We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Palm Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ottley's Village, Basseterre, St. Kitts
+1 869-465-7234
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We dined at Ottley's for 10 nights whilst we stayed on the property. Each night there is a featured menu including four courses of appetiser, salad, main course and sweet. Every night there is also an amuse-bouche to start the meal off. Whilst it was possible to choose items from the a la carte menu instead of the featured, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank PDnBS
Barrington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying at the hotel but i want to single out this restaurant. We enjoyed a number of delicious meals. The service was great. In particular Marcus (bartender) and Eric (Head Chef) were both outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a 7 night all inclusive stay at the Nisbet Plantation on Nevis my wife and I stayed here for 7 nights on the same all inclusive package. Unfortunately even though Ottley's was about 15% more expensive the standard didn't even come close to the Nisbet. Firstly we had to order our dinner at breakfast. There was a featured menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank DerekParsons
MgmtAtOttleys, Owner at Royal Palm Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear DerekParsons I can assure you that we Owners/Innkeepers/Hosts have done everything in our power to create a very small resort that serves our guests extremely well. In some cases if our staff lack in some skills or worldliness, they make it up tenfold in good intentions and heart. We care tremendously... and on the rare occasion we receive feedback... More 

Macclesfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Friendly service of high quality food. Large portions very well prepared and presented. Chef looked after my dietary requirements, seeing me as a challenge!

Helpful?
Thank Grannynicky
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2017

We stayed at the Marriott, so the drive to this remote plantation took about 30 minutes. The former slave plantation's sugar boiling mill is the site of this lovely restaurant. We could hear the monkeys retreating into the hillsides at dusk. Unfortunately, the food was very average. The mushroom bisque was very thin, though tasty. My lobster was tough. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gail M
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2017

After having the restaurant highly recommended we had dinner here. It was a "special" menu for Valentines Day. My duck was just ok with lots of noodles and my husband's seafood dish also used a large amount of noodles. His soup was very good. It was a long cab ride from our hotel for an okay dinner.

Helpful?
Thank JLL1975
MgmtAtOttleys, General Manager at Royal Palm Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear JLL1975 Is is disheartening for us to read that your dinner was only OK. We strive for much higher than that. Indeed, our Cappellini Seafood Pasta had a good amount of noodles, as it was a pasta dish with plenty of seafood (Scallops, Shrimp and Clams). I am so sorry that you did not think your Asian Spiced Duck... More 

Strathdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2017

Location, location is the beginning. It is lovely though not close at hand. The gardens were a joy. We found the menu interesting and the resultant meal just what was required. So sorry we did not have time to linger,

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie S
MgmtAtOttleys, Owner at Royal Palm Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie S. Once we are found once, it is easy the next time. Hopefully, next time you will be able to linger longer. Just so we do not scare people away, I would like to make it clear that we are not really and truly in a hard to find remote location. We are approximately 15 minutes from the... More 

Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
430 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2017

My wife and I, and another couple, spent a week here, and we all had dinner here every night -- why? There's no better restaurant in St. Kitts. We all skipped the meal plan at Ottley's only because four courses each dinner was simply too much for us -- we all wound up ordering an appetizer and a main at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
MgmtAtOttleys, General Manager at Royal Palm Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Andrew K- Thank you for posting your thoughts. Serving plentiful (not huge), great and interesting food has always been of significant importance to us. So happy that you and your friends enjoyed. Hope to see you again. More 

Fort Collins
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2017

Had lunch at Ottley's and, if one wanted to get away from the crowds in a beautiful setting, this would be the place. The food and drinks were good but only saw the Plantation from afar but it looked beautiful and guests told us service and setting were lovely. It is a 30 minute ride from all the rest of... More 

Helpful?
Thank artgecko1
MgmtAtOttleys, Owner at Royal Palm Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear artgecko1 Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. Guests sometimes lose time and perspective when in a foreign country. Perhaps, if we share some facts it may help. Here are some facts: -We are 1 km from road to property -Turn off to our road is 15 minutes from the airport - Approx 20 minutes from... More 

Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Usually, those three words don't go together. However, this place is the exception. A truly wonderful dining experience. The location is if I have a 20 minute ride from the airport but you enter a whole different world. This is a classic plantation on a hill. Get there early, while there is still light, so you can walk the grounds,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom D
MgmtAtOttleys, Owner at Royal Palm Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tom D Thank you for your beautiful comments. It is so nice to read that 20 minutes is really not that far to travel to enter into a beautiful, peaceful and historic location. Some guests believe that 15 minutes for the airport and 1km from main road to the property is very our of the way. We look at... More 

Travelers who viewed Royal Palm Restaurant also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Royal Palm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$40
Cuisine
Caribbean, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ottley's Village, Basseterre, St. Kitts
  • Location: Caribbean  >  St. Kitts and Nevis  >  St. Kitts  >  Basseterre
  • Phone Number: +1 869-465-7234
Description
Tantalize your tastebuds. Ottley's Plantation Inn is known for its spectacular grounds, panoramic views, unmatched romantic ambience, warm hospitality and impeccable service. The Royal Palm restaurant features contemporary Caribbean cuisine and is recognized as one of the region's best. Dine elegantly on choices from a seasonal ala carte or fixed price menu. Enjoy island specialties at breakfast, lunch or the famous Sunday Champagne brunch. Special holiday menus are created for Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Eve. Treat yourself to a unique experience in an historic location.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Royal Palm Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Palm Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?