We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Badwater Saloon

California 190, Stovepipe Wells Village, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
+1 760-786-2387
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good47%
  • Average22%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“burger” (23 reviews)
“fries” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
California 190, Stovepipe Wells Village, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and me were seeking for an authentic desert meal. We can't complain. Apart from big TV screen (i liked to watch eishockey) it felt like a saloon. My wife had a very good cooked steak and my pasta (al dente) with local desert...More

1  Thank s1735
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our rustic saloon and freshly prepared dining selections! Although the saloons of the Old West didn't have TVs or AC for that matter, those modern touches keep our visitors cool and connected to the outside world even...More

Reviewed May 16, 2018

A nice surprise to find a great bar in the middle of the Death Valley. It has full appetizer and dinner menus. They have a nice selection of cratft beers. Great to find Stone IPA in the desert. It is a beautiful bar, the service...More

Thank SlowPoke59
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Nothing beats enjoying your favorite cold beer- after a long day. Except, enjoying your favorite cold beer underneath the AC while its 100+ degrees outside in the Death Valley sun! Thanks for stopping in- come back and see us again!

Reviewed May 15, 2018

We broke down near to Stovepipe Wells and spent the entire evening here waiting for replacement vehicle. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating, food was great and reasonably priced.

Thank Bruce T
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

We are happy to learn that we could transform an unfortunate breakdown into an opportunity to welcome you to Stovepipe Wells Village. We hope your travels return you to us under better circumstances for another opportunity to create great Death Valley memories!

Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

Went in for lunch. Food was good but the blonde, spikey haired bartender was rude and grouchy. Would have been a good lunch if it weren't for him.More

Thank Brad P
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hello and thank you for your feedback.We are disappointed to learn that you did not receive the welcoming, friendly service that our staff are known for and we apologize that your interaction created a negative experience. What you describe is not in keeping with our...More

Reviewed May 9, 2018

The main restaurant was noy yet open so stopped here for an early dinner. The menu is very limited, it is basically a bar. However, I had a burger and my wife had the chili. She thought the chili was a little spicey but good....More

Thank L B
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback- we are glad you joined us for dinner! Your wife is absolutely right, our hearty chili can definitely be on the spicy side! As for your burger, we apologize if it appeared to have been prepared incorrectly- we want every...More

Reviewed May 7, 2018

We only had drinks, as they weren't serving food in the saloon that night - we were there during a time when they hadn't staffed up for the busy summer yet. The bartender and GM were very friendly and interesting to talk to. There's a...More

Thank hilaryg1
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Thanks for joining us! Our friendly staff look forward to getting to know our guests, it's one of the perks of working in such an amazing National Park! We are glad you joined us for drinks and look forward to the next time you need...More

Reviewed May 4, 2018

Stopped in for lunch while driving out of Death Valley. Service was good. Prices were typical for a touristy area. They serve soup, sandwiches, salads and burgers- all of which are very good with generous portions.

Thank kagatlin
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Glad you could join us during your Death Valley adventures! With friendly service and delicious menu options for every craving, the Badwater Saloon is the perfect place to recharge after explolring this unique landscape. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed April 26, 2018

They combine with another restaurant on the property to cover the main meal hours but check ahead if you specifically want this place. Choice of lots of comfort food at tourist prices. Right on one of the main roads of the park, so you can...More

Thank Tom F
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Great advice! The Toll Road Restaurant and Badwater Saloon areas vary depending on the season but no matter what time of year, we are proud to serve freshly prepared, delicious meal options including hearty chili, refreshing salads and cooked-to-order burgers, perfect for taking a break...More

Reviewed April 21, 2018

For an early meal, this is just about the only place at this oasis. Beer, wine, and stiffer drinks are available. Meals are good, too. I had a real tasty barbecue type chicken sandwich. I opted for a fruit plate rather than fries. Waitstaff are...More

Thank Zoom_Gotti
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hello and thank you for your feedback and visit! When the Death Valley heat signals time for a break, our Badwater Saloon is the perfect place to refresh and refuel. With freshly prepared options including hearty chili, delicious salads and of course, a great selection...More

Reviewed April 14, 2018

We ate here twice as it is really the only place to eat in the vicinity of Emigrant Springs campground unless you want to drive on farther to Furnace Creek. Don't bother! It won't take long to work your way through the menu, especially if...More

1  Thank TartanCat57
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Badwater Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hello and thank you for your recent visit and feedback during your camping adventures! Your friend sounds like he's a Stovepipe Wells Village veteran and he's right- our menu of tried and true classics including chili, cooked-to-order hamburgers and fresh salads are staples for return...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
1,947 reviews
9.31 miles away
The Ranch at Death Valley
6,040 reviews
11.67 miles away
Panamint Springs Resort
753 reviews
16.90 miles away
The Inn at Death Valley
45 reviews
21.10 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Timbisha Village Frybread Tacos and Shave Ice
74 reviews
8.39 miles away
The 19th Hole
67 reviews
20.21 miles away
Mel's Diner
357 reviews
38.97 miles away
Jack's Cafe
76 reviews
45.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dante's View
1,890 reviews
.00 miles away
Harmony Borax Works
331 reviews
19.70 miles away
Furnace Creek Golf Course
55 reviews
20.21 miles away
Titus Canyon
392 reviews
23.75 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joeh1777
April 7, 2017|
Answer
Response from JimboTheWary | Reviewed this property |
Not certain, but I highly doubt it given how concessions are usually handled in national parks.
0
Votes
Joeh1777
April 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ron Z | Reviewed this property |
If you mean a family owned and operated,,95% sure no. I think it is owed by that concessionaire that is allowed to run Stovepipe Wells,,maybe Xanterra?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: California 190, Stovepipe Wells Village, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Death Valley National Park
  • Phone Number: +1 760-786-2387
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;