We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell @ Skenfrith

Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
+44 1600 750235
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“scotch egg” (6 reviews)
“beef burger” (5 reviews)
“pudding” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Healthy, Welsh, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 80 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2015

Spent a weekend at The Bell to celebrate my husband's birhday. It's a lovely hotel far, far removed from anything corporate. Flagstone floors in reception and guests' lounge, pleasant bar and restaurant, comfortable bed with down duvet and a bathroom that actually has a heated...More

Thank briztime
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Excellent food & worth the extra price. Picturesque pub beside the river & across from the castle. Really enjoyed the visit

Thank paroak
Reviewed September 17, 2015

We went to the Bell for a birthday lunch today. The food and service were ok for the money and when I say ok, I mean not worth complaining about but not what I'd call particularly good or good value. The serving staff tried their...More

Thank JonSusanBristol
bellatskenfrith, Owner at The Bell @ Skenfrith, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2015

Wasps have been a veritable plague this year according to my farming friends in Monmouth and Herefordshire. We dealt with 4 nests and have a pest control contractor but we were still badly affected, so my apologies but we were not alone.

Reviewed September 15, 2015

Having eaten at the Bell regularly over ten years, we went in search of a special 50th birthday lunch on Sunday afternoon and left feeling disappointed and let down. Inexperienced waitresses, long wait for food, order taken wrong, children's food not coming with starters as...More

3  Thank BJT69
bellatskenfrith, Owner at The Bell @ Skenfrith, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2015

Things can go wrong and we admit our errors and apologize. We regularly eat in our restaurant for two reasons, to experience the food we serve ourselves and because we are usually here for 12 or more hours a day and also need to eat!...More

Reviewed September 15, 2015

The prices compare (lower side) for the generally overpriced establishments in Monmouthshire. The staff leave a little to be desired in terms of dealing with on arrival (seating & menu). Not enough milk with coffee, no chocolates / biscuits with coffee. Just little things nothing...More

Thank chris094
Reviewed September 8, 2015

Maria at The Bell couldn't have been more helpful in planning both the meal and accommodation. We selected a 5 course taster menu and a complimentary wine with each course, as selected by Richard the owner. The quality of the meal and the paring of...More

Thank Andrew E
Reviewed September 1, 2015

Very disappointing, simply charging more for less food doesn't make it 'Gourmet'. Burgers were burnt and the chips were cold. The male staff seemed generally to be completely disinterested in doing their jobs and more concerned with sniffing around the attractive 'new girl'. We complained...More

Thank Lee J
Reviewed September 1, 2015

We have been regular customers of The Bell - until now - first impressions from the car park we observed the kitchen staff having a water fight,our order from the kitchen was completely wrong to what we had given the waitress - though she was...More

2  Thank Forestcat82
Reviewed September 1, 2015

Visited for the first time to attend a family Wedding. Found the staff very friendly and helpful - there is a relaxed laid back atmosphere here . Canapes were interesting and appetising. The main Wedding breakfast food was of a very high standard and the...More

Thank Jon N
Reviewed August 30, 2015

We sat down at 1.20 on the Saturday of the August Bank Holiday weekend.The menu didn't come for at least ten minutes because "there weren't enough of them to go around", although the dining room was not at all full. The first course didn't come...More

1  Thank Maxwell P
PreviousNext
167891024
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Skenfrith Hotels
Riverside Hotel
186 reviews
5.64 miles away
The Old Court Hotel
527 reviews
6.11 miles away
Brooks Country House
269 reviews
6.31 miles away
The Paddocks Hotel
206 reviews
6.45 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Garway Moon Inn
176 reviews
1.64 miles away
The Royal Arms
16 reviews
4.14 miles away
The Angel
60 reviews
4.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Skenfrith Castle
93 reviews
.10 miles away
Grosmont Castle
48 reviews
4.22 miles away
White Castle Vineyard
28 reviews
5.08 miles away
Monnow Bridge and Gate
127 reviews
5.55 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bell @ Skenfrith staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$50 - $101
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Skenfrith
  • Phone Number: +44 1600 750235
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing