We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Original Jerk & Roti House

Back Street # 88, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
+1 721-542-5492
All photos (33)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good30%
  • Average0%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“roti” (10 reviews)
“goat” (7 reviews)
“peas” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Jamaican, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Back Street # 88, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place for both tourist and the locals to come. The food was tasted very good, the staff were very nice, smiling and joking with us. We will definitely go back there.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Santossen
Rajin S, Owner at The Original Jerk & Roti House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the review. Always try our best.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very nice and tasty,original island lunch. Plenty of food,and kind and helpful staff. We will be back.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jens V
Reviewed November 9, 2018

I was in Sint Maarten for a few hours while waiting for my flight back to the UK, the airports is undergoing major reconstruction and repair following Hurricane Irma last year so there was little to do while waiting to check in. I therefore decided...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MartinAdrien
Rajin S, Owner at The Original Jerk & Roti House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your visit. We appreciate your business and do enjoy serving our customers to the best of our ability. Looking forward to your next visit with us. Coming soon to Derby England with a location.

Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

We went into town to get a sun dress, and try some roti....which is a Caribbean dish with curry. A local lady from our resort was telling us about it. My husband and decided on The original jerk and roti house. It is delicious!!. It...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ayse_7
Rajin S, Manager at The Original Jerk & Roti House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed . Please do return and thank you so much for the review.

Reviewed October 6, 2018

2nd time we have hit this place separated by >2 years while on a cruise. Quaint remains high. Steam table curries - all good. Meat and vegetable pies also good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank R P
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Found this gem on our quest for “local food”. They were almost closing and so had limited selection left - we had the jerk chicken with rice and my bf had the stew chicken. They were delicious! We went back a couple days later and...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Shri_baby
Reviewed June 27, 2018

After being on the island for a week, we decided to give this place a try. Also after reading reviews it seemed to be a great place to eat. Very clean inside and neat. Even though their menu has a hamburger listed it is not...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank bamamargo
Reviewed June 19, 2017

We loved this place and on a two week vacation we have returned four times. The service is great and the food even better. It must be great as many locals show up to this place to enjoy the food. For cruise-takers and time-sharers, this...More

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank drpbaxter
Rajin S, Owner at The Original Jerk & Roti House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to take care of our cutomers.

Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

I made purposeful trip back to this restaurant for take out. I had gone there last year and it was simply wonderful. What a difference a year makes! I don't know what happened. It was horrible. Actually unedible. The rice and beans tasted like dirty...More

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Frances M
Reviewed March 26, 2017

A great Caribbean menu. Good prices. Courteous and helpful serving staff. Friendly and engaging hands-on owner, always available to answer questions. Varied menu changing daily. Always available WiFi, just ask. I had the Oxtail stew with pigeon peas and rice, steamed vegetables, green salad, the...More

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Ebbie S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 hotels in St Martin / St Maarten
Sea View Beach Hotel
108 reviews
.06 miles away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
131 reviews
.17 miles away
Holland House Beach Hotel
889 reviews
.19 miles away
Sea Palace Resort
233 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Dirty Sanchez Crew Bar
285 reviews
.21 miles away
Caribbean Blend
175 reviews
.09 miles away
St maarten burger madness
431 reviews
.09 miles away
Ocean Lounge
308 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Great Bay Beach
1,074 reviews
.08 miles away
Coral Transportation
7 reviews
.09 miles away
Saint Martin of Tours Church
136 reviews
.16 miles away
Boardwalk
1,555 reviews
.13 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Baubie7
August 23, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Rajin S | Property representative |
Good afternoon and sorry for the late reply. Just saw your question. You can get roti with veggies or with callaloo and saltfish if you eat saltfish .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
$6 - $20
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Back Street # 88, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
  • Location: Caribbean  >  St Martin / St Maarten  >  Sint Maarten  >  Philipsburg
  • Phone Number: +1 721-542-5492
  • E-mail
Description
We're located in one of the oldest building in Philipsburg. Specialized in Caribbean cuisine. Our oxtail and curry goat are a must amongst the wide variety of other meats offered. All our vegetables are fresh . Three different rice offered daily alongside Mac & cheese and scalloped potatoes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing