We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
+44 1865 374279
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
“lamb shank” (9 reviews)
“oxford canal” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 404 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The one star review has been given largely because the pub was not clean. The table that we were given was unpleasantly ‘sticky’ and clearly had not been cleaned properly if at all. The food was very average; the £7.50 (starter) haddock and salmon fish...More

Thank Polly-on-the-wold
Reviewed yesterday

My Mum and Dad took me here for Sunday lunch and it was fantastic! There were 4 humans and 3 dogs in our group and the service was excellent and friendly, even though they were clearly very busy. The human carnivores had the beef and...More

1  Thank daisydog2015
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Mid week evening meal. Quiet but nice. Good service, good food and , as you might expect in the Morse room, good beer.

Thank MrW777
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good; almost old fashioned pub atmosphere, with good service and chips to die for! Fish and chips, and scampi and chips really tasty. And sneaked a look at other people's meals and the lamb shank looked lovely. Going back soon. And in a lovely position...More

1  Thank Keith W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took our parents here for a special 60th wedding anniversary lunch. Sadly we had to send mine and my mums meals back as they were lukewarm. My mums came back quite quickly (had obviously been re-heated in the microwave) but mine took so long...More

Thank Ozzyodyssey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely relaxed place by the canal. I've sat outside before at lunchtime but this time met some girlfriends (ok we're all 50 ish...) for a quiet drink. Friendly atmosphere from locals, delightful young staff and delicious chips! The food looked wonderful too....More

Thank ExecCat
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for a Saturday evening, we decided on out choices one pie and one salad. disappointingly the food arrived well within 10 mins, very thin water gravy, thick stodgy mash that got harder as it cooled and microwaved peas. The salad was...More

Thank cmayflower
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This one demonstrates just why TripAdvisor is a load of rubbish!! 'disappointingly the food arrived well within 10 mins' - never had that said before. Most people moan that they have to wait 10 minutes. Do you really think that when you order pie and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bar staff very friendly, you need to book table if you want to eat but the food was excellent and very well presented.

Thank bizzybee2016
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for that - hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this pub for a Sunday lunch for our canal boat crew of 8. We had high hopes as we entered the pub, as it's in the perfect location, and the pub itself is lovely. However, those of our party that had the Sunday...More

Thank KentishO
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Just a couple of observations, the veg is not frozen, the sausages are really for children, the stuffing does have cherries in it (as described on the menu). Thank God for the vegetarians.................. who took their vegetables from the carvery?????????? Odd that.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice interior (love the Morse Room), friendly staff, but food a disappointment. If baguettes meals are served it's a must for the actual baguettes to be fresh on the day. Ours definitely weren't and were chewy for the wrong reason. The salad garnish was tired...More

Thank Julie-AnnSW
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Baguettes are cooked to order on the premises and salad delivered daily so there shouldn't be a problem and at £5.95 (depending on what you had) with chunky farmhouse chips - don't think its expensive? Anyway give us another go it's possible chef was having...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Annie's Tea Room
174 reviews
.16 miles away
The Jolly Boatman
379 reviews
.24 miles away
Sturdy's Castle Country Inn
266 reviews
.75 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Thrupp Canoe and Kayak Hire
23 reviews
.16 miles away
St. Martin's Church
135 reviews
2.06 miles away
Blenheim Palace
5,307 reviews
2.48 miles away
Kirtlington Golf Club
14 reviews
3.92 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RachelandJohn
May 13, 2015|
Answer
Response from RachelandJohn |
Do you have gluten free options?
0
Votes
Lindsay R
March 3, 2015|
Answer
Response from Richard C | Reviewed this property |
It has a fully enclosed garden, so no danger from nearby canal. Its Child friendly, mine are too old now but kids there seemed very happy and were treat well. it has a web site just serach for the Boat Inn Thrupp as links... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Thrupp
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 374279
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing