We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Downstream was recreated in 2008 by local owner Sotirios Korogonas as a concept for a modern restaurant & lounge that retains Jasper's mountain town spirit and casual feel. Chef David Gomez masterfully delivers Jasper's best homemade meals using only the freshest ingredients. His attention to detail and passion for excellence is defined by the superior reputation his menu and our staff have earned amongst our loyal customers. Shawn Routledge and our service team ARE dedicated to ensuring a superior experience by providing our customers with a truly comfortable atmosphere in the most personal public room in Jasper. Together we have created a menu that is the best dollar for dollar value in
PRICE RANGE
$11 - $24
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, Canadian, Gastropub
FEATURES
Takeout, Parking Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveler rating
421
205
56
10
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
421
205
56
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elk steak goat cheese croquettes moroccan chicken falafel plate poutine shortrib wings yam fries brownie potatoes ice cream bread pool table great atmosphere gluten free great meal great menu
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately we were excited to eat dinner here and both the food and waitress disappointed us. We asked for well done, we got burnt. Including our burger bun. Half of the food tasted good but the servers racial comments to us and telling us “don’t...come back here again” left us with a sour taste in our mouth. We’ve never experienced this type of service in Canada. The caucasian waitress had a thick accent and tried to tell us in Canada how things are when we are born and raised here. I’m telling everyone I know to not step foot in this restaurant unless you want to be insulted and experience racism. Completely rude and ridiculous. The food wasn’t even worth itMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I find it funny that the title of your review was “Rude and Racist” as that is exactly how you acted. First you order your food “Extra well done” then complained that it was over done and didn’t think you should pay for it. You...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a very poor experience. We order the Elk meat, miso steak bites, and avacado Cesar salad. The veggie came with the Elk meat overcooked. Miso steak bites should be just off the menu.. Food is totally not good, over priced. Well overpriced is expected...as Jasper is a tourist place. However, just feel ripped off. We went to Raven Bistro, nice food. We later went to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, the food is cheaper than downstream and much better. Out of the meal, the salad is the best, well it's just salad, lucky that can't really go wrong about it. We paid 69 dollar for this. We would have much better food for that price..More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I am sorry if you thought our food was out if your price range, if you would like to discuss this further you can email us at downstreamjasper@gmail.com.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was awful. We ordered avocado dip (chips were stale, cheese was just a cold lump), pretzel bread (this was the only decent food), beef burger (bun was stale, “oven roasted” tomatoes were mush, there must have been 1/2 cup of yellow mustard on...it to overpower the other flavours), and hot smoked duck breast (veggies were soggy and falling apart, everything was swimming in a bland gravy-ish sauce, if you threw the roasted potatoes they would have left holes in the walls, I had to ask for a steak knife just for the potatoes alone, the duck itself was fatty and texturally felt like ham). Food didn’t take long to come out but I would rather have had the kitchen work on my food longer and actually serve me edible food.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I am sorry that you felt this way. We make everything fresh everyday, so none of your food was stale, especially the chips with your dip. If you would like to discuss this further email us at dowmstreamjasper@gmail.com.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the beef burger and it was delicious! Fresh meat and flame cooked. Really enjoyed and will visit again!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks!!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in for lunch after our rafting experience, we were so cold we had to sit inside and drink hot coffee even though they had a great set up outside! Inside was quiet and spaced out great with this Covid invasion! Overall the food...was very good. Burgers were very good and the bruschetta was excellent! I was very disappointed in the poutine, fries were rock hard and over cooked. I would recommend the yam fries instead, they were very good! Very expensive...but this is Jasper, so I'd say probably pretty average prices for Jasper.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your feedback!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was very good. I ordered a bison short ribs. The sauce was very good. Bison was a bit dry. It could be the meat itself and not the cooking. I like the patio vibe and our waitress was very friendly.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall food was okay, some issues with things being overcooked but enjoyed the proteins. Kind of expensive for quality.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Could you give us some more feedback on your experience at downstreamjasper@gmail.com?

Reviewed August 14, 2020 via mobile

My family and I did take out. I placed my order via text and whoever was texting me back was kind and provided great customer service. I can only imagine how much better the food would have been if we sat at the restaurant. We...did take out and the food was a still amazing after 20 minutes of travel time. Great taste, great quality and great value for the amount of food you get. Please go give this place a shot. You won’t be disappointed. Burgers are amazing.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Reviewed August 8, 2020 via mobile

For a weekend in Jasper we made a point to have an evening meal at Downstream. After a short wait we had a chance to order some great food. We had the baked artichoke dip appetizer with the Sockeye Salmon and Muscovy Duck mains. Large...portions and lots of lightly cooked vegetables. All staff were friendly and cheerful. A pleasure.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so !

Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

Tried twice to go here and very disappointed. Last night ordered takeout from their website. Only to call them 15 min later for them to say they aren’t doing delivery. I understand covid has changed the way businesses run. But having people place fake orders...is BS. Then tonight with the very rude guy working the outside patio. Thanks but we will never eat or drink here.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
JamesTV27, General Manager at Downstream Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I don't understand as we do not have online ordering, so I am not sure where you were ordering from.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Super 8 by Wyndham Valemount
634 reviews
50.00 miles away
Best Western Plus Valemount Inn & Suites
838 reviews
49.81 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Hinton
366 reviews
42.63 miles away
BCMInns - Hinton
294 reviews
42.65 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Harvest Food & Drink
137 reviews
.06 miles away
Patricia Street Deli
1,025 reviews
.05 miles away
Sunhouse Cafe
171 reviews
.05 miles away
SnowDome Coffee Bar
333 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Our Native Land
91 reviews
.08 miles away
Freewheel cycle
13 reviews
.07 miles away
Jasper Wellness
9 reviews
.01 miles away
Jasper Rafting Adventures
758 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
O6010ULamyl
January 3, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SamLJ72 | Reviewed this property |
Yes until 9pm
0
Votes
O6010ULamyl
January 3, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 114irac | Reviewed this property |
Yes, children can go; this is a family friendly, relaxed place. As others noted I would go earlier (by 7pm) as the evening does get going with music etc..
0
Votes
Profski44
June 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Cam J |
you may be able to, I would contact them directly, open 5 till late everyday now
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing