day....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brought my out-of-town family in for lunch today. The service was exceptional and welcoming equally matched by the delicious food. Thank you for the wonderful lunch. I recommend this place as a MUST VISIT to anybody stopping in Kelowna, and a regular staple to those...More

Thank Jeremy L
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jeremy!!! Thankyou so very much for writing your very first Trip Advisor Review !! That means the world to my hubby, myself and the fine folks who work are a part of our family run joint!! Speaking of family... it was so very nice to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The original soup and sandwich shop. Been around forever because it is consistent, quick and affordable. Not many around downtown anymore. If you are looking for a home made style sandwich and you are on the run or fancy a lunch in the park, this...More

Thank Barbara P
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Barbara, thanks for being a regular at the Little Hobo! The shop was opened up in 1975 and we are trying to keep the tradition alive :) This was the first Little Hobo to open its doors.... and seven more soon followed... we are...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mad Mango Cafe
198 reviews
.14 miles away
The Yellow House Resaurant
276 reviews
.14 miles away
Naked Cafe
52 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kasugai Japanese Garden
291 reviews
.34 miles away
Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery
76 reviews
.35 miles away
Downtown Kelowna Visitor Centre
30 reviews
.10 miles away
Kelowna Actors Studio
35 reviews
.40 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hanie_mgh
September 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LittleHoboKelowna_BC | Property representative |
Thanks for the question :) We are cash only but will be accepting debit once we move to our new location in October. Cash only for now... I will let ya know once we get a debit machine. Thanks so much ... looking forward to... More
1
Vote
wheretonext30
May 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from LittleHoboKelowna_BC | Property representative |
Yes we do have quite a few vegan soups that appear on the menu! I try to have a vegan or vegetarian soup on the menu every day. We serve four different soups and also have a frozen selection to take home. Check out our face... More
1
Vote
zipster9
March 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LittleHoboKelowna_BC | Property representative |
Hi Zipster9... we have plenty of gluten free options but we don't carry gluten free bread. We have not yet found one that can hold up to the sandwiches we serve!! We will serve any sandwich on a bed of lettuce and cucumbers... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$12
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Monday
8:00 am - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 2:30 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 2:30 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 2:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 596 Leon Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6J6, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Okanagan Valley  >  Kelowna
  • Phone Number: +1 778-478-0411
Description
Comfort food at comfortable prices! Soup and Sandwich Shop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing