We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$25 - $100
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,431)
Filter reviews
1,048 results
Traveler rating
643
137
65
98
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
643
137
65
98
105
Traveler safety
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi ceviche burger swim up bar great massage great pool infinity pool foot massage pool side green chairs lounge chairs an umbrella next year romantic zone cabana almar isaac
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One and Done. We paid $95 US for 2 beach chairs. The chairs were decrepit, falling apart and no padding. Service was abismal, we were constantly looking for our server who appeared drunk or high the entire time. The food is mediocre, the drinks overpriced...for the ambiance and service. We had amazing service, ambiance and food the day before at another location on the same beach. Padded chairs, no cost to reserve seating and free parking. We had to Valet at Matamor for another $150 pesos. Bottom line, a bunch of twinks, run down amenities, lost staff and mediocre food for a ultra price. Based on other reviews. Stay Far Away From Matamar!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 11, 2024

I used to feel like this was a fun place but they really take advantage of you on the entrance fee and drink prices. I day of drinks for 3 people and 2 simple meals was $580 US. It’s like Miami prices if not worse....We went to Ritmos/Green Chairs for the next 4 days and spent less for all 4 days than 1 day at Mantamar. Not worth it. They do have a pool but it’s been cloudy each time we have been, and for those of us who have pools at home we know what that means. Poor sanitation and poor filtering. Gross. Save the money and go to green chairs or blue chairs.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vidal Meza, Propietario at Mantamar Beach Club Bar & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2024

Hola, thanks for your message, yes, Vallarta has plenty of different options according to your budget, Mantamar is very different from other beach clubs, international djs, beach chairs, complementary towels, ocean view pool, bathrooms with lockers, showers, and a/c, there is no other club that...More

Reviewed March 5, 2024

We like Mantamar because of the excellent food. ONLY complaint is the music is just too loud. That club beat is really annoying. It starts perfect during the day but by afternoon there’s too much base. By that time we were cruising in the pool...but hard to talk to people. Losing repeat business because it. Hard to believe how many ate at Sapphire when we took a break from Mantamar.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vidal Meza, Propietario at Mantamar Beach Club Bar & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2024

Thanks for your comments, we are a beach club with a lot energy, music, the place to BE. yes Sapphire offers you a very quiet atmosphere, depending in what are you looking for. Gracias

Reviewed February 24, 2024 via mobile
Serious safety incident

Saw someone wrote on here about being drugged…2 friends and I had the same exact experience the same day the last person posted back in January. I had one drink at green chairs/ritmos before we went to mantamar for a bit before our flight. I...was drinking very lightly because of my 5pm flight and after 2 drinks I barely remember the rest of the day. I woke up at 8pm back in the same airbnb we had and my friend said we made it to the airport but the airlines wouldn’t let us on the flight because of our condition. We thought maybe we had too much to drink and didn’t remember, but the bill checked out…somewhere between 2-3 drinks between the 3 of us. Pair this with the exorbitant cost to get in, plus roughly $15 for a standard drink…hard pass for me.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 18, 2024

Where to start. Great pool. Really good food. Amazing sushi. That’s where it ends. As a hotel guest behind we got beach chairs included. Rickety and uncomfortable certainly not luxury resort quality. We thought about renting a cabana but the club is extremely noisy. The...music volume is obscene. The club beat is blast your ears off loud. No way to talk in the pool without yelling. We ended up going to a sapphire more due to the music volume but would prefer Mantamar. The music volume club beat does not need to be that loud. It is a day time venue not a night club.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?7  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 9, 2024

Certainly not as pristine as it has been in the past and way more expensive. The cabanas are outrageous. The beach chairs are rickety. The only thing that hasn’t changed is the loud thumping especially in pool area. Mornings til mid afternoon are perfect volume...but then it gets cranked and all you hear is the club beat and thump thump thump. Super annoying. Food is still excellent. Only went twice over the week due to the music volume and the loud club beat. Would have Preferred to go more but the volume drive us away.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?7  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 8, 2024

My friends, partner, and I (group of 6) love traveling to PV together and this was the 3rd year in a row that we've come to Mantamar and we spend multiple days per trip there. This time around we were helped out by Irving M....(huge shout-out, really made this a 5-star review) who is an absolute delight and really elevated our experience. He really took care of us and made sure our drinks and food were brought promptly, helped us arrange great beach chairs when we came back the following day(s), and gladly took photos of our group. So friendly - try to nab a spot in his section if you can! Sure it's a little pricey compared to other beach clubs / PV in general, but you're getting a modern, well-equipped club with good music, food, and awesome beach access with a pool. We always opt for beach chairs instead of cabanas as we like the option of sunbathing, running into the ocean, and people watching along the shore. They have bag check and/or lockers if you need. Our only con is that the bathrooms (newly renovated!) are frigid lol. I should also note that we were there the weekend/week *before* bear week/beef dip and had absolutely no issues with overcrowding, lines, etc. If you're going to be there for a well-known party event, then don't be surprised when you get higher entry fees, lines for drinks/bathrooms, etc. Why y'all acting new, it's the same literally anywhere you go for big gay events. At the end of the day, they're a business and it's naive to think otherwise.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 6, 2024

Subject: Concerns Regarding Price Increases and Facilities at Bear Week I am writing to express my deep concern and disappointment regarding the recent price increases for Bear Week. As someone who has attended this event for several years, I have always appreciated the inclusive and...welcoming atmosphere it provided. However, the recent changes in pricing and facilities have left me feeling unsettled and frustrated. First and foremost, the significant increase in prices this year has created a sense of classism within the event. It seems that attending Bear Week has become a privilege for those who can afford the inflated costs, rather than a celebration of diversity and community. This goes against the values that Bear Week has stood for in the past, and it saddens me to see the business moving in this direction. Additionally, I was shocked to discover that all toilet seats have been removed from the bathroom facilities. This decision not only lacks basic consideration for attendees' comfort and hygiene but also reflects poorly on the organizers' priorities. It is unacceptable to expect attendees to endure such conditions, especially considering the registration fees we are now required to pay. Furthermore, the exorbitant price of $20 for a single drink and a $100 admission fee are simply unjustifiable. It feels like the organizers are taking advantage of the previous years' success and exploiting attendees for financial gain. This blatant disregard for the community's well-being and enjoyment is disheartening, to say the least.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?9  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vidal Meza, Owner at Mantamar Beach Club Bar & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2024

Hola muy buenos dias. Thanks for your comments, we will take actions on all of them. Just to clarify some of your comments: Yes, we did increased all Mantamar prices due to the high increases that our suppliers and wages have impact our cost. Mantamar...More

Reviewed January 28, 2024
Serious safety incident

My husband and I we decided to go back to puerto Vallarta for new years , we were excited since our first time in PV our experience it was amazing and we visited Mantamar , so we decided to go back on December 2023 for...a second time . We were so excited we didn’t really care about the fee about the day pass which it was around 125$ usd . Moving forward we arrive to Mantamar everything seem fun and although it was crowded you go with the flow . We bought our tickets to get drinks and we order our first cocktail which was a mango margarita , cocktail it was good and definitely not too strong ( not much tequila ) ; than we went and order a second drink and trust me when I tell you . I don’t remember a thing after that , I completely blocked out I was extremely drunk , my husband said my eyes weren’t looking normal and I wasn’t acting normal falling everywhere , he also said he was feeling super drunk which is totally not normal . I’m a huge tequila person and when I drink I can drink , before coming to PV I was in Guadalajara partying pretty much everyday for a week and a half , so I know I’m not a weak person when it comes down to tequila . Specially having only 2 margaritas .. I don’t remember how we got back to our room I don’t remember anything I’m glad my husband was there and better , I felt like I was dying We truly believe I was roofie and someone put something in my drink . So I’m warning you guys to be careful when you go to this place I don’t think is safe at all . And on top of that they Robbed my husband cellphone from the bag we took and we paid there at the locker so I know for fact the people that works there are all connected and they do things like this to either take belongings from you or over charged you . My experience it was horrible , despite the material things that they took from us , or the over charging , what they put on people drinks they don’t care if you go back home or if you going to make it . I never felt like that in my life I was super sick for days . They killed my whole trip after that . . You paid all of this money to go to a friendly “Secured” location and this is what you get .. NEVER AGAINMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?14  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 20, 2024

Don't believe the reviews saying this place is sketchy or whatnot. Me and my bestie (2 gay Canadian guys in their early 30s) came here several times and had the best time. This is THE place to be during the day in PV if you're...looking to drink by a pool with hot guys. Although the cabanas and bottles are a bit expensive for my finances, they're not insane. The regular drinks at the bar are the price they are because of where you're drinking them - gay paradise. You have over 100 hot guys mingling, good music, and delicious drinks...isn't that an element of why you're even coming to PV?! I wouldn't say come here 7 days in a row, but definitely check it out on a Thursday to Saturday.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 20, 2024

Highly over rated and totally caters to the party crowd to the exclusion of everyone else. Servers are not interested in you unless you are there to drink heavily and I mean heavily (be inebriated). We had planned on two cabanas but when we arrived...the music (club beat) was just thumping so loud around the pool and was way too much to be enjoyable or worth the price so opted for beach chairs instead. The beach chairs are rickety and falling apart. The sushi was the only highlight. We only went twice during our week in PV because of the extremely loud thump of the club beat so they lost not only our chair business but two cabanas for the week. Turn down the music volume a bit and we would come back when we return in mid February.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?13  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 19, 2024 via mobile

20000 MX for just getting a Cabana for two then another 20000 Mx for a bottle of vodka and a small Don Julio and no good was ordered so the cost for 5 hours in a cabana is about $3000 CDN Not worth it Watch...your phones and bags and questionable security tactics Gives this area a bad reputationMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?13  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 14, 2024

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! A SCAM! Saw a guy get harassed and ROBBED here. Be super careful... it's dangerous. The staff works with the local police who came barging in for a misunderstanding over a bill. Saw previous reviews and it seems they add fake...drinks to the bill and then try to charge you. They went up to him and emptied his pockets and wallet, stole cash. Left right after since it didn't seem safe--- especially for BIPOC ppl. Sucks to not feel there is a safe space especially at a place like this.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?13  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 14, 2024

We had hoped Mantamar would take comments made by visitors to heart and make changes but that is not the case. The place is unchanged and actually deteriorating. The music is still way to loud. The thumping club beat drowns out the waves. It’s a...beach club not a night club. We were 6 people going to rent three cabanas for our week here but they were outrageously priced so opted for chairs once we realized the music volume had not changed. The pool area is the worst for volume. Impossible to talk without yelling. The place is just a money grab from the gays attending. Shameful. We spend more time at other beach clubs to save our hearing but would have preferred Mantamar but can’t take the loud music - lower it and we all would have been there everyday. Not surprisingly we saw many from Mantamar at the other beach locations so they lose money because of the music volume and catering solely to the party crowd. Sad.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?13  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 13, 2024

Be sure to watch your bill for mysterious charges. I asked about extra drinks on my bill I didn’t order so they called quickly the cops on me, kicked me off the premises, and took all the cash (equivalent of $200USD) that was in my...wallet. Encontré cargos adicionales en mi factura y cuando pregunté al respecto, llamaron a la policía y sacaron todo el efectivo de mi billetera.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?17  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Vallarta Shores
725 reviews
.03 miles away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
1,535 reviews
.04 miles away
Blue Chairs Resort By The Sea
743 reviews
.06 miles away
Playa Del Sol Los Muertos Beach
29 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Swedes Bar & Bistro
619 reviews
.26 miles away
Si Senor Beach
1,836 reviews
.24 miles away
The Top Sky Bar & Restaurante
712 reviews
.05 miles away
116 Pulpito Gastro Bar
669 reviews
.22 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Galilea Boat Charters
36 reviews
.24 miles away
Muelle de Playa Los Muertos
1,731 reviews
.28 miles away
Playa de los Muertos
1,210 reviews
.14 miles away
Paradise Church
6 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
OnAir07706806395
July 17, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Atlnyc97 | Reviewed this property |
$25 a day to use pool and beach club. Worth every penny!
2
Votes
MarkT227227
February 24, 2019|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from KirkT489 | Reviewed this property |
It's because the DJ's down at Mantamar and Ritmos, to a lesser extent, play the music too loud with a very heavy bass. We have had many discussions with managers and owners about the music being too loud to no avail... More
1
Vote
Michael046
Hi K, I am a member of the club. I unfortunately purchased a membership in 2015. Here has been my experience after spending 2 years at the beach club. The price for a Cabana by the pool is "artificial" and a complete cash grab, even if you make a reservation. As a member I get free access and a cabana by the pool, but the entire situation is absurd. I have on numerous occasions been placed beside a group of 8 people (in 1 cabana), place beside a group of 6, that were selling drugs along with sex, as a couple of them were hustlers. BTW the total cost of their Cabana was $0 for them, all they paid for was 2 bottles of water and a plate of pasta....I was disgusted. This club caters to Mexican locals, often at no cost and gouges tourists for the full price. No communication, often bad service and actually a total joke. Even though I have paid for a Cabana and access to the club, I still have to fight with the general public in order to get access. I have had amazing service at the club, it really depends on the day and who the waiter/waitress is that day.
January 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from generalmanageralmar | Property representative |
Hi, I'm so sorry your stay at Mantamar was like this. Mantamar's administration is new, we invite you to join us and enjoy a day of music with live dj every day, with pool party on weekends with guest dj. it will be super... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MANTAMAR BEACH CLUB BAR & SUSHI, Puerto Vallarta - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mantamar Beach Club Bar & Sushi

Yes, Mantamar Beach Club Bar & Sushi is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Mantamar Beach Club Bar & Sushi is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4