We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pikayo

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
+1 787-721-6194
Website
Today
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

808 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 779: English reviews
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited Pikayo on Valentines Day. We were disappointed not to be sat in the main restaurant but in an overspill room at the side of the main restaurant and we had to site on plastic chairs. Not quite what we expected. The food was amazing and the service good, I'm sure if we had visited another evening it would... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanB123
Bewryn, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A nice atmosphere in the Hilton Hotel. Take the elevator or escalator to the M level for the restaurant. Excellent service and very good food. Higher prices but a good dining experience. We had shared appetizers and main courses plus desert. All good.

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

I certainly appreciate your great compliments, Mark! Please come back and visit us again the next time you're in Puerto Rico. Kind regards, Chef Wilo, Owner More 

USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We love dining at places where we have no idea how something was done. this fits the bill! I have no idea how they infused this smoke flavor into the fish, but it was done.

Helpful?
Thank diverUsa
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

I'm pleased to hear you were a fan of our culinary expertise! We'd love to perform for you again someday in the future. After all, there are many more secrets to discover on our menu! Cheers, Chef Wilo, Owner More 

Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Simply terrific. We eat here each February on our Condado visit. The room is clean and crisp. The staff professional. Wilo Benet, the chef-owner, usually makes his way around the restaurant. The food is great. Copious portions well prepared. This and Marmalade are the two DO NOT MISS restaurants in San Juan.

Helpful?
Thank sunnyshel
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

I'm honored to have earned your gracious compliments! Thank you for supporting all of us here at Pikayo -- we look forward to welcoming you back in again next February. Sincerely, Chef Wilo, Owner More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We reserved this restaurant weeks in advance based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews . . . truthfully, it was one of most overpriced and average meals that we have ever had anywhere . . . The beef appetizer was okay but we had much better down the beach from a little local food stand - and it was half... More 

Helpful?
Thank oceangirl117
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

We've been serving truly excellent food for 27 years now, so I'm disappointed to hear you felt your dishes were overcooked. As you know, we are absolutely committed to satisfying our guests, so in the future, please tell one of your servers if you aren't satisfied with your meal so that we can fix it on the spot. We'd much... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's just minutes away from where we were staying in Condado. It was highly rated on Trip Advisor so we decided to check it out. Unfortunately, the restaurant had many reservations pending, but it was half empty at the time we arrived and half empty when we left. So, they put us in a corner table which didn't have table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rstraubh
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

I certainly apologize if you felt the table you received was less than ideal. Please mention it next time so that we can do our best to accommodate you! That said, I really appreciate you and your husband's compliments on all the dishes -- it would be an honor to serve you both again someday. Sincerely, Chef Wilo, Owner More 

Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I made the Michelin star pending part up! Chef Benet should be considered as he operates a first class operation. Attention to detail is spot on. Table set perfectly, cold plates cold, hot plates hot. My wife is a Carpaccio aficionado and this is the best she has had. That would include multiple tastings in NYC. Me being a Foie... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rich V
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

I'm truly honored to read all your terrific compliments about your visit with us, Rich. After all, there's no better feeling for a chef than hearing you enjoyed each and every dish you tasted. Please let me know next time if you'd like a more intimate table and we will be sure to accommodate you. Sincerely, Chef Wilo, Owner More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here with my wife for Valentines day dinner and I was very impressed. We were staying at the Vanderbilt down the street, which has it's own fine dinning establishment 1919, but I opted to reserve Pikayo instead, having read reviews about it for some time. I booked many months in advance and we received an amazing table with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parallax1
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

What a pleasure it is to hear you and your wife could have a magnificent Valentine's day dinner with us! We've always emphasized being a global restaurant here, but we will certainly keep your critique and feedback on including more local influence in mind moving forward. All things considered, I'm truly thrilled to have your compliments and look forward to... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only positive part of our dining experience was the chocolate soufflé, which was delicious with vanilla bean cream. The lamb was overpriced and overrated at $54, salmon was over cooked and truffle cheese appetizer was only subpar. We selected this restaurant for Valentine's based on the dessert selection with the cheese & chocolate soufflé duo, but after the terrible... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria D
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

I will let the fact that this is only our twelfth 1 star review in 10 years speak for itself when addressing your comment of "mediocre." which is likely to be more telling of you than our service or products. We don't have a perfect score and never will but we could not get to mediocre even if we tried.... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had read/heard amazing reviews of the food and the place overall so decided to try it for our anniversary dinner. And Pikayo delivered! The food, the drinks, the service - everything was impeccable. Our favorite was the Empanadillas that came with a 'Tomato Mojito' sauce that was to die-for. We will definitely come back when in town again.

Helpful?
Thank RMT47
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review

I'm more than happy to hear we could live up to your expectations, and I'm honored to have been able to help you celebrate your wonderful anniversary! Thank you for the kind and charming review. See you next time, Chef Wilo, Owner More 

Travelers who viewed Pikayo also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Pikayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$25 - $100
Cuisine
Latin, Puerto Rican, Caribbean, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Puerto Rico  >  San Juan
  • Phone Number: +1 787-721-6194
Description
Pikayo is the flagship restaurant for Chef Wilo Benet. The restaurant has set standards and raised the level of luxury in fine dining in Puerto Rico. Pikayo combines exquisite taste with exclusive ambiance and unique creativity in its cuisine.Avant-garde and intrepid are two words that can be used to describe Chef Wilo Benet’s cuisine. Benet has redefined Puerto Rican cuisine and in the process has put the Island’s enchanting flavors on display for the whole world to admire.Pikayo uses the best ingredients from both sea and land. Enjoy favorites such as Maine Diver Scallops and Petit Duck Magaret.Chef Wilo and Pikayo have been featured on television and in many publications. Recently, Chef Wilo appeared as a guest judge on Bravo’s popular show, Top Chef. He followed up that experience by competing alongside other well-known chefs on Top Chef: Masters. Pikayo has also hosted Andrew Zimmern and his television show from the Travel Channel.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pikayo and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Cabot, United States
over a year ago
Lexington, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Pikayo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?