We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$
Bar, International, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
682 22166
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We had an excellent night for the bbq night. Staff were very friendly, music was easy listening and food was very tasty. Would definitely go again

Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff, amazing location! Food was quite western, i.e butter chicken, lasagne, chilli con carne- but yummy. They happily provided a fruit platter for my travel companion who couldn't eat anything on the menu. Definitely worth checking out- incredible setting!

Helpful?
Thank Michalla1
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review, very happy that you enjoyed our little beach bar. I agree, incredible setting. Hope to see you again soon. Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had just arrived in Aroa area and wanted somewhere to walk to for dinner. Called up the Aroa Beachside (Shipwreck) late afternoon and enquired about the BBQ night and were told our family with 2 kids would be very welcome. We walked along the beach until we saw the Shipwreck Hut. We were made to feel extremely welcome. Unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank HAPDAZ
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your awesome review, very happy that you enjoyed our Saturday BBQ night. You are welcome back anytime, hope to see you soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the first eating experience on the island that was a disappointment. The menu consisted of 6 items and none of them were local. Butter chicken from a packet, chili con carne. May the Saturday BBQ is better but I wouldn't return during any other day. Drinks were expensive as well.

Helpful?
Thank MsBesos
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Sorry that you didn't enjoy your eating experience at the Shipwreck Hut. As I constantly point out, we are a Beach Bar not a restaurant, we do not claim to be a restaurant (no other categories available on TripAdvisor), just a small beach bar with a small kitchen. All our food is "home... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleased to see they have kept the "jam jar"cocktails. Really friendly service. Stunning location on Aroa beach - just beautiful at sunset.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Burton
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Cheryl, Thank you for your great review. Very pleased that you enjoyed our little beach bar. Hope to see you again. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If staying to eat try the seafood chowder. They do have vegetarian lasagna which was pretty good. The drinks are pretty good too!

Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana Melissa, Thank you so much for your great review. The seafood chowder is also one of my favourites. Very pleased that you loved our awesome little beach bar. Hope to see you soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located at the beach this is simply the best location on Rarotonga for sunset. Great cocktails, wine an beer. Have been there a few times, always amazing views. Simply relax and enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter5803
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you so much for your awesome review, glad that you enjoyed the hospitality of our little beach bar. I agree (of course) a fantastic place to relax and enjoy. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Perth
Level Contributor
240 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This bar oozes character and allows children (adult only resort) in the bar area but there is no childrens menu and the food at best can only be call 'home cooked' rather than chef prepared. Quite adequate but probably the worst meal we had on the island

Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Pleased that you enjoyed the character and atmosphere of our beach bar. Just to point out, we are not a restaurant, we are a beach bar. We do not pretend to be a restaurant and we will never be a restaurant. If you want "chef prepared" food then I suggest that you go... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for the Saturday night beach BBQ. The music that night was none other than Jake Numunga, who also plays his ukulele at the airport for all arrivals and departures. The BBQ was very good, a selection of chicken, fish, corn and salads. Seating is all outside, over looking the beach. Steve Marson is an excellent host along with... More 

Helpful?
Thank E N
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your awesome review and your comments about my hosting are very much appreciated. Very happy that you enjoyed the BBQ with the legendary Jake Numanga. Hope to see you back again. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have left my main review on the Aro'a Beachside Inn page so will keep this brief but it still deserves a positive review. Steve, Geraldine and all staff are as fantastic as this great little beach bar itself. Island bbq night is amazing and great value for money. Would like to see drink prices dropped or perhaps a Happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robbo_drummer
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Very happy that you enjoyed our awesome little beach bar. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Steve, Geraldine and the A Team. More 

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $11
Cuisine
Bar, International, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: 682 22166
Description
The Shipwreck Hut is an authentic beach bar situated right on the sand at the Aro'a Beachside Inn. Perfectly positioned to enjoy sunsets that are the envy of the South Pacific while sipping one of the famous "jam-jar cocktails". We also offer cold beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and "home cooked" bar meals. We serve our bar meals from 5:00pm until 8:00pm (but not on BBQ nights). Saturday - Beach BBQ 6:00pm with live music. Tuesday - Live music 6:00pm to 8:00pm Thursday - Live music "Sunset Cocktails" 5:30pm to 7:30pm. Exactly what you would expect from a fun loving beach bar in the South Pacific.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?