We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirkstile Inn

$$ - $$$, , British
Loweswater CA13 0RU, England
+44 1900 85219
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“pastie” (15 reviews)
“sandwiches” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
Brew Pub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Loweswater CA13 0RU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Love this place for its fabulous beers, there is always a great atmosphere with the fire going and the cosy feel. The staff are brilliant but we have to mention Carlos - he keeps the place going and always works the hardest! Well that's what...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hot soup and roll 😀 but hideous cheap coffee and packet hot chocolate with spray whipped cream for the same price that elsewhere would buy you quality coffee and freshly made milky real hot chocolate. 😕

Thank Karole S
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Karole S Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry you did not enjoy your drinks , please rest assured this will be reviewed as it is always our aim to improve. I hope we can welcome you back Kind regards Andrea Whigham

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here after reading a comment in “lonely planet “ book and overall I was disappointed Upon arrival I thought it was cozy, but it was scruffy and tired looking. the staff were friendly, well the 2 guys on the bars were We ordered some...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 5 mar 2018 I am so sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. You do not say if you advise our team of you disappointment or if they were able to resolve any of your comments. It is very unusual for us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped for lunch after a walk and as it was January we were thrilled to see a roaring fire. Food was really good, we were lucky to arrive before 12 and get seats by the fire because by 12.30 the place was busy. Might be...More

Thank GailB B
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear GaiB B So glad we were able to offer such a welcome retreat following you undoubtedly chilly walk. Hope we see you again soon Kindest regards Andrea Whigham

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a family Sunday lunch and can honestly say we enjoyed one of the best Sunday roasts ever. We had the roasted red pepper soup to start which was delicious then for main course we had roast beef that just melted in the mouth....More

Thank Michelle I
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Michelle I What a fantastic review - I am so pleased that you had such a great experience with us , we are very blessed with a wonderful location and a great team - it will be lovely to give then your feedback Hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Kirkstile several times while we were on holiday in Loweswater. We enjoyed lovely lunches with our two children and dog, the staff made us feel very welcome. We also went out for dinner one evening but hadn't booked table, it was not...More

Thank melr27
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear melr27 Thank you for your fantastic feedback - Kirkstile is a great location for the whole family and we do a lovely annexe suit available that might suit your needs. Look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards Andrea Whigham

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Following a recommendation we decided to stop off for a drink and some lunch after walking around Loweswater. Despite the beautiful, remote location and time of year the inn itself was busy. There was a good drinks selection and the food delicious! We opted for...More

Thank DebbieandSam
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DebbieandSam Thank you for taking the time to complete such a fantastic review of our inn. We really are blessed with the lovely location and our fantastic team - it is great to be able to share such lovely feedback with them. Hope we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have wanted to visit the Kirkstile for quite a few years so decided to go for a lovely drive through borrowdale and over the Honister Pass . The area is certainly not as busy as other areas of Lakeland and we had a little bit...More

Thank sonofgod6969
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sonofgod6969 Thank you for your wonderfully fulsome review - I am delighted you enjoyed your visit . We believe the western lakes are very special offering some marvellous walks - we do offer some great one night packages on our accommodation so I look...More

Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

A family favourite place to visit. We are local to the area and the food is always to a very high standard. A roast dinner that we'll certainly be back for! Xanthe was out waitress and was excellent. She was very concise when we ordered...More

Thank Topfairytotty
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Dear Topfairytotty Thank you for your lovely feedback - I am delighted you continue to enjoy the Kirkstile and hope we can welcome you back for many more family celebrations. Kind regards Andrea and the team

Reviewed January 26, 2018

An oft visited inn on walks in the Lakes. Food always good (and appreciated greatly that fish and chips comes in smaller portion as whilst always delicious, can't always manage the full huge meal!). Congenial surroundings (nice garden in the summer) friendly and efficient staff...More

Thank Alison J
Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Dear Alison J Thank you for being a loyal customer of the Kirkstile Inn, I am delighted that the small changes we made to the menu has enhanced your visits. I hope we can continue to welcome you to this very special part of the...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Loweswater Hotels
Kirkstile Inn
221 reviews
.01 miles away
Bridge Hotel
468 reviews
3.23 miles away
The Cottage in the Wood
616 reviews
4.90 miles away
Hundith Hill Hotel
204 reviews
4.93 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Wheatsheaf Inn
265 reviews
3.22 miles away
Syke Farm Tearoom
217 reviews
3.26 miles away
The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood
284 reviews
4.91 miles away
Nearby Attractions
512 reviews
3.22 miles away
Ennerdale Water
96 reviews
4.00 miles away
Go Ape Whinlatter
194 reviews
4.69 miles away
Whinlatter Forest Park
569 reviews
4.73 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kathleen C
April 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from Richard W | Reviewed this property |
Yes, seen plenty of dogs.
January 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from David H | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I do not know - my visit was only for an evening meal with the Lytham St Annes Choral Society after they had sung at a Carol Service in Cartmel Priory- on our way home to St Annes.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Private Dining
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Loweswater CA13 0RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Loweswater
  • Phone Number: +44 1900 85219
  • E-mail
Nestling between Loweswater and Crummock Water in the heart of the English Lake District, the Kirkstile Inn has been providing food and shelter for over 100 years.So why not get away from the modern world and enjoy a stress free zone? Cosy, comfortable rooms with fantastic views, great local produce turned into traditional pub food or seasonal specials. Own brewed ales, including the legendary award winning Loweswater Gold. Our local team are renowned for their warm and friendly welcome whatever the time of day . On a cold and rainy day you can toast your toes in front of the fire and is the weather is fine enjoy the breathtaking and peaceful views from our garden It would be a shame not to give us a try!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing