We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Percy Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Percy Arms Main Road, Chatton NE66 5PS, England
+44 1668 215244
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fabulous food, six hand pumps, clean and tidy. A great place to visit for lunch or dinner. Friendly staff. Was recommended to us by a local and they weren't wrong about this pub. 5 bedrooms, which look lovely

Helpful?
Thank Hazel J
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest So glad you have discovered us and enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
RESTAURANT'S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a Saturday night at the Percy Arms recently and it was first class to say the least. We stayed in the Amerside Moor room which was exceptionally clean, spacious and very comfortable too. Our evening meal was perfect with just the right amount of time between courses. What made our stay was the friendliness of the staff and... More 

Helpful?
Thank the_secret_garden
About Restaurant's Favorite Review
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything was tremendous from the time of arrival to the time of leaving hotel. great services from all staff very attentive indeed. Room was exceptional and food was second to none overall well worth the money would defiantly stay again or should i say i will be attending again.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank jamessT764XU
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay and we hope you'll be back to visit us again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The restaurant made a big thing about being gourmet and I felt it was far short of this. The seafood plater for two starter was most disappointing as it was made up of a very trad prawn cocktail, a tasteless fish cake and a sort of pate which was basically crab and mayo. The real let down was it being... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank stephengQ9761EQ
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As can be seen from numerous other reviews, we pride ourselves on our food as well as our customer service. Our Manager, Trevor Thorne, personally oversees dishes which come directly from our kitchen. We only wish you had mentioned any items not... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was fabulous, really plush. Evening meal was excellent, lots of choice and big portions. Staff really attentive and very friendly especially the two waitresses who were sisters. Breakfast was wonderful. Really good value for money and looking forward to staying again.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank jennifer19562015
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Wonderful all round feedback; thank you and we hope we can welcome you back again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Knaresborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for three days at the beginning of April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the service and food quality were very good on both occasions. If I were to offer a suggestion it would be that there was a wider choice in the a la carte menu... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Roger K
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. Your additional comments have been noted and will be discussed accordingly. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here on 2 nights of our stay in Northumberland and could not fault the food or the staff who were both polite and friendly. Well worth a visit if in the area

Helpful?
Thank Whiterose30
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Great feedback; thank you and so glad you enjoyed your food so much you came back a second night to dine. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely decor in the room and huge double bed with large bathroom , large shower and nice lighting as I don't like gloomy rooms. We were given a jug of fresh milk for tea and carrot cake on arriving which was a nice welcome. We had the burger for dinner which was very tasty and a large portion and the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 461May
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you kindly for the positive feedback; we are glad you enjoyed everything about your stay. We hope we can welcome you back again at some point. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Happened on this lovely pub on our way back to Wooler. Stopped for lunch. Lovely broad menu, beautiful interior, relaxed atmosphere. Great food too! Especially recommend the thick home made chips! Would definitely wander back this way again!

Helpful?
Thank Templeland
Vanessa C, Public Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest So glad you have discovered us and enjoyed your visit and food. We look forward to your return visit. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have reviewed The Percy before and still say you are only really welcome if you are eating. We are here now and have been for over an hour and undecided whether to eat just informed we need to vacate our table for a booking. We chose one of the unset tables it is not welcoming at all. We are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizado31
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at The Percy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and apologies we had to move you to accommodate pre booked diners. With it being Easter Weekend, I'm sure you can appreciate we had a high number of people who had booked to dine but this certainly does not mean we do not welcome diners and drinkers alike. We value your custom and... More 

Travelers who viewed The Percy Arms also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Belford, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Wooler, Northumberland
 

Been to The Percy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$13 - $32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Percy Arms Main Road, Chatton NE66 5PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Chatton
  • Phone Number: +44 1668 215244
Description
Charming village pub recently refurbished to a very high standard with separate Bar and Restaurant areas as well as 5 luxury en-suite rooms. Our provenance is to use fresh, seasonal produce wherever possible.

Dogs are welcome in the bar area (as well as their responsible owners!!).

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Percy Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?