We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 2/21
8:00 PM
About
pureocean restaurants are the epitome of Caribbean beachside dining. As the signature brand of restaurants at Divi Resorts, the vacation experts of the Caribbean, pureocean promises and delivers culinary excellence and stunning Caribbean ambiance — as well as sweeping, unforgettable views. Located at the Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort, pureocean on Aruba sits on one of the most beautiful and romantic spots on the island. Famous for its sunsets and guests that "pop the question," this incredible spot twinkles by night among the sound of the waves and musical entertainment.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
American, Caribbean, Seafood, International
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront, Beach
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveler rating
287
135
63
39
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
287
135
63
39
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops mac cheese pork chop seafood sea bass salad pure ocean divi phoenix beautiful sunset sunset dinner on the beach toes in the sand beach dining our waiter great dinner romantic setting an appetizer aruba
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our mistake! We thought we would dine on the beach for a sunset dinner on our anniversary. We have dined at Pure Ocean previously when staying st Divi Phoenix. This time we taxied in. Not again!! On the beach for a sunset evening they placed...s foursome with newborn a bit before the sun was to set. Then the foursome (,,plus 1) had the picture taken buy their clueless waiter right in front of our sunset view. Get a clue!! So we asked to move OUR table off the beach. Not Mr & Mrs clueless. Then our previously ordered appies arrived and were tasty. BUT then our dinner arrived. I had ordered the cowboy steak medium rare. My wife ordered the salmon. Her's was fine, mine was a well done steak. Yikes. God was testing me and I did not do well. A "manager " of some sort offered to adjust the bill. Well her adjustment meant take off the steak that I didn't eat. Thank you very much. For nothing!!! Perhaps that's why there were so many empty tables.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear dtpaer1, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations especially on your anniversary. After reading your review on OpenTable as well, we would like to point out that our...More

Reviewed January 13, 2024

This was the perfect venue for a sunset beach dinner. The food and drink were delicious, such a romantic setting, and Eduardo was THE BEST server. He helped capture the beauty of the evening, offering to take photos for us throughout service. His attention to...detail made this the perfect evening.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear J2032GXshawnm, It's truly wonderful to hear that the venue, delicious food, and drinks contributed to the magic of the evening. We take great pride in creating memorable moments for our guests, and your positive comments are deeply appreciated. Kind Regards

Reviewed December 27, 2023 via mobile

Dec2023: 5⭐: I would recommend this location and the work crew here. I stopped by this location as a return visit. We enjoyed a large reception dinner for our wedding at this location several years earlier. We decided to eat breakfast on Christmas Day here...at the restaurant which we enjoyed several years earlier. The work crew was great. Our food came out hot and fresh.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2024

Dear mcdanielh2018, It is great to hear that you had a positive experience during your recent visit to the hotel, especially considering your previous connection to the location for your wedding. Excellent customer service and a positive dining experience can significantly contribute to the overall...More

Reviewed November 24, 2023 via mobile

Bethelie Peter was excellent very informative and very helpful with everything. The service was excellent and gave suggestions for information about the island. I cannot say how helpful she was!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2023

Dear Janet W, We are glad to hear that Bethelie Peter provided you with excellent service and was informative and helpful during your time in Aruba. It is always wonderful to encounter staff who go above and beyond to enhance the guest experience. Looking forward...More

Reviewed November 15, 2023 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because it was close and easy. It was our last night in Aruba at the Divi Phoenix. I knew the ambience would be great. It’s right on the water, and the reservation was right before sunset. When we arrived there were...two other couples in the restaurant. We were greeted and asked where we would like to sit. We were promptly served water, and asked if we wanted additional drinks. Our servers name was Kareem. I noticed he was the only server that did not have is shirt tucked. I asked him about the Spinach Artichoke Dip, and he said he had never tried it. I asked him for an appetizer recommendation and we picked the ceviche. He asked for entire order, and I said we did not want everything brought at once so we would order as he brought our courses. He snipped that he knew how to make that happen and not to worry. The ceviche was good. It was not over the top , but it was still good. We ordered seafood corn chowder, and Capressa. They were tasty. Then here’s where things went downhill. We ordered the Salmon and the Grouper with Asparagus as our sides. As we waited patiently, and watched other tables get served, one of the server helper’s delivered a cold dish of asparagus to our table with no entrees. Our server Kareem passed our table several times and did not stop to see if things were good. I alerted the server that the asparagus was cold. The manager came to our table with the cold asparagus and no entrees. We waited another 15 minutes still no entrees. At that point I asked for the check. The issue with Kareem is a training issue, and I recommend it be addressed so it minimizes the chance of this happening again. To the manager if the guest says the asparagus is cold make it right or refund the guest. Entrees need to be delivered too the table with sides hot and ready to go.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2023

Dear Ivan R, We appreciate you sharing your detailed experience, and we are sorry to hear about the challenges you faced during your dining experience at Pure ocean. It sounds like there were issues with service and the timing of your dishes, which can certainly...More

Reviewed November 12, 2023 via mobile

Had high hopes for Pureocean give. We were staying at the Divi Phoenix resort and the restaurant was recommended by a friend. Dining beachfront was beautiful but the chicken dinner was overcooked and dry, NY strip was a terrible tough cut, and the 22oz pork...chop was 8oz tops. We were in Aruba Tuesday-Sunday and this was the only restaurant where the food was disappointing. Plenty of other options on the island with better food and less expensive.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2023

Dear isle96, Thank you for sharing your experience, and choosing the Pure Ocean restaurant. We are sorry to hear that your dining experience at Pureocean did not meet your expectations. On positive note we are glad to hear that the beach front location of the...More

Reviewed October 23, 2023 via mobile

Nice, friendly staff, beautiful atmosphere but that's the only thing this place has going for it. Drinks weren't great, couldn't even finish the one drink that I had as it wasn't great; food was just OK, the service was painstakingly SLOW. Don't go if you're...starving.....go if you're looking for an outdoor dinner on the beach and you're in absolutely NO rush. The entertainment was quite nice.....they had a 2 person band playing some lovely music.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2023

Dear Wendy D, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the nice and friendly staff, beautiful atmosphere, and the pleasant entertainment. However, we are sorry to hear that the drinks and food did not meet...More

Reviewed September 16, 2023

Our first night on the island we went for a stroll up the beach and stumbled upon some brightly colored Adirondack chairs. So we sat down to watch the sunset when a waiter, Oscar, suddenly appeared offering us cocktails! What a pleasant surprise. He introduced...us to the Aruba Ariba which we sipped while watching a spectacular sunset. We decided to stay for dinner and to our surprise found several wonderful vegetarian options to choose from. The stuffed portobello mushroom was especially delicious. We enjoyed a leisurely dinner with the ocean water just a few yards away. This restaurant really is the iconic Caribbean experience we were hoping to have!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2023

Dear LabsRock, It sounds like you had a truly magical evening at the Divi Phoenix resort in Aruba! Stumbling upon those brightly colored Adirondack chairs and then being offered cocktails by the waiter, Oscar, must have felt like a delightful surprise. Watching a spectacular sunset...More

Reviewed August 30, 2023 via mobile

The perfect way to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The setting, the incredible food, the sunset - all amazing. Special thanks to our waiter, Oscar, who was incredibly kind - we truly enjoyed talking with him and making it feel more personal. We enjoyed complimentary Prosecco...and dessert for our anniversary. Highly recommend an evening here!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2023

Dear robandemilya, Congratulations on your 20th anniversary! It sounds like you celebrated this special occasion in the perfect way at the Divi Phoenix resort in Aruba. A beautiful setting, incredible food, and a breathtaking sunset all combined to create a memorable experience. It is wonderful...More

Reviewed August 17, 2023 via mobile

Spectacular! For our 20th Anniversary, we spent a few blissful days and nights in Aruba at the Divi Phoenix. To cap off our trip, we booked a 6:30 pm reservation (30 minutes before sunset) at Pureocean. From our hostess to our server, Karim, we had...an amazing, almost fairy-tale like experience. Adirondack style chairs in the sand with an absolutely incredible view of azure Aruba water 30 feet away and swaying palm trees made the ambience almost dream-like. We couldn’t believe the warm trade winds and the silver-gold sunset over tranquil glittering Caribbean waters greeting us as we sipped our pre-dinner mojito and Cosmo. Oh, and the food was delicious. Pan seared grouper, Ahi tuna, a beautiful veal chop, succulent crab cakes and super friendly and attentive service from everyone, especially Karim, made this an incredible meal we won’t forget. Tips: wear sandals or shoes you can take off to enjoy the beach. Upscale casual is the vibe. The menu and prices for the insanely beautiful on-the-beach ambience are not bad at all, considering what we pay on the East Coast for a lot less. Truly an enjoyable and memorable night!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2023

