We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lamb & Flag

Brecon Road, Llanwenarth, Abergavenny NP7 7EG, Wales
+44 1873 857611
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“lamb leg” (18 reviews)
“chicken pie” (8 reviews)
“profiteroles” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Brecon Road, Llanwenarth, Abergavenny NP7 7EG, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 394 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Absolutely poor! The customer service, the lady didn’t really care & come across very blunt as if she didn’t want to be there. The food took over an hour & one bowl of chips were undercooked. Will not be visiting any time soon!

Thank courtneygirl1060
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Slow on service, but food was absolutely amazing definitely come back. Friendly staff too. Highly recommendMore

Thank Sophie R
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor We apologise if the service was slow on the day you visited us we are in process of recruiting more staff. We are very pleased that the food was amazing and the customer service was to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in today after a trip to the Brecon Beacons. Lovely setting, nice beer garden with a decent play area for children. We sat inside, plenty of tables. Staff very friendly and attentive. Menu looked quite basic, but I have to say the quality of...More

Thank fionajeanne
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi fionajeanne, Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and that you found your visit here was a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is ok our order came quite quick drinks reasonable prices does get busy but quite a big place with plenty of tables in and outside

Thank GARRY H
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi GARRY H, Thank you for your recent feedback here on TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We specifically got to the pub at 5 so we could have an early meal as we have two young children, and it was my daughter's birthday. It was fairly quiet when we got there, but we had to wait at least half an hour...More

Thank AnnieLou4
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor Firstly can we apologise for the service you received and for the delays in ordering and receiving your meals. We will investigate this further as to the reasons why this happened. We are very short staffed...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I did expect a decent meal but what a disappointment. I ordered half a chicken and when it was served it looked like a withered pigeon on my plate, over cooked and tough. The sweet potato fries were lukewarm and my husband is still searching...More

Thank car0le846
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor We can only apologise if you felt the standard of the food on your visit was not up to our usual standard and that we could not rectify it. We have passed your feedback onto the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a warm Friday evening I attempted to order food at the lamb and flag, the place wasn’t that busy, the outside tables were taken and around 5 inside but the rest were empty. Asked to order food at the bar and the lady was...More

1  Thank Gregg M
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor Firstly we can only apologise if your felt you were spoken to rudely by our staff and did not get served in an appropriate and polite manner. When you arrived we were having an extremely busy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Made our first visit to the pub and the service, food and table layout were all excellent. Went mid afternoon which is a quieter time and can sometimes mean a dip in quality but it was great from the off with a warm welcome at...More

Thank Andrew J
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you had such a great visit with us and it was the perfect end to your day. We hope to see you very soon for many more visits.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in on my way to the station on Sunday so limited time. The bar was not packed but was steady business. Ordered drinks and told to find a table and a waitress would appear. And sure enough that's what happened. Had 2 roast beef...More

Thank Perry J
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor. We are glad to here that you had a great visit with us and that you were impressed with the prompt service and the quality of our food. We hope you visit again soon and have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An unplanned visit, driving bye so called in for lunch. Warm welcome, clean and light, beer good as expected in a Brain's house. I ordered fish and chips, my wife had scampi. The fish arrived, with a dark brown batter, the underside looked burnt and...More

Thank mikeben1810
Angela L, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback here on Trip Advisor We are sorry to here that your visit was a poor one with us, and we take on board your comments. On this particular day we were having a few issues in the kitchen with our...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Llanwenarth Hotels
The Angel
985 reviews
.80 miles away
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel
85 reviews
.83 miles away
Llansantffraed Court
569 reviews
5.10 miles away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
499 reviews
5.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Grofield Inn
168 reviews
.59 miles away
La Brasseria Italiana
286 reviews
.65 miles away
Fig Tree Espresso
90 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Abergavenny Museum and Castle
263 reviews
.75 miles away
The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church
133 reviews
.86 miles away
Brecon Beacons Tourist Information
22 reviews
.85 miles away
Linda Vista Gardens
7 reviews
.58 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Lamb & Flag staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Brecon Road, Llanwenarth, Abergavenny NP7 7EG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Abergavenny  >  Llanwenarth
  • Phone Number: +44 1873 857611
  • E-mail
Description
Enjoy great food and accommodation against the stunning backdrop of the Brecon Beacons National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;