We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port and Starboard

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Fast Food, British
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
344
69
24
20
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
344
69
24
20
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cod mushy peas chip restaurant rock salmon fish n chips ice cream indian queens beef dripping take away bread and butter award winning rick stein s set menu car park cup of tea cooked to perfection quick service
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I've been coming here several times a year for a couple of decades now, and I was a bit concerned seeing the recent negative reviews here regarding the quality of the food since the new owners took over. I was relieved to discover that the...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank lamplightatnight
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

First visit here whilst staying in the area and I had the large cod meal. For the price £14.95 it wasn’t that great and even the bread was basic with crust going stale. Staff however was polite and friendly

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Chubbz2014
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for fish and chip takeway as wasn't aware of its attached restaurant which looked really tidy. The best fish & chip shop fish I have had in a long time. The large haddock was huge, not too much batter, fish perfectly cooked, moist and...More

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank 284nigelm
Reviewed March 1, 2019

We are very proud of the Port and Starboard,and the wonderful reputation they have maintained over several years. Their standards are superb,carry on the good work...

Date of visit: February 2019
3  Thank Maureen R
Reviewed February 14, 2019

We visited Port and Starboard because we’d often seen it signposted in passing. The fish and chips were as we’d expected, but nothing special. We did think they weren’t worth the premium for going there, and honestly thought they were, dare I say, overpriced. The...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank blackpoolfan52
Reviewed February 9, 2019

1* is too high.I paid £8 for large haddock & chips in the take away.Fish was full of oil & brown.chips were over cooked.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank vinnic
Reviewed February 7, 2019

My husband and I have been in the industry for more than 35 years, so I would like to think we have some knowledge.I have never seen such cruel comments as I have on this site today to someone who has taken on a new...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Mtf444
Reviewed January 30, 2019

2019 AVOID ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. Under new ownership - NO LONGER AN AWARD WINNING fish and chip shop. I ordered a 1/2 lb cheeseburger and chips. Watched 2 burgers being put in the deep fat fryer!!! Got home to find the 2 burgers in a dry...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Alan D
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

What a brilliant restaurant, fish beautifully cooked, chips wonderfully crispy service as good as always. What is the matter with all the wingers who are having a go at this place? Someone even complained that the food was rubbish when they were NOT EVEN OPENEN....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 200PeterG200
Reviewed January 14, 2019

We visited the Port & Starboard on two occasions over the Christmas & New Year period, and on both visits the restaurant was closed. On both occasions we checked their website to see when they were open, and both times it showed that they would...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Thechapmans
Bex B, General Manager at Port and Starboard, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

We are really sorry about this, but we have had major issues with our flooring. It has taken a week longer than anticipated. unfortunately we do not control our website although we asked them to update our times they hadn't done it. We have been...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
636 reviews
1.24 miles away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
959 reviews
4.41 miles away
Travelodge Bodmin Roche Hotel
362 reviews
4.65 miles away
Victoria Inn & Lodge
157 reviews
4.65 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 17 nearby restaurants
The Blue Anchor
144 reviews
.75 miles away
Chapters Diner
34 reviews
.79 miles away
New Garden Chinese Resturant
76 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 10 nearby attractions
Kingsley Village
149 reviews
1.23 miles away
Screech Owl Sanctuary
1,111 reviews
1.41 miles away
Goss Moor Multi-Use Trail
10 reviews
2.16 miles away
Roche Rock & Hermitage
35 reviews
4.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
smellybaboon
April 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Cyril1992 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is but not noticed any changes
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing