We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gouverneur de Rouville

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
De Rouvilleweg 9-F | Otrobanda Waterfront, Willemstad, Curacao
+599 9 462 5999
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 935: English reviews
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed dinner again and were not dissapointed by the high expectations our first visit's impression left on us. Food was excellent and the service outstanding. Again, we arrived without reservations and were able to wait for a table with some drinks at the bar. We requested the tasting sampler for appetizers, the combination of fish -Mahi-Mahi, shrimp and salmon,... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaBusti B
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Mr./Ms. Labusti, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are quiet flattered and take great pride in the business that we run with as main goal to exceed our guests expectations.We are very happy and proud in doing so. Our team would like to thank you for your visit and is happy that you enjoyed your entire experience from... More 

Curacao
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The ambiance is very tropical as we had diner in the back yard of this very nice old city building. The food was great and so was the staff

Helpful?
Thank Alvin B
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Mr. B, On behalf of team de Gouverneur, we appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with it. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and your experience in our garden. We look forward to being able to welcome you again soon. With kind regards, Chantal Ersilia More 

State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This restaurant offers a very nice view of canal and of the dutch style buildings that are lined on the other side.The place is very nice looking in the inside. We went there for lunch . The food was good, I had the Kabritu which is goat meat cooked with the local spices. Exotic taste. But the thing I dread... More 

Helpful?
Thank rach102015
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Rach, First of all our team would like to thank you for your time and effort in providing us with your feedback and experience as this is essential and important to us. One of our main goals is to exceed our guests expectations and we are sorry to hear that a piece of the puzzle was missing with regards... More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited this place on our first trip to Curacao in 2008. Great to see that 8 years later the place is still consisted. This time we dined in the garden. Wow, such a lovely garden. Yes, the gallery is nice, but the garden was a real surprise! Food is great but keep in mind that the portions are large.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denliv
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Denliv, Thank you for providing us with your feedback as this is important to us. We will surely keep it in mind, thank you. We are very happy that you returned to our restaurant 8 years later and more so that you enjoyed our garden, food and beverage. Thank you for recommending us. We surely look forward to your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just loved our time at the Gouverneur. They just launched a new menu and I must say it was excellent. Me and my husband found it hard to choose from the dishes but we loved everything we had and no regrets. The service and atmosphere were spot on. Amazing place to have nice and romantic restaurant with your other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenka T
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. T, We are very happy, and grateful for your review. Our team is proud of the fact that we have exceeded your expectations as it is one of our main goals. Thank you for your time and effort in providing us with your feedback and experience and also for recommending our restaurant. Our team is looking forward to... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had dinner here on my first night in Curacao and found the food and ambiance to be outstanding! The quality of the food exceeded my expectations and the staff were great. I would recommend reserving a table on the balcony for the views of Punda. This restaurant also has a great bar that's worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank GavinTheWanderer
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Gavin, Such a pleasure to read such wonderful comments and remarks. Mission accomplished, as we have exceeded your expectations which is one of our #1 goals.. Our team would like to thank you for your visit and recommending our restaurant. We appreciate your time and effort in sharing your experience with us and we do wish to be able... More 

The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place, dining in a historical building with balcony tables with a beautiful view at the pontoon bridge. We went here on recommendation of one of our cotravellers and weren't disappointed. I had the keshi jena and my boyfriend had the spareribs. The food was tasty and good price/quality ratio. Service was good and correct. We definitely come back next... More 

Helpful?
Thank flowerjorien
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear miss Jorien, On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for your visit as well as lovely words. It is very much appreciated. We are very pleased to read that you came by on recommendation and that it turned out wonderful. 'Mission accomplished' as you left happy, pleased, enjoyed everything and will return. Our team is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a Ceasar salad in the garden because all the harbour view tables were occupied. Wonderful attentive service. Meal was fresh, tasty and good quantity. Could have used a bit more bread with my meal. Chairs could be a bit more comfortable at this price range.Wifi was fast. The view is a absolute super romantic setup can't wait to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank kindencounter
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Kindencounter, Our team would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy and proud that you had a lovely experience at our restaurant and that you enjoyed the location food and service. We are sorry that an unexpected visitor was so rude as to invite themself to the party, but please rest assure that we do... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made a reservation before we were on island which I would recommend (we went first seating on a Friday - They have 2 seatings: one at 6:00 and the other at 8:30). The maitre'd hooked us up with the best table in the house (semi-private balcony at the far end of the balcony), and then we had an awesome... More 

Helpful?
Thank M00nracer
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear M00nracer, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are very happy and proud to read that you had a great experience at our restaurant and enjoyed everything from your semi-private seating with your wife to your 'unique' dinner. We do hope to be able to welcome you back at our restaurant in the future. With kind regards,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We dropped into the Gouveneur for a quick lunch while walking around Willenstad based on a recommendation from another guest at our resort. It took nearly 1.5 hours to have a "quick" lunch. Service was extremely slow, even by island standards. The food was fair, would not recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Keith D
Chantal_Ersilia, Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Keith D, First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and feedback. We feel very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our restaurant as our aim is always to exceed our guests expectations. We would like to look further into this lunch and the occation that took place with regards to... More 

Travelers who viewed Gouverneur de Rouville also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Gouverneur de Rouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $32
Cuisine
Caribbean, Dutch, European, International
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: De Rouvilleweg 9-F | Otrobanda Waterfront, Willemstad, Curacao
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Curacao  >  Willemstad
  • Phone Number: +599 9 462 5999
Description
Situated directly at the Anna Bay, with a beautiful view over the Handelskade and harbor entrance, you will find restaurant De Gouverneur (the Governor).This stately Curacaoan location you shouldn't miss, welcomes you from early morning to late at night for drinks, lunch and dinner. Lunch is served from 10:00 AM till 4:00 PM, dinner is served from 6:00 PM till 10:30 pm. Apart from their extensive, internationally orientated menu, they serve good local cuisine as well. De Gouverneur's service is a byword for friendliness, and the restaurant is therefore also very popular among st local inhabitants. For ten years now! Open: daily from 10 till midnight Prices: Lunch sandwiches, salads and authentic main courses: USD 13 - USD 22.70 Dinner: Starters USD 14.80, Soups USD 9.60, Main Courses USD 27.45, Desserts USD 9.60

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gouverneur de Rouville and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
East Lyme, Connecticut

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gouverneur de Rouville staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?