We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Harp Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hoarwithy Hereford, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QH, England
+44 1432 840900
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 295: English reviews
Chambery, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We just called n for a drink to find three men at the bar. We felt unwelcome although the barman was friendly enough. We didn't return....

Helpful?
Thank MagsGBG
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Well you cant please everyone all of the time, this is a pub and we have drinkers, some only want diners, but we strive to do our best for both, So the barman was friendly, and three men (regulars) were sat at the bar, this is what happens in English pubs, people sit at the bar to drink....... what more... More 

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

without being rude, it's going to be difficult to write this review. We've eaten at the pub before, and not had any complaints, but sadly this time around it was almost inedible. (I should have taken a photo) and we only ate it because we were so hungry. When we opened the box, we both actually laughed. The fish was... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigGstaxi
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

If it was as bad, as you say you should have at least given us a phone call to complain, It is very hard to make amends if you don't know about something. however checking back on the till we haven't done any Takeaway Fish & Chips in over a week, so we don't know when this was, are you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were attracted by the 2 courses for £12 on the board outside, only to find the choice was limited to only 2 different mains. Therefore, ordered from the main menu, food ok, we felt it was over priced for what it was. Staff ok.

Helpful?
Thank Bondibry
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, 2 courses for £12 we only tend to offer 3 choices on this menu, 1 meat, 1 fish & 1 Vegetarian. It is after all an offer menu. All our food is home cooked and freshly made desserts, not like other venues I could mention Best wishes Adrian More 

Hereford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I pass this pub to go to work and on the outside it looks like a hearty, good old fashioned, local country pub. This is not the case. Inside, is rather drab, a serious lack of character and atmosphere. However as an ale drinker I was impressed with the local ales. Furthermore, their drinks selection such as gins, were also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Glad you liked the drink selections. This pub floods, hence the flooring, it also burnt down in 2006, and has been restored as best possible, however décor is an individual taste. Food, our most expensive main course is 16.50 (8oz Sirloin Steak) so with respect I don't know where you got 22 pounds from. Also I don't really see our... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having been recommended to come to this pub and number of times my partner and I thought we would try out. After being rushed to place our food order, before our drinks order had even been taken. We were given our food in a reasonable amount of time and asked if we would like any sources to go with our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

You arrived here after clearly having had a bad day, and lets be honest by being rude to my staff, it was clearly not going to get any better. I politely informed you when you booked only 15 minutes earlier that we were exceptionally busy at that time, but you wanted priority, as it was explained that there was a... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came out here for dinner last night. It's just over 14 miles from home and it was well worth the drive. The food is superb, there are plenty of guest beers to choose from and a good range of ciders. Service was excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful. We did have another reason for coming as my husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joni T
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we look forward to the Morris Dancers every year, as they are a reminder of History and Village life More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a family reunion at the New Harp Inn for 35 people and Adrian and Belinda were outstanding in their help beforehand and on the day. Terrific freshly cooked food, superb range of wines and beers and service which was genuine, efficient and answered our every need. They seemed really interested and concerned to make the occasion memorable and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your Kind words, we are glad you enjoyed the Celebration of Life, we enjoyed preparing the food and serving you. More 

Hoarwithy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have recently moved to Hoarwithy and have visited the New Harp Inn on several occasions. The food and service is excellent. We have felt pretty well looked after by Adrian and Belinda, as moving location has been quite traumatic.Brilliant to have such a resource on our doorstep!

Helpful?
1 Thank maggie c
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just popped in to the Harp for lunch .made to feel very welcome even had a chat to the chief ...fantastic food best asparagus and poached egg ... followed by a curry with home made chips .. you don't see that very often will be back to try out the fish picnic bench with friends ....

Helpful?
1 Thank trixiehackley
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our pub, glad you enjoyed our wye valley asparagus, hope to see you soon Best Wishes Adrian More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have spent years going to this beautiful pub for family reunions and the odd lunch, as it falls in our local area, but always dreaded the icy customer service from the landlady. The pub has a friendly atmosphere this side of the bar and does serve good food. Unfortunately the landlady has clearly chosen the wrong vocation, as dealing with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review

My guess is you will still return so I have taken the precaution of installing a thermometer in the bar in case the temperature drops severely when you next walk in. Joking aside, thank you for your compliments about the friendliness of the pub atmosphere and the good food. Everyone here puts their all into it and we appreciate all... More 

Travelers who viewed The New Harp Inn also viewed

Much Birch, Hereford
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The New Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hoarwithy Hereford, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Hereford  >  Hoarwithy
  • Phone Number: +44 1432 840900

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The New Harp Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hereford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The New Harp Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?