We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cafe Taberna

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Calle Mercaderes #531 | esquina Brasil Teniente Rey, Havana, Cuba
5378611637
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 129: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Entertaining evening. Very busy so need to book. We also had the dinner which was 3 course for 20cucs. The food was nice but service lacked a bit due to it being so busy

Helpful?
1 Thank jk_932
comercial2015, Director Comercial at Cafe Taberna, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Un placer saludarle. Nos alegra que haya disfrutado de nuestra cena y espectáculo. La cena no tiene un precio... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

The music show made for tourists is another thing, fun was had by many. However the food and drinks at this restaurant are pricey and terrible, the young female staff confused and abused by the male bosses, the cooking staff upset much of the time - and the door staff gangster like. The ambience is heavy and the employees unhappy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny406
comercial2015, Director Comercial at Cafe Taberna, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Amiga: Agradecerle su válida opinión, aunque deseamos hacerle una aclaración. Nuestro personal de servicio no presenta disgustos entre ellos... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

We visited Cafe Taberna for dinner and a show with the Buena Vista Social Club. Food was reasonable, service was friendly and attentive but none of this mattered because the show was so much fun. It was impossible to sit down when the band got going. The music was fantastic and the band members so obviously love what they do.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo K
comercial2015, Director Comercial at Cafe Taberna, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola: Muchas Gracias por su opinión. Realmente nuestros músicos se divierten con lo que hacen y es un privilegio para... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

After reading some of the poor reviews on the meal we ate somewhere nearby and turned up 15 mins before the show started. We were seated at the table we chose when we dropped in to book our tickets earlier in the day. There were 3 larger tables in front of us. Each with a tour group, the rest were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SouthPacificTravellr
comercial2015, Director Comercial at Cafe Taberna, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Amig@: Un placer saludarle. Nos alegra haya catalogado nuestro restaurante como un buen sitio para pasar una excelente noche.... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

My boyfriend and j are seasoned travellers, I mean travellers, not vacationers, so we were excited to go to this show and treat ourselves for a night of talent. What we got for a gimmick designed for tourists. There were a few songs at the beginning that were good and seemed to be "classics". We were seated in a row... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jusenlijska
comercial2015, Director Comercial at Cafe Taberna, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Amig@: Un placer saludarla. Es cierto que existen en el mundo espectáculos similares al nuestro, pero lo que nos... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

Located by Plaza Vieja, this spacious restaurant will definitely offer you an excellent eating experience: a break from Tropical heat and the best Cuban traditional music in the area! In the evening, many Buena Vista Social Club tradition followers will put the traveler to dance to the most famed Cuban Rhythms!

Helpful?
Thank TourGuide-Manager
comercial2015, Director Comercial at Cafe Taberna, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Amigo: Muchas Gracias por su opinión, será un orgullo para nosotros recibirlo nuevamente. Saludos More 

Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We were on a group trip in Cuba and some members of the group said they got tickets for the Buenos vista social club. We were a bit hesitant as we heard that its quite often not the real deal. So we went to Cafe Taberna first to check it out, and it just looked very nice, so we also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank john m m
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Cuba is a wonderful place but sadly our experience here was very scary. We politely declined to go in as we had eaten and were shouted at by the door staff and then they started following us down the road until for a short period. Not pleasant at all I think best avoided

Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

We were told to come and watch buena vista here... Food was not impressive at all, the concert was quite a spectacle for dancing which was not at all what we were expecting. I won't ever go back here... Music is great at Casa de la musica both in Havana and miramar

Helpful?
Thank moalbuquerque
London, England
Level Contributor
209 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Music was jaded with artistes seemingly just going through the paces . Band members were even texting on their phones mid performances! The " free" mojitos ,are, of course, not free so way are they progressively watered down over the evening ending up tasting like weak sugar syrup. Disappointing and a travesty of the "real thing" Bring back Ry Cooder... More 

Helpful?
Thank yanhLondon_England

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taberna also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Cafe Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Caribbean, Latin, Cuban, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Calle Mercaderes #531 | esquina Brasil Teniente Rey, Havana, Cuba
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Cuba  >  Ciudad de la Habana Province  >  Havana
  • Phone Number: 5378611637

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cafe Taberna and other visitors
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Taberna staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?