We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rowberrow, Shipham BS25 1QL, England
+44 1934 852371
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Swan it a wonderful old English pub and punches way above its weight when it comes to its food. The foo really is outstanding and very good value. The staff are helpful and the setting on the edge of the Mendips is not bad etiher! If the carpet that has seen better days was replaced it would be outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank S S
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I visited yesterday after a day walking on the Somerset levels so we were hungry and thirsty! Met the new managers Jen & Phil who have only been there for 5 weeks but they have certainly started well if our experience was anything to go by. We live in Churchill and are aware of the recent history... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your visit and that the changes are to your liking. We will be closing for a refurbishment on 30th May and will reopen from 17th June. We look forward to welcoming you to the new look Swan soon, Jen More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful old country pub set in a stunning location We went for Sunday lunch it was extremely busy but even so the welcome was friendly the food came out quickly and was delicious . We will be back again soon

Helpful?
Thank beverley_and1
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, We will be closing for a refurbishment on 30th May and will reopen from 17th June. We look forward to welcoming you to the new look Swan soon, Best Wishes, Jen More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This pub has always been a favourite of ours and has recently changed managers. The new Sunday roast menu gives plenty of choice. We were a party of 10 and had booked well in advance.Just as well as all tables were fully booked. The roasts were all very good and not one of us left anything. This is restaurant quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank KizzyHarvey
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review, I shall your comments on to the team, Its great to hear you all enjoyed your visit and the food and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan again soon, Best Wishes, Jen More 

Staple Hill
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday lunch was very poor tasteless very small portions no gravy on the plate had to ask for it!! We asked for more veg as the portions were very small... by the time they brought the veg out and we had finished our meals!! They were going to charge us for extra veg! The pork belly was really tuff... nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your meal. You only made us aware of your above comments when ordering deserts, had we been made aware during your check back we would have done our best to resolve this issue. We received many positive comments regarding the food on the day of your visit so can... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great service and absolutely amazing food the potted crab was superb followed by the salmon thank you you made our evening. My husband had duck breast and the pork belly and for him to compliment food is rare so even more well done to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank _bevbaldwin7
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will pass your lovely comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan again soon, Best Wishes, Jen More 

Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pub has recently changed hands. We had main courses and desserts; the flat iron steak from the specials board was excellent, and the fish and chips and salmon were equally enjoyed. Cheesecakes were tasty. It was fairly busy for a Saturday night and a good atmosphere with friendly staff. The pub will be having a facelift in a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjbmboy
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, we will pass you comments on to team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan again soon, Best Wishes, Jen More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have always been a big fan of the Swan Inn. We live nearby, it's a great country pub in a lovely location. However, the recent changes to the menu are very disappointing. So much so, that both my wife and I don't want to visit again. The menu choice was limited, but the main factor was the portion sizes.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gb1232017
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that we did not live up to your past experiences on this occasion. From your review I have been unable to work out when your recent visit to The Swan took place. We launched a new Menu on Wednesday which has been very well received. We now offer Pub Classics alongside Sandwiches and Light Bites for... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our last meal in the U.K. for a while so we stopped at a lovely country pub on the way to the airport. Ok it was a Bank Holiday and busy but a country pub serving food should be ready for that and by the time we arrived the majority of diners were finishing. We ordered fish and chips and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonLatestarter
The_Swan_Butcombe, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I have looked in to the comments you have made and from the information you have provided I have reviewed your transaction report. Our team have confirmed that they made all customers were made aware of the delay on food, so I can only apologise if you feel this was not made clear to you.... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took my sister and brother in law here for dinner on saturday night. We booked a table. As we'd never been before. Very disappointed with the decor and menu ,was't much to choice from We were told there was a specials board. When we looked it had a thai green chicken curry that was it . We got up and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bea b
Philip H, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As a small country Pub we offer a varied menu which emphasises on quality. We are however launching a new seasonal Menu today which we hope will offer a wider variety to suit all our customers tastes. At the end of the month we are closing and... More 

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 
Swineford, Bitton
Dyrham, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$13 - $21
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rowberrow, Shipham BS25 1QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Shipham
  • Phone Number: +44 1934 852371
Description
Country Pub in the Heart of the Mendips serving Locally Produced Food and Excellent Beer

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?