We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cultured Pelican

Coakley Bay Condos, Christiansted, St. Croix
+1 340-773-3333
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“manicotti” (5 reviews)
“pasta dishes” (7 reviews)
“pizza” (11 reviews)
Closed today
$$ - $$$
Coakley Bay Condos, Christiansted, St. Croix
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

This was our first time at this small restaurant which features Italian inspired dishes- but not heavy tomato stuff- light, fresh dishes. The pasta was definitely freshly made. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable about the wine list. Prices were reasonable and servings were generous-...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank NiskyLady
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your positive review. I have actually been at the Cultured Pelican for 28 Seasons. I use to go to Saratoga Springs in the off season and cook there. Two great locations filled with culinary inspiration. Thanks again. Dennis

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was delicious, had a pizza as an app. Ordered one of the specials rack of lamb, highly recommend this one if it is available. Enjoyed the ambience and view from the window. The bar was very stylish. Service was excellent.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Alison H
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. Me and my staff put great effort into your dining experience. Thank you for noticing.

Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

I found the Cultured Pelican to be over priced and the serving staff and owner to be arrogant and rude. Their gluten free pasta was improperly prepared per gluten free members of our over 20 person party. Our meal from ordering to paying took three...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Mary L
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

It's interesting that you say you were at the Cultured Pelican since we have not yet reopened for the season. We open Oct 12, 2018. Perhaps you were in another restaurant and couldn't remember the name. Please be more accurate in the future as to...More

Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

We called from The Buccaneer and ordered a pizza and a calzone to go. I really wish our children had been cooperating enough to dine in because I was very pleased with the food, the staff, and the atmosphere there. When I called to order...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank redb651
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Thank you for your positive review. It will be wonderful to host you and your family on your next visit to St. Croix. Thanks again. Dennis

Reviewed April 9, 2018

We dined at the Cultured Pelican a few nights ago. We weren't sure what to think about going to an Italian restaurant on the island, but we'd been having fish all week so we figured what the heck! We were pleasantly surprised. We arrived about...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 3ABeerMama
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you so much for your generous review. The Cultured Pelican has been my passion for the past 27 years. Although we have many returning guest to the Pelican I'm always pleased to see new faces in the restaurant. Thanks again and hope to see...More

Reviewed March 24, 2018

We have avoided this restauarant due to a bad experience years ago. We made the mistake of trying again. I have to profess this was the most uneventful, blah food I have had on the island and it is pricey. Ceasar Salad was old limp...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank vanvan11
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Customer service is dead! We had reservations at 7and didn't get our food until 8:30ish. 2 calzones took an hour and a half!? The server kept apologizing and said our food was coming but we kept waiting. We were given 4 pieces of bread about...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank leslieanne0017
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Leslie, I'm sorry your calzones took so long Sunday night. Unfortunately there was limited space in the Pizza oven and Sunday was a very busy pizza and calzone night. Usually pizza and calzone take aprox 20 minutes, but when we're backed up like that it...More

Reviewed March 12, 2018

This restaurant is on the grounds of the Coakley Bay Condos on St. Croix -- on the East End. It is left after entering, and then just around the curve to the right as you start going up the hill. Go through the little parking...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CarlH2309
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thanks for the positive review. We are in our 27th year and take much pride in what we do. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your visit to St. Croix. Dennis

Reviewed February 26, 2018

Food was fantastic....home made manicotti was out of this world...chef walks around to see how you like your meal...service was slow...waited a little no time for our dinner..had to ask for bread but....the food is worth it.More

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank ragsarino
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Thank you so much for coming to the Cultured Pelican. I'm glad you enjoyed the manicotti. It's my Moms recipe and my favorite growing up. I am very sorry about the slow service the night you were in. I'm working with an entirely new crew...More

Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my tortellini carbonara, although perhaps pricey at $28. My friends who also had pasta enjoyed their meals too. One guy had a calzone that was almost inedible. The guitarist was truly amazing, if a shade loud.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank PhilipT754
Dennis G, Owner at Cultured Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Hi Philip, Sorry your guest did not enjoy his Calzone. Did he mention it to the server? Perhaps I could have made him another item. I'll let Steve know to bring down the volume a bit. . Thank you for joining us. Dennis

Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in St. Croix
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
448 reviews
1.49 miles away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
858 reviews
2.25 miles away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
233 reviews
2.33 miles away
The Buccaneer St Croix
1,553 reviews
3.08 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ziggy's Island Market
232 reviews
.26 miles away
83 reviews
.24 miles away
The Kitchen
6 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Buck Island Reef National Monument
794 reviews
1.99 miles away
Fort Christiansvaern
733 reviews
4.38 miles away
Isaac Bay
145 reviews
4.22 miles away
Point Udall
641 reviews
3.60 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cultured Pelican staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$15 - $26
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Open Hours
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coakley Bay Condos, Christiansted, St. Croix
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. Croix  >  Christiansted
  • Phone Number: +1 340-773-3333
  • E-mail
An Al Fresco dining room with a magnificent Caribbean view. The menu is Home style Italian featuring veal, pastas, local seafood and local farm salads. Open Tues - Sun eves for dinner from 6pm.Complete dinner special for $25. Includes appetizer, Entrtee and dessert. Avail 6 - 7pm every dat except Thurs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing