We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
A roaring fire in the winter and al fresco dining in summer make this a pub for all seasons. Situated close to the Hampshire village of Clanfield, the Bat and Ball is famous locally for its cricketing history, fabulous food, fine cask ales and warm, friendly welcome.
PRICE RANGE
$7 - $20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveler rating
325
174
72
41
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
325
174
72
41
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger faggots fish and chips sunday roast pie liver ice cream salad chicken cricket ground the pub cricket memorabilia south downs friendly atmosphere nice meal booked a table fullers
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here many times before but not for a while. First evening out after having our baby and we were not disappointed. A few changes to the menu especially the starters. We had the squid and prawns and also the duck which were...really lovely. Followed by a steak and the faggots which were faultless. Lovely atmosphere, kind friendly staff. Really looking forward to coming back again after this next lockdown is lifted! By then the Xmas decs will be up and it will be even more cosy ☺️. Thank you for a lovely eveningMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad you had a great meal. As we go into another lockdown we hope you keep safe and look forward to seeing you when we reopen again. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed October 28, 2020

Just enjoyed a lovely lunch with friends at the Bat and Ball. Unfortunately it was spoilt by the very brusk and officious waitress. We all agreed a course at a charm school wouldn't go amiss. Such a shame its put us off going back.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and apologise that you felt the service was brusk. The day you came in was exceptionally busy and your server undoubtedly felt under duress. Rest assured her...More

Reviewed October 28, 2020

I have visited the Bat & Ball many times over the past few years but this has to have been the worst meal I have ever been served. Broccoli & Stilton Soup that you could have cut with a knife as it was so solid,...inedible Chips and a runny Cheesecake that if it hadn't had been served in a glass would have sat like a puddle. The Manager did remove my main meal from the bill and informed me that they were having problems with their suppliers, I would suggest they sort this out quickly or they won't have any customers!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal on this occasion. Inevitably during these trying times suppliers are struggling to meet demand and the quality of certain items is a little inconsistent, we...More

Reviewed October 20, 2020

Booked a Covid table for Saturday lunch as we would be passing on our walk. We were welcomed very well and seated at our table. Having seen we were walkers they explained that they do not normally have a sandwich menu on a Saturday but...they could make an exception today. What a great chicken and bacon club sandwich with chips. Ambiance was lovely and will certainly return for dinner soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2020

Hi Peter, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Stay Safe Kind Regards Andrea, Scott & The Team

Reviewed October 18, 2020 via mobile

Lovely pub in lovely settings, staff was polite and helpful and felt very safe and distanced while inside and seated however the food. Albeit is written very well on the menu and it entices you in, it was very very average and doesn’t warrant the...prices they charge. I had the burger with triple cooked chips and the burger was really dry and the chips was way over cooked they was very hard and also dry. I’m open to go back and try their sunday roast as they look good but wouldn’t rush back for lunch.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Dean, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are glad to hear you felt safe during your visit. However, we are saddened to hear your comments in regards to the food you received. This is not our usual standards and...More

Reviewed October 4, 2020 via mobile

Great Sunday Roast Fab food on a wet dreary day. Covid controls in place, felt very safe . Great job guys, thanks

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Hi Thank you very much for your vote of confidence. We appreciate the support Andrea, Scott & Team

Reviewed October 2, 2020 via mobile

Went with friends. Very covid friendly. An absolutely charming waiter. Visited for a Sunday lunch. It was faultless. We asked for more gravy and veg and this no issue and wasn’t charged for. If in the area again we would definitely call in. Absolutely delicious

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

H Many Thanks for such a lovely positive review. We hope you pop in again next time you are in the area. Andrea, Scott & Team

Reviewed September 21, 2020

Covid precautions were excellent ,which made for a safe and relaxed meal. Plenty of water for the dogs. Helpful polite staff. Food was good, we will be back.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2020

Hi Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you had a safe relaxed meal, you and our four legged friends are always welcome. Kind Regards Andrea, Scott & Team

Reviewed September 19, 2020 via mobile

Ended a 10 mile walk there and had lunch, the third time that we have visited. Covid protocols in place but a little over the top, slow service and the barmen put the drinks tray down, stood back and waited for us to take them🙄...Ordered fish n chips and compared to pre- Covid, last visit, the portions had shrunk, the chips were pre cooked, reheated and burnt,?the mushy peas suffered the same fate! If the excuse is COVID we will not be back, seems like some businesses could be saving themselves by cost cutting!!!!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2020

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry you feel the covid measures we employ are over the top. We believe they give our customers the confidence to come here and feel safe, we ask guests to take their own...More

Reviewed September 14, 2020 via mobile

Friendly staff, excellent atmosphere and delicious food. Special thanks to Jas and Sarah for looking after us tonight.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
debbies68, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2020

Hi Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you had a good time. Sarah & Jas are thrilled with your comments! Kind Regards Andrea, Scott & Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
462 reviews
3.04 miles away
Langrish House
421 reviews
4.25 miles away
Premier Inn Petersfield Hotel
679 reviews
5.78 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) hotel
640 reviews
6.59 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Rising Sun
259 reviews
1.31 miles away
The Old Forge Tea Room
55 reviews
2.55 miles away
Four London Road
335 reviews
2.87 miles away
Kassia
86 reviews
1.80 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hambledon Vineyard
93 reviews
1.86 miles away
Queen Elizabeth Country Park
364 reviews
2.73 miles away
Butser Ancient Farm
156 reviews
2.87 miles away
The Crafty Chocolatier
87 reviews
3.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sue K
September 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Andrea C | Property representative |
I am pleased to say, there are no dog treats on the tables but our 4 legged friends are still welcome.
2
Votes
Anton1939
August 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Andrea C | Property representative |
Hi Anton 1939, our roast dinners start from £12.95 you can view a sample sunday lunch menu on our website, please let us know if you would like to reserve a table, Kind regards Paul Goldthorpe
0
Votes
Jilluminous
August 1, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Andrea C | Property representative |
Dear Jillumino..., With regards to your question regarding facilities for wheelchair bound customers, all of the Bat &Ball is on one level and we have a toilet with access for wheelchairs, please do not hesitate to contact... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing