We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hideaway

53 Billy Folly Rd | Pelican Key, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
+1 721-544-3005 ext. 1132
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“tortellini” (4 reviews)
“shrimp” (8 reviews)
“pork” (4 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 am - 3:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
53 Billy Folly Rd | Pelican Key, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 122 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2017

Take the time to find this spot up the hill from the Burger King....it's a peaceful oasis and spotlessly clean. The menu and prices are fair and the food is good. It's not a big place so a reservation would be a good idea. The...More

1  Thank Nava1203
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2017

Dear Nava1203, So happy you enjoyed it ! We indeed have a small kitchen, and a new person in the kitchen but so far so good! Anytime something is not good..let them know, they will take care of it immediately! We are there for YOUR...More

Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Very nice spot. The decor was updated thus year. The entertainment was a nice touch and added to the ambience. French onion soup is delicious. I had a chicken roll up dish with a great potatoes side.More

Thank Denise B
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Hi Denise B. Glad you enjoyed it ! We always strive to create an enjoyable experience for our many visitors, people that return year after year and new comers also! Hope to see you again and please enjoy the rest of your stay.. Sunny regards...More

Reviewed February 2, 2017

I love this restaurant. We were 6 peoples and the food was excellent, fresh and the service we got from the server Winnie was friendly, very attentive to our requests. People ordered either chicken Caeser salad, tuna salad on a baguette and hamburgers with cheese....More

Thank Francolady
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Thanks Francolady! Our lunch has been hopping lately..it is laid back and casual poolside luncheon where Winnie will serve you with a smile! The view is fantastic, the breeze is great, a wonderful place to relax! Glad that you were happy..hope to see you again,...More

Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

So disappointed after reading all of these positive reviews. My vegetables were from a frozen bag....... my scallops were not cooked enough and the shrimp was mushy. My husband had the pasta with seafood, the calamari tasted like fish bait...... the service was terrible.......we had...More

Thank funseeker15
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Dear Funseeker15. I am sorry you had such a terrible experience, however, I guarantee you, we do NOT use FROZEN vegetables! We do NOT purchase them even, every afternoon Micheline cuts up FRESH vegetables! Of course everyone has their own opinion, and I am guessing...More

Reviewed January 29, 2017

Had a meal at this restaurant, it is small and in a beautiful setting. The food was amazing and the manager visited each table to check the service and food met expectations. A must if staying near Simpson BayMore

Thank Andy W
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Thanks Andy! Glad you enjoyed the meal and the ambiance. We try our best. It is not easy being a restaurant within a hotel..we are hidden, and out of the public eye, and there are many other restaurants along the strip.. I appreciate you telling...More

Reviewed January 26, 2017

Our group ate here as a prearranged spot. It looked like little more than a sandwich shop but turned out to be an excellent restaurant. The food was great and the service was good as well.More

Thank Todd W
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Hi Todd, Now there is one I had not heard before! Sandwich shop! I am glad you looked beyond that, and that you enjoyed your meal! We are a poolside restaurant, and if you came in the day you would see a stunning view as...More

Reviewed January 18, 2017

We are time share owners at La Vista for 24 years and are so happy they have an excellent restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our favorite is dinner and Jean our server always takes care of us and treats us like family. This year...More

Thank Mary-Jo R
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Thank you Mary-Jo R, We are also please to have such nice owners, and we try to keep everything fresh and updated! Thanks for letting everyone know how much you enjoy the restaurant, it is much appreciated ! See you soon, regards Andrea@lavistaresort.com

Reviewed January 17, 2017

We went for dinner and were the only ones there for 2 hrs, then 2 more tables came, that was it all night. But the views are amazing and the appetizers were great, but the dinner was very dissappointing.Not to mention the constant dinging of...More

Thank izabellek30
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Dear Izabellek30, It has been a strange season, one night so full we have to turn away people, the next time very empty. There is a slew of restaurants in the area, and we can be a bit hard to find sometimes. Nevertheless, I am...More

Reviewed January 17, 2017

Away from the hustle and bustle--food is fantastic and the chef will greet you if you ask. Service is superb (really the best we've encountered here) and every item we tried was wonderful! Very welcoming. There is music that can be a bit loud. At...More

Thank gormlk
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Thanks Gormlk! Glad you enjoyed your evening! I will tell the musician to turn it down a bit.. Jean is a wonderful waiter, will let him know you enjoyed it. Till the next time ! regards Andrea@lavistaresort.com

Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

Always a pleasant restaurant and away from the crowd. Food is always consistent and very prompt service.

1  Thank MJustinB
Andrea B, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Thanks MJustinB! Much appreciated ! Glad you enjoyed it !Definitely away from the beaten path..hence the name !! See you again! regards Andrea@lavistaresort.com

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
SO French
339 reviews
.25 miles away
Avantika
401 reviews
.40 miles away
Crave
577 reviews
.40 miles away
Rhythm N' Booze
25 reviews
.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Easy Charter St Maarten
43 reviews
.72 miles away
Joga
32 reviews
.59 miles away
St Maarten Nectar
21 reviews
.61 miles away
Hollywood Casino
344 reviews
.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hideaway staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 53 Billy Folly Rd | Pelican Key, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
  • Location: Caribbean  >  St. Maarten-St. Martin  >  Sint Maarten  >  Simpson Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 721-544-3005 ext. 1132
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing