We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Salt

$$ - $$$
European, Contemporary, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
134 West Coast Dr, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
+61 8 9246 9221
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Mon 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sun 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 341: English reviews
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Delicious breakfast special. Fast and friendly service. Gorgeous eggs and generous sides. Huge children serves and children were made to feel special. Great coffee.

Thank johnterryshort
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and feedback, we are so pleased that you and the children enjoyed your time with us, hope to see you again in the future. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Stopped in to check this place out. Not overly impressed in general. Eggs were a little over cooked. Tables and chairs resembled a food court. Coffee was ok. Wouldn't recommend coming here for brekky.

Thank cmtreloar
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are sorry that you seemed not to enjoy it. Apologies if the eggs were a little overcooked for you. We were a little confused at your comment that we resembled a food court! That's a first for us For those of you reading our response, feel free to view our website as there are... More 

Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Ordered the seafood platter for 2, we asked for the oysters to be done killpatrick which we paid extra for. When it came out took one look at the oysters and they were still raw with the sauce and bacon dumped on top, tried one and left the rest. The rest was ok, wouldn't rave about it. Did mention about... More 

Thank Izza14
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Apologies for that fact that the oysters were not cooked enough for you. We do grill them to cook the bacon and warm through the sauce. Everyone's taste for oysters does differ and we do acknowledge that. Your waitperson should have removed them and have the chef cook them more for you... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2016

The staff are friendly and the food is OK. We had a pleasant night out for a reasonable price. The food and atmosphere let them down a little.

Thank Nathan B
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks Nathan B, thanks for your review and feedback, glad that you enjoyed it. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the lovely staff acknowledged us & and we all, felt the occasion was treated as a a special one. Cocktails lovely .. Entrees amazing we had arancini balls the best flavours ever experienced, pork belly 5/5, best ever oysters kilpatrick - mains .. Bbq ribs .. Just a Wow!! Sweet potato gnocchi definitely a must... More 

Thank rossannie
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Rossannie, thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your special occasion with us. We do make a huge effort to make sure everyone enjoys their experience with us, be it a coffee, quick lunch, dinner or special occasion and we are glad that all went well for you. We... More 

1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

This place seems to be living on its previous reputation. A very disappointing family breakfast. The staff appeared completely disinterested and the food was less than ordinary. Breakfast brushetta consisted of a mushroom, two halves of half cooked tomato, a bit of rocket and pesto on dry toast. Yuk. The sunrise breakfast could have been cooked and presented better by... More 

Thank Megashry G
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Dear Megashry, having spoken with you personally within hours of you finishing your breakfast, we were a little surprised to see this review, which was also posted on Zomato. As discussed, I was called in as the staff member looking after you was very sick and I sent her home, by no means an excuse but certainly a factor in... More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2016

White Salt was close by the hotel we were staying at . We had not made a booking but were welcomed in .The food was good and the staff attentive. It was a cold and very windy night and we were near the beach but inside was warm and the atmosphere of the restaurant helped add to the ambience .... More 

Thank runvus2016
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is always great to hear positive feedback, we hope you enjoyed your trip. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We went their on Farther's day and it was terribly disappointing. I had ribs that were so sweet they were sickly, I was truly hungry, but could not eat them. There are severl better places nearby.

Thank PJDK
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Hi PJDK, thanks for your feedback, sorry you diddn't like our ribs, they are cooked in a smokey southern style sticky BBQ sauce which has proven to be very popular. Once again, sorry it was not to your liking., Tim and Claire Leech More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

A great place with friendly staff and lovely food. Near to our accommodation at sorrento beach resort. You can walk there in two minutes. Would recommend.

Thank Delbisatmarshall
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks Mrs b, thanks for you comments we hope you enjoyed your time in Sorrento. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

White Salt is bit of our to go to when we are in Perth. The food is nice staff accommodating and friendly. Very good coffee and deserts right opposite foreshore and dog friendly to. What more can we expect. Thanks guys

Thank Malkal
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks Malkal, your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Perth. Regards Tim and Claire Leech Proptietors More 

Travelers who viewed White Salt also viewed

Sorrento, Joondalup
Hillarys, Joondalup
Hillarys, Joondalup
Perth, Greater Perth

Been to White Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $31
European, Contemporary, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Open Hours
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 134 West Coast Dr, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Joondalup  >  Sorrento
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9246 9221
Situated overlooking the clear blue waters of the Indian Ocean, White Salt has been pleasing its diners since opening in 2005 and is now established as one of the premier dining venues along the beautiful coast.Be it coffee, cake, lunch, dinner ,breakfast or just a drink we welcome everyone to our cafe and bar. Why not pop in for a drink whilst watching the sunset over the ocean. We also cater for functions and are the ideal wedding venue, intimate and on the beach

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Salt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?