We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Boat Inn

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Canal Road | Thrupp, Kidlington OX5 1JY, England
01865 374 279
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 267: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself, family and friends thought we'd try this pub after a previous poor dining experience caused us to steer clear for a few years. We are all local and as this pub is now under a different management than of our previous visit some years back, we thought it deserved a go. We all dine out regularly and at least... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank joel b
Europe
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked a table here for a special occasion while visiting relatives nearby. When we saw the 'staff wanted' sign at the end of the road, we were slightly worried. The pub was busy as it was a Saturday night. However there were insufficient staff. The menus were presented looking like they had samples of the courses impregnated into them.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm R
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Avoid this place like the plague, they do not deserve your custom. Apparently they also manage the Jolly Boatman a few hundred yards along the canal so I expect it's the same there. Ordered food just before 2pm on Saturday, saw a LOT of people come, eat and leave before we finally got (most of) our food at 3.30. We... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank 497alistair
John H, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this review

So about 10 drunken yobs fall off a narrow boat and want food. We explained to them that we were extremely busy and that there would be at least an hours wait. They went into the garden swearing and being loud, shouting at staff. I should have thrown them out then. They did have to wait and yes other people... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent !.5 hrs waiting for food to arrive we were horrified to find that my meal (Cod and chips) which was taken to another table started with that person covering it with squeezed lemon juice then given to me. And the two Vegan meals had cheese in them. that God my son and his girlfriend are not allergic to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Rich B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I grew up in the village of Kidlington and remember visiting the Boat Inn as a child. I have since moved just outside of Oxford and a couple of weeks ago decided to pay a nostalgic visit with my partner and daughter. The Boat Inn was as exceptional as I remembered. My partner and daughter were equally impressed. The Landlord... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a mid-week family dinner for 6. The menu looked quite interesting with plenty of choice and quite competitively priced. However, out of the 6 meals, only two were good (a steak and lamb shank) and the four were quite poor. The lamb shank was very tender but looked like it had been held in the kitchen for a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank battleaxeF89
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Group of friends visiting on a Saturday afternoon. Although busy we were created by friendly staff who sat us and took a drinks order straight away. Returning with these she took our order with no delay n Good was better than we ever expected. Came to the table in good time. All fresh, tasted great and amazing value for money.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire W
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on the the 4th July, having checked the menu on line it seemed to promise a lot, my wife is a vegetarian and having ignored the fish dish included in the vegetarian options, there still seemed a good selection. First impressions were good, the beer was well kept and the waitresses were friendly and helpful. We had starters... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely lunch here on a Saturday afternoon. The homemade pies were delicious. I had "Hock and Cock" (!) and my husband had the "Shamrock". Both were lovely. Service was friendly and welcoming. Nice setting too.

Helpful?
Thank judithWirral
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, good service, good value and great staff. Lovely in the sunshine sitting outside. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Anne K

Travelers who viewed The Boat Inn also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Canal Road | Thrupp, Kidlington OX5 1JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: 01865 374 279
Description
Greene King Public House

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boat Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Boat Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?