We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015, 2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene

Location and contact

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $39
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service, Wheelchair Accessible
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
117
63
21
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
117
63
21
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast beef burger fish and chips potatoes the pub lower mill estate for sunday lunch steak night kids menu main meal walking the thames path cotswolds beer landlord ales abby gravy
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband, 3 children and I visited the White Hart in Ashton Keynes for the first time as we were visiting the are and staying locally. We had been recommended the pub by a local and had booked Sunday lunch. We are really glad we...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Familytr1ps
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Familytr1ps Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm so pleased we could accommodate you and your family as you are right, our Sunday lunches can be very busy! Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon. The team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely pub with friendly staff and great atmosphere. Nice garden and excellent chips! Definitely recommend a visit.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank pileontheroad
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear pileontheroad Thank you for taking time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere. The chips are always a winner, next month we will also be having sweet potato fries as an option! Hope we see you again soon. The team at...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were greeted by a rude very made up member of staff. She showed us to our table which was grubby and unclean. The pub grub turned up on time however the burger was chewy. The kitchen looked very untidy and I later discovered the...More

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Sandyguy101
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sandyguy101 Thank you for taking the time to review us. The business was on a hygiene rating 1 when we took over from the last management couple. The issues then were all material and everything from that inspection has been changed accordingly. There is...More

Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

We were warmly greeted by the barman who was very charming. Very quickly after we sat down we were asked if we were ready to order and told by the lady that she wanted to get our order in before a large table arrived, which...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Getaway428552
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Getaway428552 On behalf of the team at the White Hart Inn we wish to apologies that your meal with us was a disappointed. We try and provide the best service possible, however on that day we were down a member of staff and another...More

Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

We walked in after a long walk to have a roast dinner/food with dogs. We were rudely spoken to when we tried to get though to the gardens to sit with our dogs as we tried to go through the restaurant (baring in mind we...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank christinasQ7930FX
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Dear christinasQ7930FX On behalf of myself and the White Hart Inn I would like to apologise that you felt unwelcome here. When your party arrived yesterday we had already turned away a lot of tables as we were fully booked. We did ask if you...More

Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Drove down from London two months ago and wrote a glowing review for Trip Advisor which the plonkers appear to have put somewhere else in a place called Ashton !! Not Ashton Keynes . Drove down again to see chums and had a superb Supper...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 84NigelM
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear 84NigelM Thank you so much to have taken the time to write both reviews for us here at the White Hart Inn. So pleased that you enjoy your visits with us here, we look forward to the next one! All the best The team...More

Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic food, copious quantities of alcohol and great company. The whole village turned out to celebrate New Year’s Eve at the white hart and we loved being part of it. Met some lovely people and the fireworks were stupendous. Couldn’t recommend this pub highly enough....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank justjoules
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Dear Justjoules Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased you enjoyed our New Year's Eve celebrations. We hope the rest of your 2019 will be just as fun! Thank you again The team at the White Hart...More

Reviewed December 16, 2018

The White Hart sits opposite the River Thames, which is about 6 feet wide and less than a foot deep here. Internally, there's real fires and a great village atmosphere, with local events occasionally hosted - at the time of my December visit, they were...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 989pezza
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

Dear 989pezza Thank you for taking the time to review us here at the White Hart Inn. I'm pleased that you thought the Butcher's faggot was exceptionally good and the red onion gravy was superb and we must apologies that the one faggot was not...More

Reviewed November 15, 2018

great atmosphere Good food Great prices What a find .We booked fairly last minute but were pleased taht we came here

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank papapp
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2018

Dear papapp Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We are very pleased you enjoyed the food and atmosphere and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you from the White Hart Team

Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

A proper burger! Very friendly staff traditional pub layout which is lovely. Parking area is small but street parking around

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AdrianM1136
Freya B, Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear AdrianM1136 Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Glad you agree with us that a burger should be no fuss nonsense and handmade - proper!! Hopefully see you again soon. All the best The team at The White Hart Inn

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
3,280 reviews
2.34 miles away
Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
775 reviews
2.68 miles away
Premier Inn Cirencester
277 reviews
4.43 miles away
Riverside House
33 reviews
4.49 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Bakers Arms
265 reviews
1.88 miles away
Lakeside, Spring Lake
294 reviews
1.89 miles away
Vale of the White Horse Inn
82 reviews
2.41 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Cotswold Range
515 reviews
1.42 miles away
South Cerney Outdoor
136 reviews
2.17 miles away
GwynneSpeed Rally School
245 reviews
2.60 miles away
St Sampson Parish Church
7 reviews
3.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Hart Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing