We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Moreton Tea Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street, Moreton DT2 8RH, England
01929 463647
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No faults to report, we were attended to all the way by the young staff although I did see another customer ask if she needed to order at the counter due to not being seen by a waitress. We stopped for lunch which was lovely and fresh. We will visit again but for cream tea this time and even better... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have visited these tearooms on a number of occasions with family and friends plus our labrador. The bacon, brie and cranberry sandwich was delicious and the Dorset Apple cake was very tasty. The birds are amazingly tame, in fact they even took crumbs from my hand!

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great place for a lovely Dorset Cream Tea. Before that we had scallops and a rather large crab doorstep sandwich - lovely. Great suntrap garden and good service. Would visit again when in the area. Great place for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank DavidNormanS
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely find. Fantastic door step crab sandwiches, scallops followed by a very tasty Dorset Cream tea. Lovely setting in their gardens and what a sun trap. Lovely pot of tea and a great Big Tom tomato juice. Nice atmosphere and v friendly waitresses.

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNormanS
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was recommended to us and was great, good drink selection and yummy cakes. The building itself is interesting with the old school photos

Helpful?
1 Thank holtimes
dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After visiting Moreton tearooms, we thought it was beautiful and decided to book our wedding reception there. On the day we visited in person, the waitresses asked us if we could wait half an hour or so as the owner/management were 'on their way in' and they would be the best people to speak with. We bought a scone and... More 

Helpful?
Thank karen s
Holsworthy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I rang ahead of our booking to check it was okay to bring a few balloons as we were celebrating my Aunts birthday. I also enquired whether they served any sparkling wine as it wasn't listed on the full menu. When we arrived, we had been given a little anteroom, Prosecco on ice and it was a lovely surprise for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michele G
milton keynes
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was very quiet when we went yet took 15 minutes to get order taken. When it arrived it was very good and a good price. nice atmosphere, worth going to if in village. Not sure how they will cope in height of tourist season.

Helpful?
Thank ianrp52
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely venue spoiled by the attitude of the 'owner or manager' Unfortunately did not get her name but unsmiling, officious, rude and controlling. Needs a course in customer service or maybe just having a bad day. Told me I would be served in the garden we waited then went back to order but was sent back to garden like a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gmackenzie63
Kate S, Manager at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm sorry your visit to us was unsatisfactory. I think our team leader was having a bad day. If you visited on the Friday, she had 60 people on a coach to contend with as well as several new staff. This does not, of course, excuse rudeness and if you contact me direct with further details I would like to... More 

London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The tearooms lend themselves to be part of T. E. Lawrence trail and welcome shelter for the foot worn weary or wet traveller. Sandwiches average about £6 but you get huges great wedges of artisan bread with tasty generous fillings. The staff are plentiful and very welcoming. We arrived too late for cooked lunch specials hence the sandwiches and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank longbowGeorge

Travelers who viewed Moreton Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Moreton Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Moreton DT2 8RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Moreton
  • Phone Number: 01929 463647

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Moreton Tea Rooms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Swanage, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moreton Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?