We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell @ Skenfrith

Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
+44 1600 750235
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“scotch egg” (6 reviews)
“beef burger” (5 reviews)
“pudding” (17 reviews)
Open Now
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
British, Healthy, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We visited The Bell for lunch and enjoyed the beautiful setting of the beer garden, looking up at the hill over Skenfrith and the pub garden. We had ciabatta sandwiches, which came with nice chips and salad. Although the bread wasn’t the texture of ciabatta...More

Thank Riotstar
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Our group of six friends staying locally walked across to the restaurant for a much-anticipated dinner. Two of our party decided on the rib-eye steak from the quite limited menu. The steaks were disappointing and when we mentioned this to our waitress she obviously took...More

Thank MiketheTraveller31
bellatskenfrith, Manager at The Bell @ Skenfrith, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I would like to begin by saying we are all very surprised by your negative review. I mean that because we do remember you from your lunch on Tuesday which was as you agreed (and as per our records) very enjoyable. Perhaps we are yet...More

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thanks Maria and team for a very good meal tonight for the 16 of us. Brilliant - couldn’t fault it. Regards also to the pussy cats Sophie and Freddie.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Idyllic setting on a beautiful Sunday in the wilds of border country. The Bell’s Sunday Lunch is top-notch. Friendly young staff and excellent food. Traditional roast with a range of side vegetables and a good wine list. As good as it says it is.

Thank Debbie W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been here a few times but last nights meal was worthy of mention. I had a succulent rib eye steak and my fried who’s a vegetarian didn’t fancy what was on the menu so the chef made a delicious mushroom risotto. We shared an...More

Thank Paul T
Reviewed April 4, 2018

As stated above, lovely food, big portions, very affordable (coming from London) and lovely, lovely staff.

Thank dutchguy2
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Living in a big city my friends and I like to explore the country side (and local ales) every chance we have. Having read the not-so-complementary previous comments we were pleased to discover there is nothing wrong with the place- it is actually the opposite....More

Thank JayZik
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

The Bell looked after us completely - we were a big groups with a dog and toddlers - and the staff couldn’t have been friendlier or more helpful. Plenty to keep the kids happy - including a local hunt around the village. Good pub grub...More

Thank Redpaice
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

Surroundings and bar staff were lovely. BUT. Quality of the food doesn't justify the price. My request for my food to be reheated in the microwave as I couldn't eat it cold was met with oh OK, no apology and yet still had £12 service...More

1  Thank ruralgirlDorset
bellatskenfrith, Owner at The Bell @ Skenfrith, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

I think your companion has aleady posted a review, had we been aware you were not happy we would have removed the Service charge form your bill, which I should mention goes in its entirety to all our staff. We try to sort out any...More

Reviewed January 31, 2018

29th May 2017 - Family lunch for 3. We came here for a decent "bar" meal in the restaurant, where all food seems to be taken. The location is exquisite, in the most beautiful countryside and right next to the serene (in Summer!) river Monnow...More

Thank John M
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Skenfrith Hotels
Riverside Hotel
192 reviews
5.64 miles away
The Old Court Hotel
549 reviews
6.11 miles away
Brooks Country House
302 reviews
6.31 miles away
The Paddocks Hotel
257 reviews
6.45 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Garway Moon Inn
184 reviews
1.64 miles away
The Stonemill
358 reviews
3.74 miles away
The Royal Arms
25 reviews
4.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Skenfrith Castle
98 reviews
.10 miles away
Grosmont Castle
53 reviews
4.22 miles away
White Castle Vineyard
29 reviews
5.08 miles away
Ty Gwyn Cider
16 reviews
5.96 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bell @ Skenfrith staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$49 - $97
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Skenfrith
  • Phone Number: +44 1600 750235
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;