Dear Jimmc299012, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Pure Ocean Restaurant. The use of the words "Spectacular" and "Amazing" immediately set the tone for your outstanding experience. The appreciation for the warm trade winds, the stunning sunset, and the tranquil...More

Reviewed August 7, 2023 via mobile

Aim to get there about 30 minutes before sunset. The views out to see as the sun goes down are phenomenal. Worth a 12 hour flight from Europe alone. Food was on the pricy side but about right for Aruba.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2023

Dear Stephen G, Thank you for sharing for feedback about your experience at Pure Ocean. It is wonderful that the views of the sun setting over the sea left a phenomenal impression on you. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards

Reviewed July 20, 2023 via mobile

This restaurant was amazing! It’s beautiful on the beach. Great food and drinks! Our waiter was fantastic! They even gave us a free desert for our anniversary made it such a special night! Can’t wait to go back again!❤️👏🏻🥂🇦🇼More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2023

Dear kelrdh7, Happy 2 years anniversary, we are thrilled to have been a pat of such a special celebration with you and your #1. Thank you for choosing the Pure Ocean to make your anniversary memorable. We're glad you enjoyed the complimentary dessert we prepared...More

Reviewed June 26, 2023

I want to start this review giving a shout out to the Waiter who took great care of us "Oscar", one-of-a-kind Service which makes me to come back, he made sure to fulfilled every detail to create an unforgettable dining experience, and not forgetting the...exquisite menu that this restaurant offers, thanks PureOcean Team to make this experience memorable, WILL BE BACK!!!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2023

Dear Andreferdinant978, It sounds like you had an amazing dining experience at Pure Ocean in Aruba! The excellent service provided by your waiter, Oscar, truly made a difference and contributed to your unforgettable dining experience. It's always a pleasure to be taken care of by...More

Reviewed June 21, 2023

Excellent service and food, from the beginning to the end!! Our server Eduardo was excellent and Emily the supervisor was very attentive to all visitors. Tremedous team keep up the good job!!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2023

Dear JonaM22, It's delightful to hear that you had an excellent experience at the restaurant from the beginning to the end! The combination of excellent service and delicious food can truly make a dining experience memorable. I'm glad to know that your server Eduardo, and...More

Reviewed June 18, 2023

We were initially seated at a table off to the side, but when a front row table opened up a few minutes later, we asked and were accommodated with moving to that table. Sorry to say PureOcean seems to have gone downhill in recent years....We experienced a number of unforced service errors, which made us wonder, just how much training or supervision the staff receives. We ordered 2 shrimp cocktails, but initially only one came. We ordered risotto as a side and got mashed potatoes instead. Then, once our waiter brought the risotto, we were almost sorry — it was far from our concept of risotto — essentially rice with a lot of cheese on it. On the positive side, the shrimp cocktail was delicious, although it was served in a plain white bowl, a step down from last year’s fancy glass goblet. We did both enjoy our grouper entrees. PureOcean does provide an intimate toes-in-the-sand dining setting. It was not busy the evening we were there, which enhanced our feeling of dining alone on the beach.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Divi Resorts, Owner at Pureocean, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2023

Dear mbotos, Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent visit at Pure Ocean Restaurant. We apologize for the initial seating arrangement and any confusion it may have caused. However, we are glad to hear that our staff accommodated your request to move to a...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
3,291 reviews
.09 miles away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Aruba Resort
147 reviews
.16 miles away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
5,531 reviews
.30 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott Aruba Resort
272 reviews
.38 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Po-Ke Ono Aruba
610 reviews
.35 miles away
The Kitchen Table
971 reviews
.23 miles away
Craft Aruba
809 reviews
.60 miles away
Infini by Urvin Croes
290 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Butterfly Farm
3,236 reviews
.18 miles away
Divi Tree
26 reviews
.64 miles away
The Casino Aruba at Hilton
265 reviews
.64 miles away
Old Dutch Windmill
314 reviews
.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joecool0613
January 18, 2023|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Divi R | Property representative |
Pureocean on Aruba is currently open Thursday - Monday fro, 5:30pm - 9pm. They have live music Friday and Saturday from 6-9pm
1
Vote
Trail46278584657
October 27, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from T. L. B | Reviewed this property |
Yes, Pure Ocean has live music nightly & Pure Beach has karaoke almost nightly. You will not be disappointed with either.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PUREOCEAN, Palm - Eagle Beach - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pureocean

Yes, Pureocean is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Pureocean is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5