We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Sway Road, Sway, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO41 6FQ, England
+44 1425 610185
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“lasagne” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (9 reviews)
“salad” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Sway Road, Sway, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO41 6FQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Well this pub is hard to beat. Firstly the landlord Steve and staff Amy and Simon were so pleasant drinks served in spotless glasses with all the trimmings, nothing is too much trouble for this pub it welcomes children and animals. The food was excellent,...More

Thank Sarah C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food is excellent here with lots of choice for the whole family with good vegetarian options too. We highly recommend the Sunday dinner. It has a lovely garden seating area and it is dog 🐶 friendly - lovely place. happy days!

Thank Amanda M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Drove past this pub on way to somewhere else which turned out to be shut. So decided to have meal here so glad we did service was excellent and the meal was delicious and very reasonably priced will definitely go again and highly recommend

Thank Pauline-Dean
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Plough for lunch with a friend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a sharing platter which was tasty and other diners’ meals also looked very appetising. Good value and we’ll be back.

Thank Gill A
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

First time visiting the pub and selected it based on good trip advisor reviews, very glad we trusted the reviews. Staff were friendly, food was good and reasonably priced. We will definitely be back at some point.

Thank Rebecca A
Reviewed January 20, 2018

Never having eaten at the Plough we decided to try the food out, the staff were very welcoming & had a choice of tables to choose from, the specials board were interesting but i decided on 'special of the day', steak & ale pie. When...More

Thank tricia p
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

It was very busy. I had the Madras curry special. Disappointed. Xmas pudding catering pack of two with cream. Wi-Fi didn't work. Veggie option was disappointing. May give it another try. It's handy for a quick drive out from the Premier Inn. So yes, not...More

Thank LondonTell
EHyndPloughInn, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi, Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the plough. If you could please give me the date of your visit so I can look into the madras curry that was not up to standard, can I also ask...More

Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

We visit this pub often. Food and service is always good. Their ribs are amazing. Never had a bad meal there. Will be going again soon!

Thank Alan Clive G
EHyndPloughInn, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Alan, Thank you for your recent review. Delighted to hear that the food has always been up to standard and glad you too enjoy the ribs as much as we do :) Hope to see you again soon Many thanks Eddy

Reviewed December 30, 2017

We were recommended this pub for dining and we are very grateful for the tip. It would not have been a place we would have passed on the road as it is a bit out of the way but so worthwhile making the effort to...More

Thank barry m
EHyndPloughInn, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Barry Excellent to hear that we were recommended to yourselves. Glad you enjoyed your roasts and we look forward to welcoming you back to the plough soon. Many thanks Eddy

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

Second time coming here and it never seems to disappoint. Lovely yummy delicious food, great value. One of my boyfriend's and I favourite place to come to eat. Keep up the good work. We will be back, See you soon 😁

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EHyndPloughInn, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Thank you for your review of the plough inn, we're glad you enjoyed your meals and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Eddy

Nearby HotelsSee all Sway Hotels
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
391 reviews
1.05 miles away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
387 reviews
2.59 miles away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
2,041 reviews
2.70 miles away
Passford House
788 reviews
2.73 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Silver Hind
443 reviews
1.50 miles away
Sway Deli & Coffee Shop
38 reviews
1.54 miles away
Bashley Manor Tearooms
121 reviews
1.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Graham Turner Wood Turner
24 reviews
1.56 miles away
Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
408 reviews
1.66 miles away
Burley-Villa School of Riding
173 reviews
1.07 miles away
Highcliffe Beach
261 reviews
3.38 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
July 3, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from mn_in_Ancaster | Reviewed this property |
Not sure , Better phone them
February 5, 2016|
Response from Ann D | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sway Road, Sway, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO41 6FQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Brockenhurst  >  Sway
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 610185
Julia, Steve, Eddy and all the team here at The Plough offer all our customers a warm welcome. It is a 16th century building with endless charm. We have a large bar area alongside our 50+ cover restaurant. The plough also hosts a large beer garden which has a great kids play area with plenty outdoor seating to enjoy the sun. At the plough we produce home cooked food made with love and care by our chefs, we take your needs in to consideration with any dietary requirements being catered for so please don't hesitate to speak to a member of our team. Our menu has a wide variety including pizzas, burgers alongside some great country classics. We also cater for any type of function so please pop in and pick up a functions menu to see how we can cater for your special event. We have now introduced an extensive breakfast menu which makes our opening hours the following: Dog and Family's very welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Stay in the know!
Get the latest updates on restaurants and more in Ozu.
Join TripAdvisor