We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swettenham Arms

Swettenham Lane, Swettenham CW12 2LF, England
+44 1477 571284
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“roast beef” (16 reviews)
“scallops” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Swettenham Lane, Swettenham CW12 2LF, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We had a fantastic family gathering for just 27 of us plus a few little ones too! Food was great, staff were very accommodating and looked after us really well. Highly recommend the Swettenham Arms for fantastic food and friendly fab staff. Thank you :)

Thank patty1
Reviewed 2 days ago

We originally booked for 6. Then it grew to 25 plus children. I cannot fault the service and the food. Massive family all meals arrived at same time all different. Food was fantastic clearly home cooked. How they got it to the table hot is...More

1  Thank sara E
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

On Sunday my family and I booked a table for 10 adults 1 toddler and 1 baby for my sisters 30th birthday. We couldn't have wished for a better day. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming on arrival. The food was perfect, especially the...More

Thank HanDan16
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really amazing place, great selection of ales, excellent service and superb food. Well worth a visit.

Thank steve h
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely sunday lunch while sitting out in the sunshine. There was a half hour wait but it was very busy. However it was well worth the wait. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The setting is beautiful. Can't wait to go again.

1  Thank NAHFMH
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As many of the reviews have already stated the staff are lovely and its a great setting, they have a nice selection of wines by the glass or bottle and plenty of local beers to choose from BUT unfortunately our experience has been ruined by...More

4  Thank Swettenham1
Francesca143, Owner at The Swettenham Arms, responded to this review

I am having great difficulty in understanding this complaint. Firstly my son was not working on the day you say you visited and out of the area, so I wonder who was rude to you? I need to know so that I can look into...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location and such great potential. Unfortunately we didn't decide to stay. Everyone was complaining about the long food delays and the bar service was extremely slow. The staff did explain they were short staffed and food orders were taking well over 1 hour. It...More

6  Thank MartinMcGraw
Francesca143, Owner at The Swettenham Arms, responded to this review

I have looked further into this complaint and spoken to Mr. McGraw and am pleased to say we have resolved the matter and I have invited him back to Swettenham to enjoy what is our usual quality of food an service. I wrongly understood he...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited at lunchtime and had to wait over an hour for hot sandwiches which were cold when they arrived. At no point were we advised what the delay was and we eventually had to speak to the manager to find out how much longer...More

8  Thank Andrea B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as a family of four, waited over half an hour for an order to be taken then well over an hour for 4 sandwiches to arrive. We asked multiple times for an update of where the food was at but received no response. Staff...More

8  Thank kerryjanee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came to walk in the Lovell Quinta Arboretum (highly recommended), and stayed late enough to want dinner - gave the pub a whirl. So glad we did! The food was most excellent! I had the sea bass, which I was told was the first to...More

2  Thank SouthernMyst
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Yellow Broom Restaurant
197 reviews
1.40 miles away
The Red Lion
33 reviews
1.67 miles away
The Crown
210 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Brereton Heath Local Nature Reserve
137 reviews
1.21 miles away
Pirates Paradise
35 reviews
1.95 miles away
Red Lion Inn Goostrey
19 reviews
2.19 miles away
Delta Force Paintball Holmes Chapel
140 reviews
2.58 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
MrFussy_12
The rude, aggressive manager appears to be a constant theme in the poor reviews manager?
April 20, 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Francesca143 | Property representative |
I believe this reference to my son is a hurtful vendetta and untrue.
0
Votes
Steven F
We are a group of 9 transvestites and are looking for somewhere to have our annual out and proud dinner party. Would you be happy to accommodate us.
January 16, 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Francesca143 | Property representative |
Yes, very happy, why not
0
Votes
DLDUk
Does this place still charge an extra £3 for veg with a children's meal?
July 19, 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from DLDUk |
I ask because the menu says that they do and I can't quite believe it myself.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$18 - $26
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Swettenham Lane, Swettenham CW12 2LF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Swettenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1477 571284
  • E-mail