We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Spurreli

Certificate of Excellence
$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Old Chandlery Coquet Street | Coquet Street, Amble NE65 0DJ, England
01665 710890
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 468: English reviews
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If we ever get the chance to visit Northumberland we have to visit this place as the ice cream is wonderful !

Helpful?
Thank TonyVernon
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sunday mornings would not be complete without a walk along Alnmouth beach then a drive to Amble to visit Spurreli's! Being a ceoliac means I have to make sure that food I eat is safe. Luckily they understand and cater for people like me. Not only can I have at least 3 of the delicious flavours of ice cream they... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Librariansl
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We descended on this rather innocent looking coffee shop in Amble and I will be honest first impression outside was not hopeful. But on going in the service was friendly and helpful, coffee lovely and most incredible looking cakes and ice creams! My son decided on a lemon sorbet/Sicilian lemon combo and was not disappointed. What a find! Definitely coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff, great decor, lovely Illy coffee and above all, wonderful ice cream. We couldn't stay away once we'd discovered it and went three times in a week... Between us we had most flavours and the knickerbocker glory. All delicious but the gorgeous pistachio ice cream wins for me every time. Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Amber G
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sundays in Amble are very busy, but Spurreli's coped with the huge crowds and the constant queue of people wanting their Ice Cream. Great selection of flavours and 3 generous portion sizes. Also tea's, coffee's and snacks + cakes.

Helpful?
Thank Jack K
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on our way down to Newcastle. We all had ice cream and different coffees outside in the sunshine. The staff were lovely and patient with my 90 year old father in law. The coffee was lovely and the ice cream was great. Massive portions, loads of flavours and very tasty. I left my iPhone there and didn't realise it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank irenewelch
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love love love the ice cream! Always busy! Hard to get a seat but we are happy getting ice cream and wandering along the harbour! Lots of yummy flavours to try and reasonably priced!

Helpful?
Thank JoolsRR
Shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the que outside we thought this may be a good place to visit and we were not disappointed fantastic selection of homemade ice creams sat outside in the large fenced garden with our dog and the size of the ice creams coming out were amazing. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Missemel
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed to be honest.... We've been here before with no problems but today we decided we'd try a different flavour. So the girl serving us did say that the one flavour was a little bit more expensive - fine, but we didn't expect £1.20 more for a single scoop of pistachio!! By the time you're paying for it, it's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DianeM1968
SpurreliTeam, Owner at Spurreli, responded to this review

This is the first time in six years that we have responded to a review on TripAdvisor. We enjoy reading good reviews and they are much appreciated, and we take criticism on the chin and happy to learn from them. However we can't let this one go....... Our pistachio ice cream is expensive to make. The pistachio we import is... More 

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Regular visits are a must on our holidays in Amble. A hidden gem ! Amazing choice of fresh ice creams.great coffee and now good selection of cakes. We recommend to everyone visiting the area.just wish we could take our little dog inside as we can only visit when sun is out and we can sit outside.or a covered area outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley A

Travelers who viewed Spurreli also viewed

Amble, Northumberland
Warkworth, Amble
 
Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 

Been to Spurreli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7
Cuisine
Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Old Chandlery Coquet Street | Coquet Street, Amble NE65 0DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Amble
  • Phone Number: 01665 710890
Description
Spurreli opened within The Old Chandlery in August 2010, next to the boatyard and in between the harbour and town-square. As well as Spurreli icecream, our Baristas will serve freshly ground Illy coffee, Ruby Rose patisserie, speciality teas, chilled soft drinks and winter soup

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spurreli staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?