We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Churchill Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Daggons Road | Fordingbridge, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
+44 1425 652147
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in near by campsite and popped in for a meal midrange priced so was expecting a nice wholesome meal what hi got was very poor I had fish and chips very small with less than a child's portion of fish insidewhicn was fried to a crisp and dry , my wife had macaroni cheese which was just cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The Churchill Arms is only a 20 minute walk through woodland from Hill Cottage Farm, caravan and camping park. We visited the pub nearly everyday of our two week stay and were made to feel extremely welcome, the food was well presented and always hot, the staff always checked back to ensure everything was okay and if they could get... More 

Helpful?
Thank David and Sarn
Tanya W, Shift Leader at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you, David and Sarn, for spending the time writing this lovely review. I'm glad to hear that you felt welcome. I hope you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again next time you stay. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team. Thank you once again. S.Davis More 

Alderholt, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good range of snacks and meals at lunchtime and evenings. Priced to suit all tastes. Real ales on draught. Friendly service from the bar staff and those who serve the food to your table. Accommodated my request to have bottled Fursty Ferret unchilled. Landlady (Tanya) who works tirelessly to satisfy her customers, and to ensure her staff provide the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonkar50
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing your lovely review. Hope you are looking forward to the Ferret season! coming soon. I will be passing your feedback on to the rest of the team as appreciation is always welcome. Thank you once again More 

Alderholt, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We eat here usually once a week. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the food is always nice. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Sue H
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Sue for taking the time to share you thoughts on tripadvisor. I have also passed on your feedback to the staff. Thank you once again More 

Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant food and a great choice with a varied specials board as well as the standard menu. Good value. Table service and the Staff were very friendly, nothing was to much trouble. Dog and family friendly. Highly recommend the tanglefoot. Will be back very soon.

Helpful?
Thank RACJS
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Churchill is very much appreciated especially when your comments are so positive. I will be passing on your comments to the team who will be getting that well deserved pat on the back. Thank you once again for your feedback! More 

Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went when it was not busy - several menu items were unavailable, even standard choices, and what eventually came was rubbish. This place should be thriving but it's just shabbily run with absolutely no passion at all.

Helpful?
Thank Rob P
TheChuchillArms, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Rob for taking the time to write your review, i am sorry you feel this way about our village pub. I will pass your comments on to the team and we will endeavour to improve for the future. Thank you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently visited with the family and the pub is baby friendly with excellent changing facilities. We had a burger and it was delicious you could tell it was homemade and really good value for money. We have visited again and had steak which came out sizzling and was cooked to perfection.

Helpful?
Thank Boltoncal
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I have passed on your praise to the team. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again More 

VERWOOD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I have had breakfast here on numerous occasions. The last couple of times the cooked breakfast has been taken over by baked beans. 1 sausage, I overcooked rasher bacon and the coffee tasted like some sort of supermarket saver stuff. Very disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Paulinej1962
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline for taking the time to write your review. Very sorry you've not been happy with your breakfast lately. We are quite happy for you to substitute your complimentary instant coffee with breakfast for the ground coffee alternative. But I'm afraid that would increase the £5.25 you pay at the present quite significantly. Your other feedback has also... More 

dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great place for friends and families. Good was delicious service was great. Would return without any hesitation x

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank hms2201
Tanya W, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I will pass your compliments on to the team and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you again. More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Food was poorly prepared, soup was a thick glue and so salty I had to send it back. Fish Pie (Specials board) was dry lasagne was cold and badly reheated ! Even the ice cream was cheap and icy ! Guest beer was good ! But not going back. (£60 ! Family of 5)

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Zeb A
TheChuchillArms, Owner at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and your feedback is very important so I have passed on your comments to the team. Very sorry you didn't enjoy your meals we shall endeavour to make the improvements you have pointed out in future. Thank you again More 

Travelers who viewed The Churchill Arms also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Daggons Road | Fordingbridge, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Alderholt
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 652147
Description
Famillies, Muddy Boots & dogs with well behaved owners
are all most welcome.

Quality home-cooked food using Local Produce,
served alongside Hall & Woodhouse's Distinctive
cask-conditioned ales and superb wines accompanied
by the warmest welcome.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Churchill Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?