We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 Oxford Rd. | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
01865376242
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 114: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived to find restaurant full but they found a table for us.The food was 5* and service excellent .Will be back without fail.

Helpful?
Thank topcat111
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great stone baked pizza - staff attentive and friendly even though the place was getting busy. Shame desert had clearly been blasted too long in microwave

Helpful?
Thank 842muncher
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights ,excellent rooms spacious clean tea,coffee facilities also free bottled water. Tremendous breakfast with as much toast and hot drinks as you wished,dined in the restaurant both nights we each had different starters and mains each nights, taste was superb and plate plentiful. One last comment the staff were extremely helpful and could not do enough to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe R
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your birthday with us. We wish you all the best and hope to see you in the future. More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

The Bell is typical of so many pubs across the country. Paint it in Farrow & Ball colours, put pepper and salt mills on every table, dress the place reasonably well and give the impression you are fine dining. The reality is that it isn't and whilst the quality of the food was alright but no better than that, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your time taken to review the Bell. If we may, just to clarify we are a country inn pub with 9 bedrooms and we never call ourselves a fine dining restaurant. The prices reflect the locally sourced produce and quality. As a pub, we are all just trying to do our best as professionals. The Bell is... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Went here as part of my mother-in-law's birthday. I wasn't that keen as I have been before and not found the food good, I particularly remember some Roast Welsh Spring Lamb which was as tough as old boots a year or so ago. I really couldn't find anything on the menu that appealed for lunch, all too rich, too pricey... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Debra S
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are really sorry to hear about your disappointment however, I am glad you enjoyed the ambience of the Bell and all the comments have been brought the attention of our head chef. We do hope to see you again! All the best More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

This littlen gem is tucked away in Hampton Poyle, but it is definitely worth a trip out from Oxford. I have been eating at The Bell several times, and I have never been disappointed. Their menu offers not-so-traditional British kitchen and pizzas made in their own wood-fired pizza-oven

Helpful?
Thank JaneHasnen
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jane, thank you very much for posting your fantastic comments on both of our tripadvisor pages! We are very pleased to have you as a regular customer and please do make yourself known next time you are in for a complimentary glass of champagne. Warm regards, Suzy More 

South Midlands/North South East, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We went there 3 weeks ago and were very impressed, so much so we returned last night and ordered exactly the same meal - for me ham, egg and chips. Triple cooked chips? Last time the chips were almost roast potato size, less than 10 in total and very tasty and filling. Absolutely no way did we have the same... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mountino
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience with us. I am very disappointed to hear about your bad experience and I would like to apologise. As you have mentioned in your review, you should have said something on the day and so we could have sorted the problem then. We would definitely do our best to fix... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

My husband and I eat at the bell as often as we can - we are both steak lovers and the fillet steak at the Bell is the best we have had anywhere. We got married at the end of March 2015 and held our reception at the Bell. It was fabulous and everything we had arranged happened seamlessly. Our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Judy B
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Paul and Judy, Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are all very pleased to hear that you were content on your special day. We wish you both all the best and we hope you come and enjoy steaks with us again soon! Best wishes. More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I'm an investment banker in New York City - I mention that, not because I'm a pretentious jerk, but because I am constantly dining in world-class restaurants with one mission in mind: sell my firm's investment banking practice to an extremely pretentious, critical, and often unlikeable clientele. As a result, I've become a serious foodie (pretentious restaurant person). I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1971Diner1971
belleoxford, Head Chef - Nick Anderson at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I was quite taken aback that you sought us out, having travelled so far. I, myself will be travelling to NYC in September, any recommendations? More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We went to the Bell for a family meal on a Saturday evening as a party of six. It was a mixed experience. Four of the party could not fault their food (great pizza and duck dish!), but of the other two, one was very disappointed and one only rated it as average. Burned fish when you order traditional fish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesH09
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all of your comments. We do appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and please do accept our apology. Just to touch on your points - We were not aware that some members of your table did not enjoy their food. Having... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bell Restaurant also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Wootton by Woodstock, Woodstock
Kirtlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Bell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Italian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Seating, Parking Available
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Oxford Rd. | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: 01865376242

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bell Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?