We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chequers Hungry Horse

) #23 of 34 Restaurants in Dronfield $$ - $$$ , British,
The Chequers 17 Eckington Road | Coal Aston, Dronfield S18 3AT, England
+44 1246 412342
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“mixed grill” (8 reviews)
“ice cream” (5 reviews)
“fries” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Chequers 17 Eckington Road | Coal Aston, Dronfield S18 3AT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't really wanna tell people but this place is better than any place in chesterfield. Food is great. Softplay is not as crowded or as noisy

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank W3165UHjuliel
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for the review, keep an eye on our Wacky Warehouse Facebook page for upcoming events and offers over the summer! We hope to see you soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went with my husband for a meal to save clooking, food was brilliant price with my discount was amazing, will return shortly

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Pauline H
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback Pauline, we're glad to hear you had a good time with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed July 7, 2017

This brand is not my favourite but my wife felt it satisfactory. I find the menu disappointing because of the emphasis on large = good

Thank rparsoni
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, we're sorry you feel this way about the menu, be sure to check out our Facebook page for new additions to the menu such as our Bangin' Burgers range, available until the 19th of July.

Reviewed June 27, 2017

The food and service were great. It did not take long for our mains to arrive after we had finished our starters. We will visit again.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Darren R
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thanks for the feedback and I'm sure we'll be seeing you in the near future! Keep an eye on our Facebook page for weekly offers and updates.

Reviewed June 20, 2017

Having ordered food and waited, it arrived in good time. Only problem being, cold chips on one of the three plates. Also dressed salad, asked for plain. However, when advised of this, waitress could do no more than offer to exchange food and get new...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank mikegJ7487VK
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thanks for the review Mike and we're happy to see you had a good time despite everything not being how it should've been first time round. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

We called here on our way back from chesterfield, wasn't very busy and all tables reserved, however staff found us a table! Ordered elvis burger, bronco burger and lamb rump steaks.. burger buns were hard and stale, no jam on elvis burger, the peanut sauce...More

Thank fitzies3
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hi, sorry to hear about this, we hope this doesn't put you off coming in to see us again in the near future. If you'd like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us on 01246412342 or email us directly at 6295@greeneking.co.uk

Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

Mixed feelings about our visit. Looks lovely inside and staff very helpful. However, one meal came out not as described on the menu, it was returned without any issue and a new one on its way. This took a while to be replaced, and my...More

1  Thank 0124Nat
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Thanks for the feedback. It's a shame that the meal didn't come out as it should have done, please don't let this put you off coming in to dine with us again in the future. If you'd like to discuss this further you can contact...More

Reviewed May 28, 2017

I originally placed this review on tripadvisor in Oct 2016, but put it under the Cross Daggers by mistake. This was pointed out by another member so here is the review again for the CHEQUERS. Called in here on a Monday early evening and were...More

Thank Sharon B
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thanks for the feedback Sharon, we really appreciate it and we're glad to see you enjoyed your time with us! Hopefully we will see you soon. Keep an eye on our Facebook page for updates on our menu

Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

My grandma has the sausage and mash: gravy was cold, mash was lumpy and sausages were like leather. As a vegan, I did have the option of a curry (appreciated) but as I can't handle spice I went for a mix match of garlic ciabatta,...More

Thank Ginny D
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Hi Ginny, we're sorry that your experience with us wasn't as pleasant as you'd hoped, maybe we will see you in the not so distant future as redeem ourselves. Keep an eye out for our next menu, maybe there will be a more Vegetarian meals...More

Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

Came here with a big group to celebrate my mums 60th, there were about 23 of us, we all got sat quickly and efficiently to notice our table was decorated, with the balloons we'd dropped off previous that day, as requested! We all ordered separately...More

Thank luce172
superhorse2017, Manager at Chequers Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

Thank you very much for the feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Little Italy
429 reviews
.74 miles away
Lawrie's Bistro and Coffee House
132 reviews
.80 miles away
Niche
156 reviews
.42 miles away
The Tearoom in Cliffe Park
89 reviews
.75 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Travellers Rest
38 reviews
1.72 miles away
The Miners Arms
13 reviews
2.15 miles away
The Forge Shopping Centre
28 reviews
.85 miles away
Cross Daggers
15 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Liz T
June 8, 2017|
Answer
Response from Rayding1 | Reviewed this property |
I would suggest it depends on the child's ability to play, I've seen toddlers in there. And yes it's open on a Saturday night.
0
Votes
Sheila M
January 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from superhorse2017 | Property representative |
Hello Sheila, yes the Wacky Warehouse is open on Sunday from 11 - 6 with last admissions being 4:50 and it's the normal price of £3.50. Hopefully we'll see you soon!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Chequers 17 Eckington Road | Coal Aston, Dronfield S18 3AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Dronfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 412342
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing