We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 Oxford Road, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
+44 1865 376242
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 210: English reviews
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We dined twice during our stay here. Nice surroundings and décor. Staff were all friendly, relaxed and attentive. The menu small but varied and should appeal to most tastes. The pizzas were a basic option but very tasty. The steak options were rather expensive so did not try, but the steak sizes could have been smaller to be affordable. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul E
Cramlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel via Hotels.com as a stopover for our journey from Northumberland to Southampton. It looked great on the website and had very good reviews for both hotel and restaurant. We were not disappointed. On arrival we were given a room upgrade. Large room with extremely comfortable bed. On suite with large walk-in shower. Very clean. Had evening meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank AckyT
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wasnt sure about duck and hoisin sauce on a pizza but decided to give it a go. Absolutely lovely!! Food delicious ambiance cozy and decor tasteful. The waiting staff were efficient and friendly. A lovely place.

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

How lovely! Thank you very much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was the best choice for a lovely breakfast date. Sat outside in an area for couples only, not that it mattered early in the morning. Breakfast menu was good and the food was wonderful. My only complaint would be the toast under the scrambled eggs was a little over done, but it was fine with the eggs. This place... More 

Helpful?
Thank W00DM4N
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are extremely pleased that your date went well and can't wait till you join us for dinner date! Best wishes. More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
159 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely looking dining room with friendly staff. A quiet Sunday (Wimbledon men's final) by their own admission but we had to eventually ask someone to take our order. We all had the Sunday roast which was perfectly pleasant but twice the price of other pubs and certainly not twice as nice. Nobody came to check during our meal that everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank MAXINEOxford
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and we take all your points on board. We hope to see you with us again soon and I can reassure you it will be a top class experience. Best wishes. More 

Preston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a quick phone all at 8.45 on a Saturday evening, our party of 6 was accommodated at The Bell - a quaint and beautifully decorated country pub near Bicester. It was a lovely evening and the lanterns dotted around the place gave a magical atmosphere. The service came with a smile, no matter who served us. Having eaten during... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bronte_Sister
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes. More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Lovely location, lovely service, lovely food. A rather expensive menu however the food was enjoyable and staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank HJDTorfaen
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much, much appreciated. We hope to see you with us again. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Arrived to find restaurant full but they found a table for us.The food was 5* and service excellent .Will be back without fail.

Helpful?
Thank topcat111
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your amazing comment and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards. More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Tiny, hot room with v poor tv and no room to sit other than on bed. I could only stand fully upright in one third of the room and it was a squeeze to get past the bed. Stupid large key fobs. Only gets average because restaurant is quite good - won't be staying again

Helpful?
Thank 842muncher
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review the Bell. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in our restaurant and we are sorry to hear that the bedroom experience was not satisfactory. We always advise to reserve your room directly and we will always do our best to allocate your needs. You... More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Great stone baked pizza - staff attentive and friendly even though the place was getting busy. Shame desert had clearly been blasted too long in microwave

Helpful?
Thank 842muncher
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to hear about the pizzas and I will definitely discuss your comments regarding puddings with our head chef. All the best. More 

Travelers who viewed The Bell at Hampton Poyle also viewed

Kirtlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Wootton by Woodstock, Woodstock
 

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Oxford Road, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 376242

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell at Hampton Poyle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?