We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Churchill Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Daggons Road | Fordingbridge, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
+44 1425 652147
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in to the Churchill once we had finished putting out tent up at the local campsite in the rain. We came here on a previous camping trip last year and again we were not disappointed. We were welcomed by an attentive member of staff who although seemed appeared busy serving other guests made sure she welcomed us. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah P
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Leah, for taking the time to write your great review. I will be passing your praise on to the team as they have all done me proud. We look forward to seeing you again before you go home. Thank you once again for your feedback More 

Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Country pub feel with a warm welcome, friendly service and nice food but let down by confusion over what menu items are actually available and running out of Pinot.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy8558
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much Wendy for taking the time to write your review. I have passed your feedback on to the team, as it seems in general they have done an excellent job but some of the new staff need a little more training. I am also sorry we ran out of Pinot Grigio as I know none of the... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very lovely welcoming pub, food was great apart from chicken burgers a bit dry with no dressing or salad. Would definitely return of in area again.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank JOANNA979
TheChuchillArms, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our pub. When you visit again please do not hesitate to ask for salad or dressing to accompany your chicken burger, we are more than happy to addvthis for you. Thank you again for your feedback! More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food average very expensive for wat u get . Service very slow and the waitress spilt gravy on my trousers wen she put the dinner on the table. And they missed a pudding off the order . Won't be going back

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank very much for writing your review Lorraine. Both our waitresses at the moment are new and young, so I apologise for the spillage and I will pass on your comments so that we can continue to develop them for the future. I'm also sorry that your pudding was missed of your order, I'm hoping you mentioned this to the... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very poor food. Beer had to be sent back it was flat. No comment re value for money. Won't be going back!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank michaelkN2431XE
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, Very sorry you didn't like what we had to offer. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with family and was pleasantly surprised at the food on offer. A very good menu and massive portions. The bar staff were a little off hand but it was busy so that can be forgiven but a smile goes a long way! ( not a dig- just an observation on a busy evening) Waitresses were attentive and... More 

Helpful?
Thank countrybumpkin16
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review your feedback is very much appreciated. I have passed your comments on to the team, sometimes with new staff when they're concentrating they forget to smile so I will pass on the observation. Thank you once again More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are Locals and decided to go to the Churchill Arms with my family for a meal after having not so good an experience a few months ago Tanya the landlady gave us a very generous credit note , so after hearing rave reviews , I thought we would give it a try Wow what a difference the menu was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review Christine. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your return visit. Your feedback has been passed on to the team and we really appreciate your comments on the menu. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you once again More 

Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

food was good BUT I ordered the 2 course lunch, the portion size was child size not quite as described on the menu. disappointed

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank arthurcopeland
TheChuchillArms, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much Arthur for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry you feel dissappointed with our 2 course lunch for £7.50, it is designed for the lighter appetite so it is half our usual size portion. Not designed for the very hungry. Thank you once again More 

Fordingbridge, Hants
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good quality pub food - with a few interesting surprises, cooked well and reasonably priced. Staff are attentive but not overbearing, the beer is good too! Small children's play area and garden to catch a few rays (lol!)

Helpful?
Thank snowangel13
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I have passed your feedback to the team as it's great for the youngsters to know when they are getting it right. Hopefully we will be expanding our small play fort very soon!! Thank you again More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant pub, staff always available to help and sort any issues. Great range of food and drinks available for a decent price. Portion sizes are great and always filling. Puddings are absolutely to die for!! There are a range of offers and 'nights' on through the week that are specially priced. Came on a Wednesday and got a pint for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jgb96
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your great review. Samantha will be very please that you like her puddings! Your feedback will be very welcomed by the team when I pass it on to them. Thank you once again More 

Travelers who viewed The Churchill Arms also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Daggons Road | Fordingbridge, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Alderholt
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 652147
Description
Famillies, Muddy Boots & dogs with well behaved owners
are all most welcome.

Quality home-cooked food using Local Produce,
served alongside Hall & Woodhouse's Distinctive
cask-conditioned ales and superb wines accompanied
by the warmest welcome.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Churchill Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?