We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant

Cwm Taf, Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales
+44 1685 379111
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
Open Now
6:00 PM - 9:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Welsh, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cwm Taf, Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Came on a Saturday night for a late valentines treat. The service was very good and the waiting staff very attentive. The food.Well, mine was excellent.Pulled pork and black pudding for starter,slow cooked lamb and bakewell tart for dessert(shared with hubby)My husband said his starter...More

Thank nicola r
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for yoyr review and comments about our food. The Chef's will be delighted. Simon Daniel - General manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome by Mary who made a real fuss of my mum on her 90th birthday. This was very much appreciated. We had a lovely lunch and evening meal. Spa staff were very kind to Mum. Thanks everyone.

Thank 0neil
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Delighted you enjoyed your recent visit! Thank you for taking the time to right a review. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful venue. Food has never tasted so good, can't wait to go back. The pamper package,broom, spa, food and staff were wonderful

Thank Coppertopnet
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. Please come back soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There for lunch. Good food. Average price. Good portions. Lovely and helpful staff. Great location. No negatives at all. They have a great reputation which is well deserved. Highly recommended. I can be a real nit picker but not on this one!

Thank graemebeard
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

WOW! Thank you so much for your fantastic comments. I hope you can come back soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

Visited as a large party for Sunday Lunch. Decided on the Nant Ddu due to it’s usual great quality food and service. Whilst the food was excellent as usual, the whole experience was let down by the poor service. The service was slow and inattentive...More

Thank LW140
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the poor service you experienced and will share this with the team so that this dose not happen again. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

The food was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful however, the restaurant was quite dirty in places (see photos)first photo is the door into the kitchen, which makes me worry about the kitchen. Probably very clean but the restaurant is first impressions...More

Thank Laurel E
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had concerns. These will be dealt with immediately. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Reviewed January 9, 2018

We've been customers since the first days of Daniel and his dad David took it on and have visited 3/4 times a month for food. Have called in a couple of times in December and January, service has been slow, depleted menu but the food...More

1  Thank mike m
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you feel the way you do. We value feedback and will use it. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Reviewed January 6, 2018

This restaurant has been getting some bad reviews lately and we almost changed our plans because of them. I'm glad we didn't. The menu isn't extensive, but they concentrate on what they do well. Seems sensible. There's enough variety for most tastes, unless you're expecting...More

Thank BradyRidgway
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you so much for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed our new menu. Unfortunately, sometimes guests only leave negatives don't bother with positives. We value all feedback, but it is so nice when it agrees with what we are being told face...More

Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I met up with two of our friends for dinner before Christmas. It was a snowy Friday night so we were initially unsure if we could get there because of It's location near the Brecon Beacons but we did get there but...More

Thank Cherylwelshgirl
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Many thanks for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for Sunday lunch for five people for 2.15 Sunday morning a family friend turned up at my home tried to book another person to our table was told by a member of staff who informed me in a abrupt tone of voice...More

Thank Tony P
Simon D, Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

sorry for your experience.

PreviousNext
12345638
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Cwmtaf Hotels
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
846 reviews
.77 miles away
Bessemer Hotel
156 reviews
5.98 miles away
Tregenna Hotel
118 reviews
6.04 miles away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
585 reviews
6.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Red Cow Inn
229 reviews
4.14 miles away
Aberglais Inn
297 reviews
4.20 miles away
The New Inn - Ystradfellte
389 reviews
4.54 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pen-y-Fan
657 reviews
4.11 miles away
Lower Blaen y Glyn
21 reviews
4.57 miles away
Brecon Mountain Railway
655 reviews
4.87 miles away
Garwnant Visitor Centre
240 reviews
1.21 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
584mortons
January 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Laurel E | Reviewed this property |
No dogs aren't allowed in there. We had to leave our dogs in the car.
1
Vote
valjeanthomas
June 2, 2015|
Answer
Response from ade1982 |
The T4 bus (to Brecon) runs right past the hotel, and I believe it is a request stop outside the hotel. The bus is operated by Stagecoach.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $27
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cwm Taf, Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Merthyr Tydfil County  >  Cwmtaf
  • Phone Number: +44 1685 379111
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing