We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Donna & Phil took over this wonderful Pub/Restaurant in September 2016 and run it along with their Management Team. A stunning venue with an amazing Beer Garden sat on The River Otter. The Menu is traditional with a great 2-4-1 Offering as well as other wonderful options, a great Specials Board and Carvery on Sundays and Thursday. You will find a good selection of Local Ales and several Lager and Cider Options. The soft drink option is extensive with a good local range and a brilliant Gin Bar
PRICE RANGE
$8 - $21
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
British, Grill, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
181
81
39
41
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
181
81
39
41
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belly pork brownie ham calamari pudding pie the pub lovely carvery sunday carvery family meal otter ale hunters chicken specials board large party at reasonable prices nice meal food was fantastic
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

I booked here for 3 of us whilst on a 1 night stay locally. I must admit I was a bit worried after recent reviews, but I needn't have been! We arrived at 6 and were greeted and seated quickly, menus distributed and explained and...drinks ordered. The food arrived quickly, it was hot tasty and nicely served. My elderly father in law enjoyed the crispy duck from the specials board, ( not sure he knew what he'd ordered). My husband had the pie and I had cajun chicken both great. Empty plates cleared we all enjoyed pudding, though we probably shouldn't have! We had a lovely time in a nice atmosphere and will come again if we are in the area. I must say the staff were all working very hard in difficult circumstances to serve customers. There is a 1 way system and social distancing in place which some people seemed to find difficult, it is however clearly marked.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We chose to eat out and have never had any issues until our last visit. We ordered our drinks and then food and whilst the minutes went by we noticed that several tables were quietly complaining about the wait for their food, which didn't go...down too well with us. We then finished our drinks and still no food. After an hour of waiting I went to see if there was a problem. The waitress checked on our order and then within minutes our food was served. Cant fault the food at all. When we had finished I went to the bar and asked the waitress if I could pay, she said yes and then rudely turned round with her back to me and spoke to the other staff in the back. Which I thought was very rude. When turning back she asked me if everything was ok and I was very honest and said there was a long delay in the food arriving and several tables said the same. I then said that if they had simply gone over to all the tables and said they were busy and there would be a delay we would of understood. Wont be going to eat there again, only for drinks. P.s they need to re train their staff or take down the sign by the side entrance that clearly says if you are waiting longer than half an hour you will be told by staff.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
M4119FAdonnam, General Manager at The Otter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Marie, it seems you have reviewed the wrong Otter - we don't have that sign! We did not have any long waits or any complaints. Best wishes, Mandy & The Otter Team at Weston Honiton

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I came for lunch with a friend , went inside and stood at the spot waiting to be be served about 10 minutes , no hello from any of the staff rushing by , they looked stressed and unable to cope . It looked like...we were in an nursing home dining room . We ordered 2 fish cakes lunches with chips and salad that were £13.95 each but luckily were buy 1 get 1 free as I would of been very upset otherwise . Very small portions , the chips were almost cold and we had to wait 45 minutes for it . Tables were not cleared or wiped down and when one table was cleared, the waitress dropped some glasses in the car park and left the glass on the floor, so my friend and I picked it up on leaving ! Such a shame as this pub is in a prime spot but needs a revamp , more staff and someone to take more pride in running it . Won’t be returning I’m afraid .More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

went there for a carvery on thursday cold not very niece to look at one small slice of turkey two small roast pots will not be returning all three of us so upset going all that way for this

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked menu on website. Didn’t see anything to suggest menu would be different. Arrived to find things not on the menu. Understandable but would be better to know ahead. Didn’t like any starters for one ghat were offered. So had nachos that were down as...a shared option. Now see they usually do that for one. So not sure why I had to have the shared version at £4 more! The meal was ok. But just ok. Was shocked at the bill. Nearly £80! Expensive for what it is. Service was prompt. Would not go back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very disappointing visit. Food was cold And bad quality staff didn’t seem to care when told about our problems with our food.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were keen to utilise the government scheme to booked a week earlier. On arrival Covid information was clearly visible as was the one way systems and sanitizers, given us confidence in our visit. The menu is a very much 2_4_1 with some pub classics...so we were blessed with choice and price! There was a wait but that's to be expected in a value venue full of people after a bargain on an already discounted place. The food gave value for money without the scheme, this with a play area and river kept the kids really happy. Staff we great under obvious pressure and we were served with a smile. Our only negative was actually the attitude of some of the customers! We will definitely be returning.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for bank holiday Monday and they managed to fit us in at short notice. We sat inside and there was plenty of space between tables. We had calamari to start followed by 2 amazing proper job ploughman’s then had 2 deserts from...the 2for1 menu. Everything was great and the ploughman’s was the best I’ve eaten. Our waitress was friendly helpful and efficient and our meals were delivered quickly although they were busy. We’ve been before and will definitely returnMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were extremely rude and clearly need to develop their customer service skills as this was none existent. We felt extremely uncomfortable and felt as if we were not welcome. We had to ask to order our main and our puddings as the waitresses kept...bypassing us no reason why as the pub why quite while we were there. Food was ok but never will we return to the pub to eat.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fantastic pub to find on holiday. Amazingly friendly staff. Great range of food. Excellent value. What more can you ask for. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel du Vin Exeter
1,829 reviews
14.48 miles away
Jurys Inn Exeter
2,663 reviews
14.14 miles away
Premier Inn Exeter City Centre hotel
970 reviews
14.43 miles away
Lympstone Manor
525 reviews
13.82 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Honiton Inn
104 reviews
1.06 miles away
JK's Bistro
196 reviews
1.30 miles away
Toast
486 reviews
1.16 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Land Rover Experience West Country
145 reviews
.76 miles away
Allhallows Museum of Lace and Antiquities
87 reviews
1.34 miles away
Poltimore House
24 reviews
2.89 miles away
Otter Valley Dairy
29 reviews
3.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
supernan20
March 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stevie2bikes | Reviewed this property |
Hello, yes this pub is dog friendly. It also has a large garden which leads down to the river Otter. great for the doggies in the warmer months. Best regards, Steve.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing