We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Moreton Tea Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street, Moreton DT2 8PE, England
01929 463647
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were recommended this tea-room by my brother & sister-in-law. However, they must have caught it on a better day than we did. I ordered the soup which looked lovely upon arrival. Unfortunately, it turned out to be rather watery & somewhat tasteless. My partner had the poached eggs on muffins, which again looked very nice. Sadly they were lukewarm... More 

Thank Michael B
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love this place it's are 3rd time we have been hear it's one of Dorset secrets the sandwiches the doorstep ones are the best staff are helpful and friendly if you in the neck of woods worth a visit we be back soon

Thank Alison G
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in Warmwell and came across the tearoom, an old school, whilst visiting the walled garden opposite. Stopped off here for breakfast on the way home, it was great. Lovely thick bacon, excellent black pudding. Staff were really friendly and the tearoom itself is interesting, displaying old pictures of the school children and plus some interesting info on... More 

Thank Lynne B
West Camel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to Moreton to see the church and hoped to find somewhere for a lunch stop. The tea rooms looked very inviting from the outside and the inside did not disappoint. We found the staff to be very friendly and there is a good choice of food on the menu. I had the poached eggs on muffins - it... More 

Thank Kim B
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hope that the operators of this establishment recognise the rating. Moreton Tea Rooms could never be considered for any other rating, whilst the current staff operate the business. I arrived, with my wife and another couple, just before 3.25 on Monday afternoon, spoke to one of the women behind the counter, whereupon I was asked to take a seat... More 

1 Thank Phil P
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed our scones which are very popular. I'm sorry you were disappointed not to be able to have a sandwich and had to wait a while to order. Although booked tables are given priority, it seems like you should have been squeezed in before the other party but it appears that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the tea room, found the staff pretty much rude all round. Food was overpriced and not that tasty. Worst of all I thought I recognised the cart being used as a cake stand, sure enough it was the cart used to carry the coffin of Lawrence Of Arabia at his funeral, it felt wrong and insulting. If you want... More 

Thank Mark G
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had an unsatisfactory visit to our Tearooms - I don't know when you visited so cannot comment on the staff who are usually extremely accommodating. I'm also sorry that you feel that the use of the bier is inappropriate; this is not a sentiment we have ever encountered - alot of visitors marvel over it and I... More 

Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2016

This tea rooms is in the centre of a lovely garden area, which in is own right is worth a visit. There tables in the gardens as well as in the building. We enjoyed the cake and hot drink. Parking can be limited but parking can be done on the road nearby.

Thank 800George
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Had a great lunch here. Awesome service and really like the doorstop wedge sandwiches! Would recommend to anyone in passing.

Thank Corey T
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful tea room and I'm sure if I would have ordered a cream tea I would have left happy.It was unfortunate I choose the breakfast as I can honestly say it was terrible,i was most disappointed with the apparent sausage on offer and I must have less actual meat content in it than those Richmond bangers,chef did say he gets... More 

Thank lsparta3
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy our Schoolroom Breakfast - it is very popular with our regulars. Our chef will always listen to (and act on) constructive criticism. However, unfortunately your obnoxious behaviour and language upset two of our young members of staff and he was forced to ask you to leave More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2016

The moreton tea rooms offers a great place for a light lunch or an afternoon tea. The scones and cakes were fantastic. Lots of tables inside and out. However psrking in the area is limited to the lanes. Would highly recommend going for a visit.

Thank colinrgreen54

Travelers who viewed Moreton Tea Rooms also viewed


Been to Moreton Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Moreton DT2 8PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Moreton
  • Phone Number: 01929 463647

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Moreton Tea Rooms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Swanage, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moreton Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?