We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Papillon Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
J.E. Irausquin Blvd. 348 A | The Village, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

960 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 818: English reviews
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

ate here with my husband to celebrate our 15th anniversary. It was delicious! It's located in a busy area so a bit loud when sitting outside but it didn't bother us.

Thank memurphy6
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were just here last week. I had a seafood dish with salmon, mahi & roasted tomatoes with artichokes. My husband had snapper. The food & service was outstanding!

Thank Patricia C
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The service was not great. It took forever to get our dinner. As a matter of fact, we were getting up to leave when our dinner finally arrived. They said they forgot to put in the order which was odd because they were not at all crowded. We probably would not eat there again.

Thank Sue D
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an excellent meal at Papillion. I had the Boeuf Bourguignon which was absolutely delicious. The service at time was slow and they ran out of several of the beer selections but overall a great experience.

Thank Michael E
Washingtonville, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have been here twice. Both times the food is OK (bland) and not worth the money. Service is good. Atmosphere is nice. Food is very average

Thank Paul S
Noord, Aruba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a fantastic dinner. Our server was Marieke, and she provided wonderful service. It took me a full week to talk my husband into trying this restaurant, and he was sorry we waited so long because we would have eaten here twice.

Thank klwagner82
Tina R, Manager at Papillon Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service Marieke provided, we are happy to have her in our team and most of all we are happy you enjoyed dining with us and you did not had to disappoint your husband after talking him in ;) We look forward serving you again! Friendly regards, The... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything we had here was amazing. I have been to France many times and the chef here sticks to the traditional which amounts to an amazing food experience! Our only disappointment was there were out of the boar which we really wanted to try. The olive tampanade to the Caesar salad was both out of this world.. I mean who... More 

Thank Suzanne M
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had to wait far too long for our meals to arrive, well over an hour - fair play when the main course arrived the salmon was lovely but unfortunately it was rather spoilt by the very long wait We wouldn't return simply because of the slow service

Thank curzonparkboy
Leila P, Public Relations Manager at Papillon Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Curzonparkboy, Thank you for visiting Papillon Restaurant and taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. Even though our restaurant tends to be busy every now and then, this is no excuse for the long wait you experienced. We strive to offer all our guests great food and service and... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We weren't sure if French restaurants would be any good considering that Aruba is a Dutch territory but PApillon is outstanding. Every dish we ordered was delicious and service was great. Reasonably priced it is well worth the visit.

Thank Maxz007
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I had dinner at Papillon and took advantage of the early bird special. The food was good (the main dish portion was rather small). The selection was pretty limited for the early bird menu. A glass of house wine was included. The wine was good. The service was very friendly and attentive. We had a good dining... More 

Thank Ruediger S

Travelers who viewed Papillon Restaurant also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba

Been to Papillon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $36
French, Caribbean, European
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. 348 A | The Village, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Aruba  >  Palm - Eagle Beach
  • Phone Number: +297-586-5400
Henri Charrière, one of the world’s most famous prisoners, would surely have had the time of his life at Papillon Restaurant in The Village, across from the Radisson Resort. Nicknamed Papillon because of the butterfly tattoo on his chest, he was the first convict to escape from Devil’s Island. Charrière’s thrilling, gripping autobiography has been the concept behind Papillon Restaurant.Papillon Restaurant’s menu reflects the Frenchman’s arduous journey to freedom: classic French dishes have been dusted with daring Caribbean flair and are a culinary journey for your taste buds. The spacious outside terrace is perfect for casual fine dining or one may enjoy the air-conditioned inside dining space.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Papillon Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Monroe, Ohio
1 month ago
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Papillon Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?