We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ship Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Sun 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 423: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stunning location, great tasting tea and an overall friendly atmosphere in the outside seating. However the tables were very dirty and not too child friendly.

Thank BRM123
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Delightful Lunch Venue but no longer a Pub Lunch as opposed to a seaside village Restaurant with smart surroundings, lovely menu but £14 for Fish & Chips in Elie - not sure. Plenty other Fife Coast options. Lunch for 2 came in at £43 (bottle wine, one course each and coffee).

Thank Alan S
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Popped down for a bite to eat. Even at 17.00 on a Tuesday( school holidays though) place was busy. We managed to get a table in the bar and had a lovely plate of Fish & Chips. Food was really good and served up really quickly. It wasn't a very warm day and although they have fires non were lit... More 

Thank Neil E
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

First class meal and service in a great location and atmosphere. We all had fish which was fresh and excellent.

Thank Rob M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

On a recent holiday to Elie my family & I enjoyed a delicious meal at the Ship Inn. The food was top class with a huge portion of fish & chips and my daughters burger was the best she'd ever eaten. Sarah served us & she was very friendly & efficient...all was almost perfect.. but the spotlights make it too... More 

Thank Jane Em S
RachelBucknall, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jane Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit to The Ship Inn. Sarah will be delighted to get a mention - she is a great member of staff with a wonderful smile! The kitchen will also be delighted with our comments about... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat a nice lunch before a relaxing walk with our dog. It took us ages to decide where to go because choices are pretty limited when you have both a baby and a dog. We finally found The Ship Inn which sounds good but there were a few bad (unjust) reviews on Trip... More 

Thank Thecatsmeow5
RachelBucknall, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that you persevered, regardless of trip advisor reviews. I hope that lots of other potential customers read your review and take your advice. I will pass your lovely comments on to Grace who I know will be delighted. She is a great asset to our business. It... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have repeatedly visited the ship inn since it was taken over and have never been disappointed, and a big 10 out of 10 to the established staff who are friendly helpful and courteous. already looking forward to my next visit.

Thank venusinblue
RachelBucknall, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we also look forward to your next visit. With best wishes Rachel Bucknall More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This restaurant/pub has been refurbished and has much improved. We have been there 3 times since its refurbishment. There are 3 eating areas one with a good view from the first floor restaurant. The pub also accommodates dogs. I usually eat the haddock but decided to try something different. I ordered omelette with salad as what can go wrong with... More 

Thank RankinO
RachelBucknall, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I am obviously disappointed to read it. i am afraid that I don't agree with you regarding the staff, and I am delighted that most of our customers don't either. Our staff work extremely hard and are very friendly. If you choose to sit in the bar you will be aware that there is... More 

Barrowford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Disappointed on this visit. We have previously enjoyed both eating and drinking at the ship but unfortunately on this occasion the food and some of the service fell a little short. The meal was overpriced and small portions and some of the meal poorly cooked. The soufflé was only warm and had cold spots within it and the steak was... More 

2 Thank 633Steve_579
RachelBucknall, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although I am very disappointed to read it. The soufflé is not a hot soufflé, and is served warm, as it was to you. it is our most popular dish but was perhaps not what you were expecting. Some people have different views on a medium rare steak, and how rare it is. If you... More 

Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Ship Inn twice in our weekend visit to Elie. We had drinks outside on the beachfront terrace watching the kite surfers, a little windy but very pleasant. We returned the next day for lunch. We hadn't booked but they were able to get us a table within half an hour. Amazing food all round (fish and chips,... More 

1 Thank WanderingHansB544

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed


Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  Elie
  • Phone Number: 441333330246
The Ship Inn at Elie in Fife has long been one of Scotland's most iconic pubs, famous for its great views, stunning location, and even as the only pub in the world to have a cricket team with a pitch on the beach. The owners, Graham and Rachel Bucknall, who also run the Bridge Inn at Ratho (named as AA Pub of the Year in September 2014) purchased the Ship Inn, a pub they both knew very well, in late 2014. After a major 6-month renovation programme, they re-opened a transformed Ship Inn in the summer of 2015. 6 beautiful bedrooms were opened in March 2016. The inn is part of a row of old cottages by the harbour. At its heart is the bar where the comfy chairs and sofas beside the open fires and wood-burning stoves make a welcome sight, especially when it's windy and rainy outside. You are more than welcome just to call in for a coffee, but it's worth stopping longer for a pint, a whisky or a meal in the upstairs restaurant with its views of the bay. The same menu is offered throughout the inn - and if you have your dog with you, he or she is very welcome to join you downstairs - water, treats and even dog beds are provided. The food is of the hearty pub variety, but seafood, locally caught, is high on the menu. Graham and Rachel have also created delightful double and twin bedrooms, all with views of Elie Bay and the Firth of Forth. The Ship Inn is unique in the fact that it has the only cricket team in the UK that plays matches on the beach. From May to September, depending on the tide and after the sand has been rolled flat, the Ship's team hosts matches for other Scottish teams and touring teams from all over the world.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Ship Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Angus, Scotland
24 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?