We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moreton Tea Rooms

The Street, Moreton DT2 8RJ, England
+44 1929 463647
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“scones” (87 reviews)
“treacle” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Street, Moreton DT2 8RJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in yesterday. Made a provisional booking and said I'd follow up. They called to check to see if it was a firm booking which I appreciated. As a tour guide sometimes you need a prompt when sorting out bookings. They promised to have everything...More

Thank DiACal
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beware. We visited for afternoon tea. My son has special needs which mean that he finds it difficult to communicate. We were greeted by a rude and unkind female member of staff who snapped and snarled and was absolutely awful. Having asked for 5 minutes...More

Thank deana2017
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm so sorry you had a bad experience yesterday and regarding the initial staff member you dealt with - this is exceptionally out of character for her and I will be speaking to her further. I do have to say that our supervisor did think...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dirty table that we had to ask to be wiped. It was then wiped with a very dirty J-cloth. Got our order wrong and didn’t give us any milk with our tea even though we asked for milk twice. Stale scones and coffee cake. To...More

2  Thank lucymouseharper
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with us. As you will read from other reviews, this is not the norm. I'm surprised that you weren't asked at the till whether everything was OK for you. If you had mentioned it then, we could...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of us from our local Book Group met at lunchtime to talk about our latest read and treat one of our number whose birthday it was. We sat in the little snug room off the main restaurant and chose off the Specials board....More

Thank janthinalight
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited as we (4 of us) fancied a cream tea. Its a very pleasant little cafe with a little bit of character plus its bright and light. Service was a little slow and our waitress appeared a little bit stressed however we ordered eventually...More

1  Thank padre b
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your cream teas. It is always tricky to know how much cream and jam to serve - so much does get wasted but we are always happy to provide more if asked. Perhaps I should...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My father and I had the scallops with pesto, samphire and tomatoes and the whitebait with tartar sc to share. It was not a long wait although it was busy. The atmosphere is charming and my 82 Yr old dad is already planning to go...More

Thank c t
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very pretty setting for this award winning tearoom. We’d stopped as we have visited the Tank Museum just down the road and were on the look out for something nice for lunch. The three of us had “doorstep” sandwiches which were all served on thick...More

Thank Lauren G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely breakfast in the garden! Delicious food, friendly service, good spot to stop mid bike ride. Thanks :)

Thank Lucy C
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a breakfast, mid week, out of holiday season, the only time for sensible people to visit a well known tourist honey pot. I was not disappointed, breakfast was very nice, possibly the first time I have ever had fried bread that was...More

Thank JohnDorchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited BH Monday beautiful sunny day they sadly couldn't cope with. Tables available but service owful. Waited 15min before being served. We were then told the kitchen was closed for the nxt 15 mins and cld only serve drinks. We agreed to a drink as...More

1  Thank Linda H
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

As you state, we were exceptionally busy - our busiest day ever. I'm sorry if you couldn't wait that long. We do ask people to book for Bank Holidays and those tables are prioritised.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Moreton Hotels
The Royal Oak Hotel
138 reviews
4.35 miles away
Limestone Hotel
509 reviews
5.57 miles away
West Lulworth House
31 reviews
5.57 miles away
The Smuggler's Inn
522 reviews
6.35 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Matilda's Coffee Shop
11 reviews
1.61 miles away
Red Lion Winfrith
188 reviews
2.49 miles away
The Black Bear
354 reviews
3.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Saint Nicholas Church
92 reviews
.08 miles away
The Tank Museum
3,323 reviews
1.70 miles away
Mill House Cider Museum
34 reviews
2.75 miles away
Winfrith Village Stores
22 reviews
2.83 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mick B
June 6, 2016|
Answer
Response from Robert T | Reviewed this property |
Follow B3082 to A354 3 min (0.9 mi) Head north on Salisbury St/B3082 towards Whitecliff Mill St 43 ft Continue straight to stay on Salisbury St/B3082 0.2 mi Turn right to stay on Salisbury St/B3082 85 ft Turn right onto... More
0
Votes
Sue B
August 1, 2015|
Answer
Response from Kate S | Property representative |
Yes, we have a number of dishes which do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Moreton DT2 8RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Moreton
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 463647
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;