We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Found on the "lost island" of Perdido Key, Florida, The Crab Trap, Perdido is a funky, fun, fishhouse on the Gulf of Mexico. With a boardwalk leading directly down to the sparkling white sand and crystal clear water, The Crab Trap is a great spot for a casual lunch, intimate night out or a family day on the water. Easy parking, a huge playground, and a special menu designed just for kids make The Crab Trap, Perdido the perfect spot for the whole family. Daily specials like Bay Scallops and Blackened Mahi Mahi and favorites such as Blue Crab Claws and Crab Cakes make it easy to satisfy everyone in your party. Rustic, Florida decor, beautiful views of the Gulf and fantastic food and service will
PRICE RANGE
$9 - $28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Beach, Playgrounds
Reviews (1,334)
Filter reviews
1,334 results
Traveler rating
629
348
204
90
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
629
348
204
90
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab dip seafood hush puppies amberjack corn on the cob mahi rice potatoes snow crab salad steak scallops shrimp po boy perdido key our waiter food was great an appetizer
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ordered takeout and was disappointed for several reasons. They were out of sirloin, the grilled shrimp skewers were very spicy along with the rice and collard greens- too spicy to really enjoy and not described as such on the menu. I waited for a while...for the food, which is not uncommon but also watched families arrive to the restaurant without being greeted for several minutes and then leave without having been approached by the host. 3 too spicy shrimp skewer meals and a po boy sandwich for over $100 (with tip) is just too much. On top of this the restaurant appeared to have minimal (if any) covid precautions in place. Several of their staff including those in the kitchen partially wearing masks. Based on this, the experience was not deserving of more than 2 stars unfortunately.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, let me start off by apologizing for your disappointing experience. We take pride in serving fresh, quality food to every one of our guests. I am sorry if that was not what you received. We appreciate your feedback and it will be addressed with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ventured out for a evening seafood meal— decided on visiting the Crab Trap —very good choice. Despite being a bit busy, sat at the Bar, had a few ales while perusing the menu. Decided on a crab dip appetizer, then crab cakes & grouper. All...delicious served rapidly with great service. A bit pricey, but A) it’s in an area that’s a tourist destination , and B) It’s busy , especially after a year of COVID. Overall a great experience; also we did not have a table of 8+ , with a bunch of kids, this we can understand some of the less than positive reviews.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Rich. Thank you for choosing the Crab Trap and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear how pleased you were with your visit. We are glad you were impressed and we hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with 6 adults and a child for dinner. No one particularly enjoyed the food, and the prices are high. Certainly a bad value. Particularly bad was the shrimp po’boy; as plain as can be with no sauce or concern for the customers palate. After...one meal, I got the feeling the cheaper menu items are low quality and the more expensive entrees are ok at best. I ordered the snow crab and the crab was fine, the potatoes and corn it came with were bland. I was disappointed to see this is a 3 restaurant chain. It seems they just take as advantage of tourists looking for a nice dinner which they won’t really enjoy here.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience. We appreciate the time you took to give us this honest feedback, and are genuinely sorry that we failed to impress you. Your comments have been forwarded to Management and will be discussed with our culinary team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was absolutely the worst meal and most expensive that we had while visiting. We had gone to the Shrimp Basket but they were closed due to unforeseen circumstances so we tried this restaurant cause it was close by. It was nasty. I got the...Jumbo Crab and Shrimp Pasta. I guess the jumbo crab was shredded cause there was no chunks of crab. The shrimp were medium size. The worse part was that it was cold. The second bite was room temp so I thought it would get better. My husband got the grilled shrimp platter. The shrimp were nasty. They were tasteless, room temp and dry. It was like our meal had sat in the kitchen for 40 minutes before they brought. Honestly , I don’t even think a cat would’ve ate that shrimp.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Kim, we are very sorry our food fell short of your expectations. We strive to provide each one of our guests with quality food and provide a wonderful experience. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner here about 5:30 PM on a Thursday. We did not have to wait which was the only good thing about this place. We had 5 people in our group and paid about $120. When we asked the server what she would recommend...she pointed out the most expensive items on the menu. There were little to no options to choose from lower-priced menu items, e.g., $17..99 for a chicken finger dinner(?) and about the same for a popcorn shrimp dinner. The gumbo was very good and was "OK" for the price. The server did not make us feel welcomed and we felt rushed to order and rushed to give us our check and leave. She didn't even place salt/pepper, etc. at our table. We had to ask for that. We will not be going back. This place needs to lower prices by about 20% to match the quality of the food.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so sorry to hear that this is the experience you had with us. We hold ourselves to a high standard when it comes to the quality of our food and service. We are really sorry we let you down. Your comments will be...More

Reviewed March 17, 2021 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch. Service was the highlight. Our server was cheerful, attentive and eager to help us navigate the menu options. We enjoyed the deviled crab and the mahi mahi. The shrimp was so-so. Hush puppies are usually too heavy and greasy for...me, but these were great! Overall, not a bad choice.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for coming in Karyn. We are happy to hear you were pleased and we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback.

Reviewed March 17, 2021 via mobile

Stopped for a late lunch and the timing was perfect! There is plenty of parking not only out front but also in back if needed. We arrived at 2:40 and were seated by Charlea - we asked for outdoor seating and she found us a...spot. The lunch specials run from 12-3 and happy hour 3-5 so we fell right between and hit both. The outdoor seating is great - covered area with picnic tables and lights for evenings. There is a playground for the kids to work off their energy while they wait for the food and there were quite a few families seated outdoors. The kids also received buckets with shovels and activities and quite a few took them right to the playground to dig in the sand. All of the employees were friendly and helpful, knowledgeable on the menu too. We ordered a Yuengling and Red Stripe to start and orders a second when the food came (at happy hour prices). We started with the hot crab dip and it did not disappoint! It was taking awhile to come out and Charlea let us know that they were making fresh pitas for the dip so the wait was well worth it! Definitely recommend this dip if you enjoy crab and cheese. We ordered lunch specials - the mahi platter and the deviled crab and shrimp platter. Both came with two sides - they were out of coleslaw, but the other side choices were great (black eye peas with andouille, dirty rice, fries, corn on the cob, baby new potatoes). We went with the fries and black eye peas and the potatoes and rice. The platters came with two hush puppies - the best I have ever had! They were very crispy outside and deliciously moist inside! The mahi mahi was blackened and seasoned perfectly and was flaky and delicious. The deviled crab was tasty and with the shrimp breaded lightly and very filling. We were filled with our meals! Charlea kept our water with lemon filled and checked back often. We learned it was her first week back working after quite some time snd she was fabulous! Don’t miss out on great food and wonderful staff! Check out the Crab Trap!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Jerri, thank you so much for your wonderful, detailed review of your visit. Our team is thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us. Please come back and see us again soon.

Reviewed December 22, 2020 via mobile

The service was the highlight!!! Our server took the time to help us make sure we ordered exactly what we wanted. Our receipt said his name was Kevin A (big friendly dude with dreads.) He was excellent!! The food and drinks were delicious. We had...a great dinner for our moms night out. Thank you!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
JessicaK, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2020

Thank you for coming in and thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear Kevin took such wonderful care of you. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed November 18, 2020

Over the years, we have dined here many times and have never been disappointed. Note that they are located in the heart of a popular vacation spot on Perdido Key, Florida, so the prices are a bit high, especially for dinner. I suggest trying them...for lunch with better value and come back for dinner if you are pleased. They offer a diverse, seafood-heavy menu, plus decent wines and craft beers and a full bar. Service is consistently good and they offer indoor and outdoor seating all year long. Also be aware parking can be really challenging, especially during peak season around dinnertime. There are very few "high end" restaurants on Perdido Key, so give them a try!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
JessicaK0207, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2020

Hi Jay. Thank you for coming back in. We really appreciate your business, as well as your great review. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed November 15, 2020

We came here to quick lunch one day - my husband and I both had the grouper sandwiches and they were delicious - melt in your mouth! We liked it a lot so we went back for dinner a few nights later. Wonderful service -...Patrick, our server, was fantastic. He wore his mask properly the entire time however there were other employees throughout the restaurant who had them on with their noses uncovered during both of our visits (leading to 4 stars instead of 5).More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
JessicaK0207, Marketing at Crab Trap Perdido Key, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for coming in! We are thrilled to hear you were so impressed that you came back a second time. Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Marlin Key
14 reviews
2.10 miles away
Perdido Beach Resort
2,585 reviews
3.84 miles away
Perdido Dunes
14 reviews
4.00 miles away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1,071 reviews
4.36 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Flora-Bama Yacht Club
1,185 reviews
1.15 miles away
Pirates Cove
191 reviews
3.31 miles away
Voyagers Restaurant
359 reviews
3.88 miles away
Flora-Bama Ole River Grill
566 reviews
1.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dolphin Tales
481 reviews
2.42 miles away
Perdido Key Visitor Information Center
56 reviews
1.75 miles away
Perdido Key State Park
176 reviews
2.08 miles away
Intercoastal Safaris
8 reviews
1.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
smcfamily
March 10, 2020|
Answer
Response from Peppermint321 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure I'd call the Crab Trap for the info. Enjoy the area Headed there this summer.
0
Votes
Beachpeoplr
April 2, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from fbodie2262 | Reviewed this property |
I have never seen pets at this restaurant but the Sunset Grill allows pets and it is so cool. They will even water your pet! Slick!
1
Vote
Patrick A
March 25, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from michaele908 | Reviewed this property |
I believe they do. I know for sure they have a meat free salad. I think there is even a meat free appetizer. The meals now I can't remember, but I imagine they can customize something if asked. Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crab Trap Perdido Key

  • Yes, Crab Trap Perdido Key offers takeout services.

  • Yes, Crab Trap Perdido Key offers delivery services.

  • Crab Trap Perdido Key is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 4