We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 12/1
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $50
CUISINES
Asian, Thai
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
83
31
11
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
83
31
11
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch kingfish corn fritters pad thai curries tuna bao pulled pork cheesecake sushi mango island house chef dave passion fruit restaurant located our waiter wine list
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Food was awesome. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The Green curry is fantastic and the service and attention to detail takes it over the top. I cannot wait to go back.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 15, 2020 via mobile

Shima restaurant is an Asian fusion cuisine. It’s located in Island house house and it’s by far the best restaurant in west Nassau. It’s almost as good as Nobu but does not have much atmosphere. Food is good.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 10, 2020

We usually go on night when there is a jazz group playing and the atmosphere is always nice. The views on either patio are beautiful and we always have a great time. It had been a long time since I'd been to Shima since I...was away last year but since being back I've gone there four times. Almost each time we get a waitress names Pamela and she is the BEST! We always hope to get her whenever we go. On my second visit to Shima she had already asked us if we wanted the same orders that we got the previous time and the two visits were not that close together. I can tell she really looks out for her customers likes and dislikes. Since then its like she is always reading our minds because on our fourth visit we had decided to go for something different and she knew before we even said it! She is always also very accommodating as some of us are vegan and gluten free and no matter how many times we ask to make sure something is vegan and gluten free she is always patient and reassuring. We usually always go for the Pad Thai, Penang Curry and Mango Alexanders. I always also get the Corn Fritters and I (not vegan or gluten free) tried the Pad See Ew last time which was yummy as I usually also go for vegan options so it was a nice change. Pamela also once recommended the virgin Thai Mojito since none of us drink and I have gotten it every time since. It's so yummy! We also got the Thai Black Sticky rice dessert. I am usually very scared of sticky rice as dessert, but my sister and I shared one and I was pleasantly surprised, it was very good!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 4, 2020

I recently went to Shima yesterday night ( October 3rd, 2020) for my birthday with my fiance. 1. When we arrived, we were advised that upstairs out side dining was full and there were no seating.I was surprised by that due to us having reservations...for 7:30 pm. 2. The hostess then forwarded us down stairs to what she called their "over flow". which was a secluded picnic table, i was really disappointed because this was not what i was expecting, when i thought about Shima and their ambiance especially for my birthday festivities. Our Waiter was named Henry, i informed Henry how disappointed i was about where we were seated. He was also advised that i was ready to leave due to how i felt. 3. Henry informed us that upstairs was full. He never mentioned however that there were other seating that we would of deemed acceptable and still be able to enjoy the ambiance. As a waiter i think that its your duty to make sure your patrons are well taken care of especially after a complaint. He failed to do so. Luckily Duncan came to the rescue and saved the evening. He came over, we informed him of the concern and he immediately fixed the problem, he changed our seating and placed us comfortably. During the night Duncan and a waiter by the alias "Happy Feet" offered exceptional service. The General Manager and the Chef also came to our table to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. Later that evening for dessert we ordered 2 servings of their cheese cake, however only one cheesecake came to the table. As we waited for the other cheese cake we realized that no one was making there way back to table to bring the second cheesecake. 4. We noticed Henry near by and we asked him about the other cheesecake, he then said "Oh we are all out of cheesecake, i thought someone came and told you". Once again i was upset, we then just asked for the bill. When the bill arrived, my fiance noticed that it was under Henry's name as server, well naturally we choose not to provide a tip for Henry, so my fiance he clicked the option "NO FOR TIP". We had to swap the debit card and on the swap, 5. We were charged an extra $20.96. At first i thought it just may have been gratuity, however upon riding home and reflecting it was then brought to my attention that this $20.96 was not apart of the bill, but was a tip for Henry. THE YES OPTION WAS NEVER CLICKED FOR HENRY TO RECEIVE A $20.96 TIP. Who in my opinion did nothing to change our night around. In my summation we would NOT RECOMMEND Shima based on the facts: 1) Our waiter's initial demeanor which was nonchalant and aloof. 2) His inability to correct his behavior and continuing trend of misinformation. The night that I thought was turning around was now spoiled again!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
James_Wyndham, General Manager at Shima, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2020

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking a moment to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear that Dunkin and Happy provided amplified service but I am sorry to hear that your overall experience fell short of both your expectations, and ours. Please...More

Reviewed September 4, 2020

Just went for dinner right after the post-lockdown re-opening. Really amazing service, food and atmosphere. Very impressed to see this standard right after such a long enforced lockdown closure. Staff are first rate and very happy to be working again

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
James_Wyndham, General Manager at Shima, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2020

Thank you for choosing Shima and mentioning our amazing team. We are happy to hear we are getting it right! See you soon.

Reviewed May 22, 2020

I went with my friends late February 2020. Atmosphere is unique and welcoming. Food is delicious and the wine list is curated with so much love!!. The choices of wine were spectacular!!!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
James_Wyndham, General Manager at Shima, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2020

Oh lovely to hear! We will definitely tell our Sommelier! Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed January 9, 2020

Quiet location for an afternoon Thai delight and pink wine with girlfriends. Would definitely recommend. Staff and valet were all very friendly, the food was light and tasty, very small portions, but we were satisfied overall..

Helpful?
Reviewed November 25, 2019

I had dinner at Shima twice in the last 7 days and was disappointed both times with the Main Course dish. It just does not taste like in other nice Asian Restaurants. If you are going for the Appetizers only you cannot go wrong. The...setting is beautiful and the service very friendly.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
James_Wyndham, Marketing at Shima, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience and have addressed with the team. When you return, please ask for the Chef if you have any specific tastes and we will try our best to accommodate. Thank you for taking...More

Reviewed November 15, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed a divine, delicious meal at Shima and impeccable service, making the entire experience one of our most memorable dining experiences yet. The entire visit from start to finish was a true delight. Excellent menu, world-class service, the best food we’ve ever eaten. Henry,...our waiter, was polite, attentive, quick, and professional. He made us feel extremely welcome and cared for, adding to our overall time at the restaurant. Shima really exceeded our expectations - we really can’t wait to go back!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
James_Wyndham, Marketing at Shima, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2020

We love to hear that we exceeded your expectations and can't wait to have you back! - James Wyndham, General Manager

Reviewed October 23, 2019

I dined for a special occasion with my wife for our anniversary. We arrived early and the restaurant was not too busy. We definitely had special attention. From the greeting to the end of our meal, everything was pretty special. The food was exactly as...the menu described and the chef was able to accommodate a special request. A sushi roll for the appetizer and pad thai for dinner. My wife cannot handle "heat" and the chef performed exceptionally. I love the "heat" so our dishes, while almost the same, were entirely different. I have dined here on a number of occasions, if you hit it right, the sunsets are beautiful. Dining outside, while nice, is somewhat annoying with the flies. YUK! There is ample dining space inside with spectacular views. I am recommending you try this restaurant out. I have not had a bad meal, service or experience. If you are driving in, parking can be somewhat limited however they do offer valet.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
James_Wyndham, Marketing at Shima, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2020

Thank you Joe for the lovely review - We are happy to hear that we made your anniversary a special one and appreciate your continued support! - James Wyndham, General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Island House
113 reviews
.02 miles away
Albany, The Bahamas
16 reviews
2.04 miles away
Compass Point Beach Resort
595 reviews
2.96 miles away
Sun Fun Resort
48 reviews
3.42 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mahogany House
214 reviews
.08 miles away
Cocoplum Restaurant Bistro and Bar
36 reviews
.21 miles away
The Captain's Table
47 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Clifton Heritage National Park
582 reviews
2.82 miles away
Jaws Beach
182 reviews
2.32 miles away
Primeval Forest National Park
46 reviews
1.31 miles away
Love Beaches
139 reviews
2.59 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
soleil17
March 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from dunkinb2015 |
Yes they do.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing