We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodman

London Road | Purbrook, Waterlooville PO7 5LJ, England
+44 23 9226 3135
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good9%
  • Average18%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible18%
Dec 30, 2017
“Good service”
Dec 4, 2017
“Great roast”
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Pub, Bar, British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
London Road | Purbrook, Waterlooville PO7 5LJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Went to a Christmas meal with a group here It cost £20 and it was 3 courses Soup was nice but bread and butter was rather basic- could have had rolls or fresh bread Roast was ok- Brussels were not cooked, not enough veg, Pudding...More

Thank 40lulu
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Dear 40lulu Thank you for your review. As we are a Fuller's Managed House, we follow the reciepes and specifications given to us for Christmas Meals. I will pass on your comments to Fuller's in regard to the portion size. I hope to see you...More

Reviewed December 4, 2017

This is our third visit for Sunday lunch and as always we well looked after. We selected the roast chicken for our meal and it was served piping hot with vegetables and a jug of gravy. However what really annoyed us was a couple were...More

Thank David B
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you David for your lovely review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Roast Dinner with us again and it has continued to be as good as your previous visits. Should you wish to leave any feedback about your visit, please...More

Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Only popped in for a afternoon pint but wow this place is something out of only fools and horses. Definitely not a family pub. Bad wallpaper, mismatched chairs and tables and generally a cold feel to it. Then walk into the gents to see this...More

Thank Adam B
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Dear Adam I am sorry to read that you were not pleased with your visit to us. Thank you for raising your issues, I will take this moving forward to Fuller's. Many Thanks Martin General Manager

Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

I visited this pub on Friday night with a close friend There was only 1 person serving on a busy Friday night & had to wait a least 30 minutes before I got served but it seemed that people which were regulars got served first...More

1  Thank honesty1973
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Good Afternoon Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read your review and hear that you are unsatisfied with your visit. I am intrigued to explore your comments as I work very hard to ensure that every customer who visits us is...More

Reviewed October 14, 2017

4 of us tried this for the 1st time last night as it within walking distance I have to say we were so disappointed when we walked in we were totally ignored by the young bar man who was to busy talking to some friends...More

Thank Sarah D
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear Sarah I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed on your visit. Please let me take an opportunity to go through some of your points. I am the chef as well as the Landlord, so I am able to take on your...More

Reviewed October 10, 2017

Although we are locals thought we would try the Sunday roast for the first time and we were not disappointed. We chose roast beef and it was very good , nice crunchy roast pots , veg also good and plenty of gravy in a separate...More

Thank David B
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear David Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday meal with us and I am really happy to read that our food was what you expected. I look forward to welcoming you back on...More

Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. We had the roast beef which was amazing. Mouth-wateringly so. Can't wait to have again. Service was good. Wait not long. Best meal I've had out in a long time. Thank youMore

Thank Fiona J
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Fiona Thank you for your wonderful review. I am really happy to read that you had such a good experience here and enjoyed our mouth-watering homemade Sunday Roast. I look forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future. Many Thanks Martin General...More

Reviewed September 7, 2017

I went with a family member on a Saturday lunchtime. I had seen the menu and it looked great! (Much better than another Fullers pub not too far away.) So I was very disappointed to be told, 'The kitchen is closed today due to staff...More

Thank Susan S
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear Susan, I am very sorry to read that we did not exceed your expectation when you visited us. We take all comments on board and will be trying to rectify the problems. I can only apologise that there was no food offer on your...More

Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

Great looking pub inside the food menu was very limited and the menu was very poor. My workmates had chilli con carne and he said it was very watery and couldn't eat it, mine is very average wouldn't recommend hence the rating. Going to try...More

Thank adrian C
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Good Afternoon Adrian, I am really sorry to hear that your experience was not as you fully expected and you find our menu choice poor. As we part of Fuller's brewery and we are a managed house, we have a standard template of menu card....More

Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub with home made food new owners in the last 5 weeks got the place just right with fantastic live bands 11/10

Thank Graham W
Martin K, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear Graham, Thank you so much for your review. It means so much to us that your visit exceeded all of your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, Martin

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth, Cosham
130 reviews
1.68 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
498 reviews
1.79 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
533 reviews
2.11 miles away
Village Hotel Portsmouth
738 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The George Inn
81 reviews
.98 miles away
Red Rose Lounge
123 reviews
.99 miles away
Village Bakery and Cafe
10 reviews
.10 miles away
The Fox and Hounds pub
27 reviews
.93 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Furzeley Golf Club
18 reviews
2.10 miles away
Thai Thai Massage
18 reviews
1.75 miles away
Denmead Golf Driving Range
44 reviews
2.10 miles away
Portsbridge Cosham
42 reviews
2.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Woodman staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
$8 - $14
Cuisine
Pub, Bar, British
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Purbrook, Waterlooville PO7 5LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Waterlooville
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9226 3135
  • E-mail
Description
The Woodman has all the best qualities of a true local, including a fine selection of real ales, pub food, live music and sports entertainment. Plus, our large garden, outdoor play area and kid’s menu means you can bring the whole family along - even the dogs are welcome here!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing