We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant

$$ - $$$, British,
Glynneath Road | Aberdulais, Neath SA10 8HN, Wales
+44 1639 642681
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (40 reviews)
“onion pie” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Glynneath Road | Aberdulais, Neath SA10 8HN, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 337 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Was recommended by our hotel, the menu inside was different from that posted outside. I had steak and chips and this was ok. Large portion of chips, nice pepper sauce rather chewy steak no vegetables other than a tomato. Desert something of a disaster two...More

Thank Davidp1035
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been going to the rock and fountain for at least 11years Birthdays and Anniversaries . We have always been so impressed with the food and staff, our meals are always hot and enough time in between for conversation when we are a small...More

Thank Christine G
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much,it is lovely when returning customers take the time to review us .We hope to see you all many times before Christmas . Pauline and the rock and fountain team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had my 30th birthday at the rock & fountain, had a party of 40, with all different meal choices, the service was absolutely brilliant, had everyone’s orders perfectly, and the food was delivered promptly and all together! Even got in a bottle of sambuca for...More

Thank jessica27uk
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed,still can't believe my manager Charlotte fitted you all in the restaurant,look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rock and fountain serve Fantastic food at a reasonable price, staff are friendly and helpful, recommended a visit.

Thank Gareth M
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your complimentary review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for lunch on the way to Swansea today and although the restaurant was fully booked the staff were more than helpful in finding us a table. The service was second to none and the food was delicious and the restaurant was immaculate....More

Thank Steve J
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review,look forward to seeing you again. Pauline.

Reviewed January 15, 2018

My husband and I called in on speck yesterday as we were simply passing looking for a food venue for sunday lunch. Old fashioned country style pub with a lovely atmosphere. We hadn`t booked...big mistake as it was very busy and obviously very popular. However...More

Thank lil475
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review,glad we were able to fit you in. Pauline owner

Reviewed January 6, 2018

We were enjoying our meal in the bar last night at the Rock and fountain when the lady on the next table spotted a mouse! It ran from the restaurant into the bar under our tables, we were all shocked and the lady shouted out...More

Thank michellebrooks05
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

I can assure you that every precaution is taken to prevent this happening,and that we have regular pest control visits,which are at our own expense. It is unavoidable that in the countryside there will be mice,and it appears that this one was a very clever...More

Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had been on a long 2.5hr walk around waterfalls and woods above Glynneath and decided to call into the Rock and Fountain pub, it was quiet and we looked at the menu, my wife had an 8oz gammon with chips, she...More

Thank anthony d
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Thank you for your kind review,we pride ourselves on our homemade chips.Peeled and chipped by hand . Pauline owner.

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

What a amazing meal. steak is the best I've had in years it's better than Miller and Carter in Cardiff staff are amazing really friendly and make you feel at home been going here for about 20 years and never had a bad meal it's...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Pauline owner Rock and fountain.

Reviewed December 29, 2017

I took my wife and mother to the Rock for lunch on Christmas eve. What a fabulous meal and what great value fir money. It was not just Christmas dinner the full menu was available. I had a Christmas pate that was fab followed by...More

Thank RayC4433
Pauline H, Owner at Rock and Fountain Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review.I am back on meet and greet on busy days.

PreviousNext
12345634
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Neath Hotels
The Ambassador Hotel
36 reviews
3.27 miles away
Castle Hotel
288 reviews
3.29 miles away
The BlueBell Hotel
334 reviews
3.31 miles away
Green Lanterns Guest House
51 reviews
3.54 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Old Schoolhouse Tearoom
46 reviews
1.64 miles away
Golden Star
10 reviews
2.49 miles away
The Lamb and Flag
55 reviews
1.68 miles away
Le Petit Bulle
387 reviews
3.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Aberdulais Tin Works & Waterfall
339 reviews
1.47 miles away
Cefn Coed Colliery Museum
48 reviews
1.78 miles away
Melincourt Waterfall
24 reviews
1.86 miles away
Gnoll Estate
241 reviews
2.70 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John W
June 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Charlotte E |
It's open from 11 start serving food at 12 right through till 9pm hope this helps.
1
Vote
Mo E
May 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Claire P | Reviewed this property |
No it doesn't provide accommodation but there are plenty of B & B's n the surrounding areas
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $24
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Glynneath Road | Aberdulais, Neath SA10 8HN, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Neath Port Talbot  >  Neath
  • Phone Number: +44 1639 642681
Description
Found on most UK review sutes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing