We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Dining bars
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service

Location and contact

Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
0.1 miles from Kabukicho District
Improve this listing
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
11
13
14
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
11
13
14
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

I am still surprised where so many good ratings come from.... well, some people seem to like the place and concept and atmosphere, many Japanese people. But I had the worst fish and chips in my whole life, the noodles with a not-so-great veg sauce...my wife still complains about. Two points cuz we have discovered sake on soda there and cuz the staff is really friendly.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
管理者 d, employees at Fantasy Dining Alice in a Fantasy Book, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Thank you for coming us!!! Sorry it took so long to get back to you. Sorry to regret. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to fix something that is wrong.

Reviewed June 17, 2019

The interior was fun and the music was matching it is a great place to go with the whole family. The food was nice but nothing super amazing. The cocktails were really fun though!

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
管理者 d, employees at Fantasy Dining Alice in a Fantasy Book, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Thank you for coming us!!! We are glad to hear you that you gave us praise. Please come again next time.

Reviewed June 4, 2019

Having visited Tokyo, last April 2018. My daughter who loves this fantasy encouraged us and a group of friends to visit this dining experience. As we were close by we decided to do this, it was enlightening and most enjoyable. The decorations were incredible. Something...out of the ordinary, unusual this is for you.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
管理者 d, employees at Fantasy Dining Alice in a Fantasy Book, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Thank you for coming us!!! We are glad to hear you that you gave us praise. Please come again next time.

Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

This cafe/restaurant is a complete waste of time and money. If you visited the kawaii Monster Cafe first, like we did, this place feels like an absolute rip off. We initially weren't allowed to sit in a booth, but on a plain table in the...middle of the restaurant. After asking why a lot of times due to the very poor staff's English, we were informed everything was reserved. Eventually we were seated at an slightly nicer table and the next disappointment started. The food and the drinks. Although the food options look pretty small on the pictures already, the reality is even less. I ordered a cup of tea for a stunning 5 euros and was served with a tiny glass cup of tea and nothing else (see picture). We had a pasta with fresh steamed vegetables and the beef. Unfortunately the pasta was just plain pasta with canned tomatoes and a few cooked potatoes. Also after Almost an hour after the slots starting time the place was still pretty much empty and none of the 'reserved' tables were filled. Overall, please don't go here. Save your money, which is a lot, and your time! (go to kawaii Monster Cafe, it's awesome)More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
管理者 d, employees at Fantasy Dining Alice in a Fantasy Book, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Thank you for coming us. Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I'm truly sorry that you had such a disappointing visit because of the poor customer service you received. I can promise you that the highest quality service will be met...More

Reviewed December 9, 2018

I was charged double than what was listed on the menu price. Food took three hours to receive and was mediocre at best. Awful experience. Do not come here. 私はメニュー価格に記載されているものより2倍の請求を受けました。食べ物は受け取るのに3時間かかっており、せいぜい平凡だった。恐ろしい経験。ここに来ないでください。More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
管理者 d, employees at Fantasy Dining Alice in a Fantasy Book, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you for coming us. Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I'm truly sorry that you had such a disappointing visit because of the poor customer service you received. I can promise you that the highest quality service will be met...More

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We were excited to visit the restaurant as between my friends and I, we have 4 children and thought this would be quite an experience. Be warned that this restaurant requires you to order 1 food and drink per person. We did struggle to order...7 meals/desserts and drinks as we had a wonderful meal at Oedo Ayetori restaurant before. The menu was quite confusing as you’ll see from photos. The laminated dessert/drink menu had no description of items. We gave the menu to the children to pick from not knowing that the drinks were alcoholic! Didn’t help when the staff spoke minimum English. The staff did look at us funny when we handed the drinks to the kids! The truffle chips and chicken pieces were quite delicious, while the roasted crispy cheese weren’t crispy at all. It was such a shame, all they needed to do was to reheat it in the oven for a few minutes to make them crispy again. The presentation of the desserts were great, they tasted fine nothing out of the ordinary.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Unsure where they hire the chef; I thought even canned food taste better. I only had one bite of my food and decided not to go on; only the tomato paste is warm but chicken piece is cold. Overpriced menu, I was charged cover charge...too. Not even fantasising anything. Ruined my dinner.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Alice in Wonderland Shinjuku. Cheesy. Expensive. Food tastes like dog food. Even kids didn’t eat theirs. Crowded. Service slow and impolite. Disappointing special occasion for a little girl’s birthday.

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 19, 2017

It started off well. The elevator kicked me out into a giant bookcase and 'Alice' came to find me from behind a book. I donned rabbit ears and was lead through a maze of mirrors to the main dining area. The staff were friendly and...enthusiastic, they gave me the menu and soup with great ceremony. However, the Alice theme was a bit superficial, after about 5 minutes you have seen all there is to see. The food and cocktails had fancy names but looked quite plain when they arrived. I ordered the English Muffins and they came out burnt.More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?2  
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Really great fun experience. Yes you’ve got to wear the bunny ears Food was really good . Especially the sweets Great vibe And best to reserve a table as it gets really busy Popular for a reason

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
2,593 reviews
.10 miles away
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
2,293 reviews
.12 miles away
APA Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho Chuo
13 reviews
.14 miles away
Hotel Wing International Shinjuku
254 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tairiku
15 reviews
.01 miles away
Quinto
17 reviews
.01 miles away
Rotomatagi
5 reviews
.00 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kabukicho District
1,647 reviews
.07 miles away
Shikinoji, Shinjuku Promenade Park
41 reviews
.06 miles away
Shinjuku Subnade
24 reviews
.06 miles away
Moa 4
24 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jay S
May 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KevinA85 | Reviewed this property |
Yes just ordering drinks during the day is ok. We did the same Thanks, Kevin
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing