We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gouverneur de Rouville

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
De Rouvilleweg 9-F | Otrobanda Waterfront, Willemstad, Curacao
+599 9 462 5999
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 990: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had dinner here one night while on our honeymoon. The food was amazing. The restaurant atmosphere was beautiful. Everyone was soo friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Thank nicolem123456
Alvord, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had lunch and dinner here. Both meals were very good. Good service. Beautiful view from the balcony at night.

Thank Dana C
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great service, well located at Otrobanda, just in from of Punda and the Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge, a relax atmosphere. The food was really good.

Thank Fraymores
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Fraymores, Thank you for providing us with your experience. We appreciate it. Good to know you everything went well during your visit here. We hope to see you back soon. With kind regards, ^Chantal Ersilia More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A lovely restaurant on the water. I must have local cuisine and what I like about this restaurant is they offered a mixture of European Cuisine, Local Cuisine, and French. The prices are moderate to high, yet the cuisine is worth it. I had goat which was done perfectly with their arroz merro -- a local rice and beans. It... More 

Thank Shelley K
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Shelley, Such a lovely review. Thank you, we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy your experience as one of our main goals is to exceed our guests expectations. From your review i can conclude that we scored a 10, which makes us very happy. When our guests are happy we are very... More 

Rozenburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very friendly people, we were too late with our reservation but they managed to get us a table the balcony with a wonderfull view over the water. Food was good but the view makes it worth to visit this restaurant.

Thank djdebruin
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Djdebruin, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. Good to know you had a great time and enjoyed the view. We aim to please. We look forward to your next visit. With kind regards, ^Chantal Ersilia More 

Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great historical place in a modern lifestyle setup with great lunch and dinner at a beautiful location overviewing the turbulent harbor and the typical charming pontoon bridge at Willemstad. Sitting on the front porch or in the nice garden it's all good. Don't forget the bartender to make your favorite cocktail! Just relax and feel the cooling wind while enjoying... More 

Thank arthurvolgers
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Arthur, Thank you for your wonderful remarks and for visiting our restaurant. We really appreciate it. It's nice to know that you appreciate our historical building and enjoyed the food and beverage here. Also that you enjoyed the location and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With kind regards, ^Chantal Ersilia More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We came to Gouverneur to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. Whether you get a table at the balcony, with its exquisite view, at the inner hard, with its cosy and outgoing character, or the inside, with its colonial ambience, the atmosphere is great. All the stuff was extremely helpful, polite and professional. Unfortunately the food didn't lkve up to the hype... More 

Thank Dimitris_SC30
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Dimitris, Thank you for providing us with your feedback as we really appreciate it. Once again happy belated birthday to your girlfriend and great that you chose to spend it with us. However we are sorry that your evening didn't go as expected as a result of your disappointment. This is not the type of experience we want to... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent dinner. They typically take dinner reservations at 6pm and again at 8:30pm. Reserve your spot early in the evening for a nice view of the harbor during sunset. Service was wonderful and everyone was accommodating. Be sure to try their banana soup - it's wonderful!

Thank BillyMac4902
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Billy, Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate it. So great to hear that you had a great time, that you enjoyed your dinner and that we exceeded your expectations as that is one of our goals. With that said we hope to be able to welcome you back soon for another round of excellent "Gouverneur dinner".... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

On my most recent trip to Curacao there were a lot of local foods I wanted to try, and one of them was bitterballen. I had researched where to get the best and De Gouverneur de Rouville was highly recommended but it didn't appear on the menu. I asked and they confirmed that they have them! The bitterballen was great... More 

Thank Bill D
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Hahaha, at de Gouverneur you have the front row seats to the ferry indeed! Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate it. So great to hear that we were recommended and that it turned out to be great from your experience. Nice to know you enjoyed the bitterballen, cocktails and view... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I visited this place on vacation and sat on the upstairs balcony overlooking the waterway across from Willemstad's beautiful waterfront. We enjoyed the food which was reasonably priced for lunch and had an amazing view of the ships passing through canal near the floating bridge. We took the cute ferry back across to the Punda side after... More 

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chantal_Ersilia, General at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it much. We are very proud of our building thus happy that you liked it and enjoyed your time and experience in it. We are also happy that you enjoyed the food and the view from the balcony. We look forward to being able to welcome you back a next time.... More 

Travelers who viewed Gouverneur de Rouville also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao

Been to Gouverneur de Rouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$10 - $32
Caribbean, Dutch, Seafood, European, International
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: De Rouvilleweg 9-F | Otrobanda Waterfront, Willemstad, Curacao
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Curacao  >  Willemstad
  • Phone Number: +599 9 462 5999
Situated directly at the Anna Bay, with a beautiful view over the Handelskade and harbor entrance, you will find restaurant De Gouverneur (the Governor).This stately Curacaoan location you shouldn't miss, welcomes you from early morning to late at night for drinks, lunch and dinner. Lunch is served from 10:00 AM till 4:00 PM, dinner is served from 6:00 PM till 10:30 pm. Apart from their extensive, internationally orientated menu, they serve good local cuisine as well. De Gouverneur's service is a byword for friendliness, and the restaurant is therefore also very popular among st local inhabitants. For ten years now! Open: daily from 10 till midnight Prices: Lunch sandwiches, salads and authentic main courses: USD 13 - USD 22.70 Dinner: Starters USD 14.80, Soups USD 9.60, Main Courses USD 27.45, Desserts USD 9.60

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gouverneur de Rouville and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
East Lyme, Connecticut

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gouverneur de Rouville staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?